We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caribbean journalist” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #13 of 19 St. George's B&B and Inns
Martinique
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Caribbean journalist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The staff are wonderful, breakfast is great, rates are low, location near to St. Georges ideal. But the rooms are run down and have obviously not been refurbished in years. I had to change rooms 3 times before I got one that was relatively acceptable. It is such a shame. This place used to be a hive of activity and a really popular place. Now it is a sad dump. And it is only due to the hospitality of staff that the owner gets any business at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
3
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Very close to St. George's and just by the bus stop; in fact it's just about the only hotel close to St. George's as Lazy Lagoon isn't operating. After the badly run Lexus, this place was clean, easy and friendly. Never got the Wifi to work but found another connection from somewhere. I should have asked for first floor rooms as the second floor look over ugly roofs towards the Lagoon. The AC was necessary as the room got very hot in the day and it was noisy but we sort of fixed it ourselves. The bathroom and room were spotless, fresh towels daily and lots of hot water.

I'm not into beach resorts and wanted to explore the city, so it was ideal for the both of us.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have better view over Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TicaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The place was horrible.

The AC has two options high or off. If it's off the room is a furnace, if it's on, the air blows straight on you and you leave with a cold.
The wifi only works at the bar
The take out food had no taste, too salty
The bathroom rail (in the shower) broke
The soap dish was missing screws
The water wet up everything
There are dead roaches on the floor
No safe was given
Iron didn't work
Room drawer was broken
Clock was broken

The cable worked
The view is okay

I only stayed for one night. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starbornkaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. George's hotels

Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Enjoyed staying here after the Hotel Flamboyant, because it's closer to the city of St George's, and the room rates were much less. Tropicana's room was comfortable and simple, clean and quite OK for what I wanted- didn't plan to spend much time in it. They claimed free internet, but really that means there are some places where you could sit with your laptop and sneak a connection from a neighboring wi-fi. I liked the staff, they were helpful and genuine.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebeGBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2007

I came in from the airport, looking for a hotel for one night within walking distance of the yacht club, since I was joining friends on a boat the next day; this worked perfectly.

It's on the main road, right across from the Lagoon harbour (NOT the ferry dock), but still relatively quiet (at least in the off-season). There was no bar noise, no noise from other rooms, and only some road noise (and I'm picky). A little timeworn and bare-bones (a small room, one channel of TV, and no remote), but generally well kept, with functional air-conditioning, and safe for a woman travelling alone. By Caribbean standards, clean and relatively inexpensive at $70 US/night; I would say this is a budget price for this area. I looked at another place for $40 that was below my standards for cleanliness and safety.

The restaurant downstairs is reasonably priced by Caribbean standards (breakfast about $7, dinner about $15) and offers breakfast starting at 7 a.m., with some good local dishes. There's a big supermarket within a few minutes' walk, good for sailors provisioning for a trip. You can also walk into the main part of St. George's in about 10-15 minutes.

This is not on the beach or very close to the beach. It's simply good for sailors who want convenience and those looking for a short-term lower-priced hotel. For a hotel after a sailing trip, I'd probably go to Grande Anse instead.

  • Liked — Convenient to yacht club and supermarket
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninko999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.8 km away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.7 km away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.9 km away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.9 km away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
3.6 km away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Property: Tropicana Inn
Address: Lagoon Road, St. George's, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,603 - ₹ 4,913
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing