We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Loved the staff and how polite and friendly they were. Especially Adriana and Fernando!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braatzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,171 - 2,175 of 4,016 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

amazing just simply beautiful family holiday, always loved dominican but this has been the nicest stay ive had anywhere yet, rooms are spacious cleaned daily, barmen waiters maids reception all very friendly and helpful! booking to go back now!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauuzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I had been through a very stressful year and this quiet, friendly place was the perfect remedy. We enjoyed Junior in the dining room, truly a gentleman! We preferred the buffet to the al a carte and there was food available somewhere whenever we wanted something. Came back fat, rested and ready to face the world again. Tip. Make sure the dead bolt is on when you are in your room. A lovely little cleaning lady was treated to a view of my husband's 57 year old behind! She was very apologetic and there was laughter all around...and blushing ;)

Room Tip: The oceanview is definitely worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brdautremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My daughter and I returned on April 17 after spending a fun filled week .Flight with West Jet was excellent ,on time and the crew was great.especially Tony for his valued info. Check in went very efficiently and were in our rooms within minutes .
Our hotel room was seaview on 400 level, very clean,maid service good and frig well stocked daily. We tipped the maid daily. We were not bothered by the lobby staff trying to sell time share. There was an invitation under our door, chose not to go.
Buffet restaurant was better than average. Food was presented well at the a la carte restaurants, salmon and shrimp at the Orequeida was excellent, as well as the lobster at El Pescador. Service at the Dolce Vita was slow and people who arrived last were served first, Things got a little mixed uo at times. They tried hard.
Barcardi Island trip would have been great if it didn't rain so hard, our clothes were saturated
Pineapple drinks hit the spot $5. ea and the flea market had some good deals. Beautiful beach and well worth the $20.00.
Animation staff worked long hours and there was lots of things to do if you wanted to take part. Went to a few shows, some of the costumes could use some updating, all in all not bad.
The beach was nice, not large but very dissapointed with the trash that was floating in, after that the pool was more inviting. The beach cleanup staff were kept very busy . Does not reflect well on Gran Bahia Principe Chain.
The bar staff were very friendy, especially Angel and Manuel. All the staff in general were very pleasant and helpful.
We took the hotel shuttle and went down the hill to Samana.Greeted by a young man, who became our guide, made sure we were kept safe in the stores and crossing the streets, picked up some souvenirs and shopped at the local grocery store for coffee and vanilla.
Don't be discouraged by the stairs the shuttle will pick up and drop off very quickly.

Room Tip: 400 level with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely location, good food, and spotlessly clean. Friendly staff who don't seem concerned about you tipping them, but are very grateful when you do.
I judge a hotel on it's ability to rectify problems, on arrival, we were not happy with the room allocated, but with no fuss whatsoever, at the earliest opportunity, we were moved to a much nicer room. Our only other complaint, sadly, was about some Canadian guests,who seemed to think it great fun to get drunk as skunks on the day of arrival, then each and every day sit on the terrace making as much noise as possible whilst getting more drunk, and continuing their rowdy behaviour in the restaurant... I have Canadian roots (Grandfather) this was embarrassing to watch, hear. When on holiday, please remember your Country is judged by your behavior! Making stupid "whoop whoop noises is just plain idiotic and childish, and extremely annoying to your fellow guests!
Other than that, as I said, it's a lovely place, lots of interesting places to visit (the waterfall on horseback is fabulous!) as is Playa Ricon.
The beach has been awarded a blue flag, and is cleaned every day of all debris, and the water is crystal clear...please do not beoive the reports that say this is a dirty beach!
In summary, nice rooms, good food and drink. Speciality restaurants we found the Italian poor, the gourmet better, and the seafood best of all.
We have been back home now for several days.....missing it already!
We will return!

Room Tip: Beware that rooms 200+ could be on the way to the dining room, therefore very noisy at meal times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnb2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
28.2 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
1.9 km away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#10 of 54 in Samana Province
201 reviews
9.6 km away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
7.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
7.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: ₹ 8,034 - ₹ 28,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing