We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
58
47
18
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
47
18
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast white sand beach beautiful beach yogurt jeanne key hosts balcony refrigerator ste french france
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The location is perfect! You are just steps away from the white sand beach and clear water. If you want to explore the town, you can do that on foot too. I agree with the other travelers that you must be low maintenance. The staff usually leaves after breakfast which consists of juice, tea or coffee along with French bread, yogurt, and pastries with jams.

The rooms are neat and tidy, but you are only there to sleep. The WiFi is spotty as long as the gate is open. You are provided two access ports, but only one works and it does not work in your room. There were plenty of nights we stood at the gate in order to access the WiFi.

But don't let the lack of WiFi dissuade you from this hotel, it has everything you need like free parking, beautiful views, quiet location and just steps away from a beautiful beach.

We did not speak a lot of French, but a smile and a few elementary phrases will take you a long way...oh and google translate too.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tracie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Pros:Perfect location right on a perfect beach with clear water, white sand ocean bottom.Very close to shops, bars, and restaurants. Perfect.

Cons:Guests must be "very" low maintenance. Proprietors leave premises after breakfast....never to be seen again. Property very difficult to find, no signage.

All guests given a key to fend for themselves, reception closed.
Had a broken car, hosts made the initial call and left for the day. 5 hours later I'm still waiting for help because the car company couldn't find the hotel. Finally the lovely cleaning lady made some calls for me and stayed with me until problem was resolved.

I have been all over the world and have never seen such uncaring and irresponsible proprietors as this. SORRY

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank NewHampshireKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We visited this hotel for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time, it's in an awesome location just a few steps from the stunning Ste Anne beach but secluded enough that it's really quiet and peaceful. We had one of the two rooms with a sea view off the balcony, the breakfasts were amazing on the terrace right next to the sea. Philippe and Jeanne were extremely helpful. Would thoroughly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Miranda and Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Le Diwali is an eight room boutique hotel said to be a former private residence located directly on Plage Sainte Anne. Rooms are what you would expect in the French West Indies. Smallish, well furnished & decorated (including AC refrigerator and television) and super clean.

As walk-ins we paid 150 euros per night.

Guests have 24 hour access to a large, quiet indoor-outdoor terrace elegantly decorated and comfortably furnished; great place to read, email or relax quietly.

The reception is staffed from 7 am to 7 pm and sometimes closed during mid-day and the property is very secure. In fact, so much so it can be difficult to access if you are not a guest.

Hard to find as well.Although located on N4 just east of centre ville the secure gate is hard to see. If you are driving, the best method is to turn right on the street past the Carrefour Express, then left on the beach road at the roundabout and several blocks to the end of the street where you will see "Le Diwali" on a small sign on their fence. Or you can telephone.

Owners Jeanne and Philippe are attentive and serve an awesome petit dejeuner. They recommended the nearby Le Lucullus restaurant for dinner and were kind enough to make our reservation (a necessity). The servers there provided free aperitifs as a result. The chamber maid at the hotel was very thorough and was appreciative of our small gratuities.

Reading the comments about excessive noise at night from "the parking lot next door" I can say that in my experience they are exaggerated. Just local youth dancing in the street with a reasonably early end.

Also, the lack of a bar, in-house cafe, night club scene, swimming pool, etc. is exactly the reason for a stay a Le Diwali. If you need all that hubbub and noise stay at the local Club Med or, better yet, go to Cancun.

Hotel Le Diwali is what it is and for that I rate them with five stars.

Room tip: Only 8 rooms.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights from March 10 to March 14. Hard to find, but worth the effort. Beautiful location. The hotel has a lovely, relaxing, and private terrace right on the water. A typical French breakfast is served there every morning. There is no sand beach directly in front as it has been washed away, but the Sainte Anne beach is literally just a few steps to the right of the terrace. The rooms are on the small side, but clean, nicely decorated, air conditioned, and contain a tiny refrigerator. Wifi works in the rooms and in public areas of the hotel. Beach towels and chairs are provided. The hotel has a secure, locked parking area. Jeanne and Phillipe are delightful, welcoming owners. They are happy to sit down, chat with you, and make you feel like family or make restaurant reservations or suggestions for sights to see. They speak English, but were happy to let me communicate with them in my sometimes grammatically, incorrect French. -- Note, if you are American and expect the same services that you would get at a Hilton or Marriot, you will be disappointed. This is a family run French hotel. Enjoy the experience! Also, their credit card system rejected my U.S. issued Visa, AmEx and MasterCard which I had used at other locations on the island. Be prepared to pay with Euros. A few previous reviews made negative comments about noise from cars parked on the beach. With the a/c on, I did not find it disturbing.

Room tip: I preferred a ground floor room. However, the two rooms on the 2nd floor have a beach view.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews