We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four-star view, three-star rooms, bad Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2017

I had a really tough time rating this property--for the price it's probably a 3.5 rather than a 4, but I felt bad rounding down.

PROS: The property is in a beautiful location, on a cliff with small, calm beach below. It has a nice, interesting lobby with wooden walkways over water, and a wonderful breakfast--including eggs, bacon, pastries, fruit, and even homemade jam. There are lovely lounge beds on the beach, and when we were there it was not crowded at all. The staff was very friendly. We saw lots of wildlife on the grounds--even an iguana!

CONS: Overpriced. We paid nearly $500 a night to stay in a junior suite with a partial ocean view. The quarters were really three star--which is a shame because they could be so easily improved. The furniture was dark, mismatched and gloomy. The curtains and art were cheap and unattractive. Some of the trim was painted an odd red. The floors were sandy and the corners were dirty--in the bathroom one corner was full of hair and muck. We lost power once during our stay, and the water went out once. The Wifi worked great in the lobby and at the beach, but was barely functional in our room.

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank file4447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (934)
There are newer reviews for La Toubana Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, and exclusive vacation, La Toubana is your place. Set along a cliffside overlooking the ocean, it has multiple villas, which is a nice change from the standard hotel room.

While the villa wasn't too large, and the kitchenette seemed a bit out-dated, when looking at the big picture this hotel was far beyond my expectations.

The one thing I love about this island is that is not over developed. I can't stand the sight of 12 story hotels and everything being commercialized. This hotel gives you the true experience of luxury island living. Our room came with the cutest swinging chair on our patio. The lush greenery and sights of large iguanas really made us feel like we were living in a tropical paradise.

When you arrive there is a wooden walkway surrounded by pools of water which leads your straight to their restaurant. We were greeted by Chloe who did such a great job to accommodating us. A week before we arrived she sent us a survey, and it was evident she really looked into our needs ahead of time.

I think a lot of people who are used to 4 star hotels need to understand that for this island this is how 4 star should be. Otherwise it really takes away from the authenticity and beauty Guadeloupe has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The hotel tries hard, but it just lacks in some of the niceties of a 4 star hotel. The menu in the restaurant never changes from lunch to dinner. The only change is the fish of the day. We were there for one of their vendors parties, which took over the beach and blasted music from noon to six. Your room was no respite from the relentless thump of music, and the pool was the only avenue for the guests to "relax" amid the totally overwhelming music. The whole establishment needs an overhaul to keep up with the maintenance needed in a beach resort. The wifi was free, but wasn't up to speed most of the day. Your best bet for connection is during the evening.

Room Tip: The best room is the 'panoramic' suite, which sits furthest out from the rest of the villas.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bbjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

The restaurant on the water is open on Fridays late, you can't beat the atmosphere. Food was ok. Nothing like having the ocean a stones throw away while eating dinner. Nice experience. A reservation is recommended at both restaurants any night of the week. We had an awesome server who spoke English, translated everything, kept our drinks flowing and gave us a ride up the infamous la toubana hill!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelblonde216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

we were there for 6 nights and were very Lucky to get an upgrade to the 'panoramic' suite

an amazing room with a 180 ° view on the blue sea and about 75 m2
and very well decorated with blue and white


the breakfast is good (not so much choice and variety) but with a nice view on the
infinity pool

the food in the restaurant is nice too

we had a very good stay

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christineeechaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Anne
11.3 km away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
6.9 km away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
119 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
477 reviews
11.4 km away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
35.8 km away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toubana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toubana Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 On N, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range: ₹ 19,224 - ₹ 43,584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Toubana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms : 32 sea view bungalows including 6 Junior Suites Ocean view, 4 Junior Suites Garden View and 1 Suite Ocean spread in a tropical garden. (bungalow quadruple = Junior Suite)Occupation bungalow classic : 2 adults + 1 child OR 3 adults + 1 child. Maximum occupation 3 persons. Surface area ≈ 50 sqm. Occupation Junior Suite : 2 adults + 2 children OR 3 adults + 1 child OR 2 adults + 1 child + 1 infant. Maximum occupation 4 persons. Surface area ≈ 70sqm.Amenities :Bungalow equipped with kitchenette, bathroom with bath tub or shower, hair-drier, private terrace with long chairs, chairs and table. Room: internationnal dial phone, flat TV, individual air-conditioning, safe box, 220 V electricity, a king size bed or 2 twin beds. Seminars : 2 meeting rooms ; 12 and 30 people, air conditioned, projection system, WIRELESS on communal part. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Toubana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Toubana
La Toubana Ste Anne
La Toubana Hotel & Spa Sainte-Anne, Guadeloupe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing