We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
9
41
26
20
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
41
26
20
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed one night, not expected, and actually really enjoyed the 2 days spent there. The staff was particularly helpfull on arrival (early arrival) and at check-out (late check-out), and throughout our little stay. L'et's be clear, it is 2 stars, so not perfect, but clean and functional, located next to a beautiful beach. Breakfast is basis but good, very good quality/ratio price.
Good air conditioning, basic but clean bathroom with good water pressure and hot water in the shower :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank delisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

When review a hotel you need to take the star rating and price into consideration. This is a 2 star hotel in the Caribbean so opinions must be realistic given the property. Certainly the best thing about the hotel is its location right next to the beach at Caravelle/Club Med. This is one of the nicest beaches and given that all beaches are open to the public, one of the most popular. Many people drive to the road where Le Rotabas is located and it gets very congested and a huge hassle. But if you stay at this hotel you just leave the property, walk 100 yards and you are at the beach!

The hotel itself is nothing special but the rooms and lobby are very clean, though the room is one the 'basic side'. There are few amenities but the air conditioner works well and the shower was hot. Given the great beach, not much time was spent in the room. The continental breakfast was nothing elaborate but it was a more than adequate. The level of service from the staff is not great but that might have been partly because of the language issues. There is mostly someone there who speaks English but it might take a while to get your point across. Also there is no Wifi in the rooms and I am not sure how good it was in the lobby since I have T-Mobile and you get unlimited data just about anywhere in the world.

We didn't have a car but it was only a 15 minute walk into town that we did regularly. A few times we walked home late but always felt safe. The Kote Sud restaurant right near our hotel was the best meal we had in Guadeloupe.

So if you want to save money by staying in a 2 star hotel, don't like a lot of creature comforts and want to be near the beach, this hotel is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Stranded by Liat in Guadeloupe, the helpful airport staff finally found 9 rooms in this hotel (am not surprised). Long way from the airport.

Hotel very tired and dilapidated with very small and constricted rooms (see photo of langouste 2.3), the bar is the reception and the restaurant was empty apart from us. The Chef tried hard but chicken and rice is not difficult. As we were being picked up at 06.00 breakfast was not an option.

Staff try hard but suspect they feel like the rest of us.

Avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trustjohnthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directionrotabas, Responsable réception at Le Rotabas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hello,
We understand your disagreement for this last minute relocation made by the company, carried out in our establishment of 2 *.
We try to adapt ourselves to the requirements of the schedules of the companies when this happens, your morning departure could not allow you to explore the surroundings since you were a stone's throw from the lagoon of your bungalow.
Our kitchen serves only meals made of the day, sorry that your short stay will not allow you to simply relax from the trade winds of the seaside.
We hope that your return has gone smoothly.
Sincerely yours .

Reception staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is the location is convenient, walkable to the club med beach and the Kote Sud restaurant up the street which is fabulous. Rooms are very old (although clean) , no hot water and overall impression very dated and tired. Not worth the cost.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marsargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directionrotabas, Responsable réception at Le Rotabas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hello,
We take advantage of your comment to inform our customers that our establishment is rated 2 * with a standard comfort in the tropical islands . 75% of our rooms are recently renovated with wi-fi facilities and sustainable rain water captation in case of a water cut on the communal network actually.
we complaim your comment on TA. Unfortunately, you encountered a technical problem on the solar boiler in your room . We solved this problem the same day.

We note that you appreciate our location near the lagoon and visit the surroundings which is more valuable for you in spite of the disagrement.

Hoping you appreciate the islands and wish you an excellent return at home.

Sincerely yours

Reception desk staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

This place has very little going for it except proximity to a decent restaurant up the road and a beach about 10min away.

They don't speak English and are minimally helpful. There is nowhere nearby to get Euros so if you came in without them (as we did, on a boat from Dominica) then you're out of luck to pay for anything in the area, or even for a brief phone call to order a taxi, for which the front desk will ask for cash. The accommodations themselves were just ok. There are a ton of mosquitoes around and the pool is pretty basic. The area behind the place is run down and dumpy. The restaurant shack/stand looked far from appetizing and I am really at a loss to come up with any major positive characteristics of this property itself (except, as mentioned above, that it's *near* a few decent things).

Room Tip: Better to simply avoid
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lll-T-R-A-V-E-L-lll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews