We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel for a week, it is a beautiful hotel, with a Beautiful view to the Bay and the swimming pool, It sits on top of a hill, and from mostly every area you will enjoy great views from the City of Samana , the bridge to nowhere and the Bay, the food was very good at the buffet, there are four specialties Restaurants, we were able to make reservations to 3 of the restaurants but only made it to the Italian and the Gourmet, the food was great except for one little incident with one of the waiters at the Italian Restaurant. It is a very quiet atmosphere, the small private beach is a little bit of walking to get to, if the elevator is not working which only happened one day for a few hours, there is also another beach called Cayo Levantao,is an Island closed by which they can get you by boat , it is a Beautiful beach, we really enjoyed this hotel. We will go back next year.

Room Tip: all rooms have views to some parts of the Samana Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceci318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor member:
We greatly appreciate your comments. Our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers. We are glad to see you we get it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bahia Principe Cayacoa and thank you in person your comments!
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,113 - 2,117 of 4,014 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Wherever we travel on vacation we always try to stay at a Bahia Principe hotel and we have never had a bad experience. This resort was no exception, it was spotless, well maintained, beautiful gardens, good food, and friendly staff. The only complaint we had was that the elevator to the beach was out of order for several days and there were a lot of stairs down to the beach (even more coming back up). But after all the food and desserts we went thru our lazy butts needed the exercise anyway. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2wicethefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor member:
First, we thank you for choosing the Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa to stay in Samana.
Also we thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor.com, since your opinion is a great help to us in our efforts to improve and achieve our main objective, which is the full satisfaction of our customers.
We put ourselves in your place and fully understand your comments about the days where our elevator was out of service, we regret having had to offer the harder option to go or return to the beach, but we work as quickly as we could to fix this incident.
We hope to have you back at our hotel. Please contact us again to info.cayacoa@bahia-principe.com to help you enjoy your next vacation with us,
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I had a great time at this hotel: the food was good, activities were fun, no problems at all. The best part about it all was the staff though: Fernando, Adriana, Juan, Lieny and Yeison (part of the animation team, I believe) we're amazing! so friendly! Rosemarie who greeted us for dinner every night always made my day, trying to teach us spanish phrases. All of the staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BreanneHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor member:
First of all we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to write your impressions on us. The customer feedback help us improve and better our service. Our animation team will be very happy to see how their work and enthusiasm charm to one of our many guests!! Thank you for your valuable time and waiting to welcome you again soon in the hope that, as from today, your home of Samana.
Greetings,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel is beautiful the staff is very nice !!! But is dirty & vey $$$$ this hotel needs a lot of renovation !!! Not going back here !! The beach is really bad !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noelky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is beautiful. It's on a cliff that overlooks the ocean and Samana city. There is so many things to see and do here, we didn't know where to start. The hotel alone has a great scenic view. There is an elevator that takes you to the beach, and the beach was very clean when we went. However, if you are going for white sand beach paradise I would suggest staying at the Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Leventado. It's on it's own island also known as Bacardi island. From our resort you can pay someone to boat you over there. We went over twice, and it was $35 for my boyfriend and I. We went with Gregory and Raymond, you can find them off the beach. They are really nice! There is a lot of stairs at this resort, and when we went the elevator to the beach was getting repaired so it was a bit of a hike back and forth, but my boyfriend and I are athletic so we didn't mind at all. The buffet has a great selection of food, I'm a very picky eater and I thought the food was good, especially considering where you are and what's available out there. The best things to eat while there are: Breakfast- crepes, omelet and banana juice (you have to try this juice, it's sooooo delicious, you'll become addicted), Lunch- the lunches at the buffet were o.k but I would suggest going to the snack bar by the second pool on the other side of the Fisherman's ala carte, you can order whatever you like there and the food is wayy better (i'd order the chicken nuggets or the burger there), Dinner- the buffet dinner was usually always different but there chicken isn't bad, same with their pizza, or any fish they have. All of the ala carte's we had were delicious. Our least favourite was the Italian place, and the best of all was the Fisherman's place. Order the surf and turf, the lobster is amazing!!! When we went we got 4 Ala Carte dinners, but we think we got an extra one because when we arrived our room wasn't ready. Check in time is at 3pm, and we got there at about 11am. We spent some time at the bar, and ordered a few drinks but we were exhausted from our 6:30am fly out and the hour long transfer bus ride. Then come 3pm, our room wasn't ready. It didn't take much time for our room to be ready but it was a bit annoying. The nightly entertainment was great!!! We read a review on here saying how horrible it was..... but it was amazing! They did an international dance performance where they did different styles of dance from each country, and they also did a Grease performance! It was awesome! The disco was fun and played great music, basically anything you wanted to hear but it was kind of small. From midnight until 6am they turn the Italian restaurant into a snack bar so you basically can always get food, no matter what time of day it is. We did two excursions while we were there and both of them were worth every penny. We did the Walk the Plank ziplining tour and we did the Horseback riding to El Limon Waterfall. They both were UNREAL! The ziplining tour takes you up 7000 feet in the air and you zip through the jungle like a monkey. It's so scary at first but then you feel comfortable and we ended up going upside down for a lot of them! The only let down was that you only get to spend like 10 minutes at the waterfall afterwards which is not enough time at all, and you get to stop at this lovely beach for about 15 minutes and I think you need at least half and hour at each. The horseback riding was very scenic as they take you through the mountainous jungle. There are locals that help you if your not used to horseback riding. Some of the hills are extremely steep and kind of scary, but it's sooo much fun! Our visit to Samana was great and I'd definitely go back. The maids always left our room nice and tidy, except sometimes they'd slack on filling up our mini fridge with beer, but a call downstairs always solved that. We were also told that our fridge would always have rum in it, but it only did once. Which kind of sucked. While we were there they had a pool party which was awesome. They had a fire thrower and everything! It was great! The staff there are great!!! They are always trying to get you involved in all the many activities they have going on during the day at the pool. They have mini golf tournaments, and volleyball, water polo, bingo ect. There's always something going on! If you go to this hotel your going to have a blast, they always go out of there way to ensure your happy! The other beach by the Fishermans Ala Carte is kind of dirty, so I wouldn't recommend swimming there. While your there though you should take some time to explore the grounds, there's something like 6 different pools you can go to and a lot of them are very quite so you can have pretty much complete privacy. The main beach is open to everyone and there is a lot of locals there, but there is security there so if they start asking for you to get them drinks or anything the security is on it in a flash! Any bad reviews on here are people who are expecting NO HUMAN ERROR which is ridiculous because this is an amazing resort and a lot of people just complain about stupid things! Go enjoy your vacation here it's amazing!!!

Room Tip: We meet people down there who stayed in the Villas and loved it because apparently the rooms are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor member:
First of all we hope you had a good trip back home.
We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to express your views on us. The customer feedback help us improve and better our service. You do not know how we are pleased that we achieved your satisfaction!!
We hope to have you in the near future at the Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
28.2 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
1.9 km away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#10 of 54 in Samana Province
201 reviews
9.6 km away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
7.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
7.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: ₹ 8,074 - ₹ 29,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing