We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Guest House I have ever stayed in”

Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwlchllan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bwlchllan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This was the best guest house I have stayed in. The facilities were more than what I expected and Eve & Melvin went out of their way to accommodate me. There was an extensive range of freshly prepared meals on the menu. The facilities in the guest house were brilliant; there was even a living room & conservatory downstairs to sit. The guest house was situated in a picturesque part of the countryside. It was very therapeutic to walk around the grounds of the guest house and there were a variety of places to sit outside and relax. I live just outside London and travel every day to central London and it was nice to stay there and relax.

I never imagined staying somewhere with such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and now feel refreshed and relaxed. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cddches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

We can only echo what other reviewers have said about Rhyd-y-Groes. Eve and Melvyn run an excellent B&B in a lovely part of Wales. The immediate area is very quiet and there are lots of walks around glorious country side to enjoy. We stayed in the log cabin and enjoyed the “remoteness” you feel when being there. The main house and restaurant are only a few yards away, so you don’t have to go far for your breakfast and/or evening meal, drinks, etc. The food was great, really tasty, plenty of choice and generous portion sizes. The high spot for us was seeing all the ducks being let out in the morning (the little things in life) and how they spent the day waddling about the area. In short we utterly enjoyed our stay, would have no problems recommending it and would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirromTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We went to Rhyd-y-Groes on the strength of the excellent ratings on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. The house was very clean and nothing was too much trouble for Eve and Melvyn.

We dined in their roadside restaurant and counted on one hand the vehicles that went past in over 2 hours.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NantwichBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband, myself and our two teenage children stayed for five nights at the end of July. Arriving at the beautiful house was fantastic after 3 nights of very soggy camping! We stayed in the log cabin and the children shared a room in the main house. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We were really pleased we had taken the evening meal for the price of B&B option as we had an enormous, delicious, homemade meal to look forward to every night after a long day exploring the glorious welsh countryside. The restaurant was very cosy and we even played darts with Eve and Melvyn. The owners are lovely and nothing was too much trouble, We had a fantastic packed lunch one day and they even included a rug and hamper! Our daughter loved seeing the baby duckling and collecting the eggs for our breakfast. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again and would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed at Rhyd-y-groes for 5 nights in August, with our 3 children aged 13 and 2. Our friends also joined us with their children and stayed in the log cabin. All the rooms were spotlessley clean and comfortable. The grounds and views were amazing. The veggie food was lovely, even for the meat eaters. The restaurant is amazing, and has such a lovely atmosphere. Loved the area so much to do, for all ages. The absolute highlight though was Mel and Eve. They are such lovely people that go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. Every morning they took my children to see all the animals (ponies, sheep and ducks). They even let us take the ponies for a walk
and hold 3 week old baby ducklings. Will definately return and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mancroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bwlchllan SA48 8QN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Bwlchllan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bwlchllan
Price Range: ₹ 4,997 - ₹ 6,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing