We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana was a once in a lifetime expirience!

Amazing staff from the bartender, Doroteo, at Coco Bar all the way to the bellboy, Omar Madrigal! Roberto, who is in charge of the excusions, is friendly and very helpful in making your trip excellent and memorable. Wendy, at the gift shop, was an even more amazing cashier than i could have ever expected. Everyone here is exceedingly friendly!

The rooms are simple but clean and cozy. The AC could be a little stronger at times but its not bad. The buffet is also OK bit the restaurants are to die for, especially Kyoto! I will never forget this place. I will for sure be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexaf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you so much for selecting Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays, it is a big pleasure to read this wonderful opinion about our hotel. And of course, thanks for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

We are very proud to know that your last experience at Barceló Punta Cana exceeded your expectations. As you know our principal goal is to give you our best service, make your vacation exclusive and unforgettable. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to ensure our Guest Satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,765 - 2,769 of 9,437 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana was everything I expected from beginning to end. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly. The rooms were very clean and the service was marvelous. Have to say my favorite part was Mr. Doro at the coco pool bar. The bell boy Omar was there for us beginning to end. The resort was very family oriented, I would have preferred less kids, but I still enjoyed my stay regardless. I will definitely be returning to Barcelo Punta Cana hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Efelipe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest,

Firstly, the entire team of Barceló Punta Cana wants to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve.

We will be glad to welcome you back again. We are at your disposal for anything you need.

Kind Regards,

General Manager Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The staff are very friendly and so nices.There was a guy called Jesse Perez he was so nice and so sweet.The food was so good.Thank you all people who work in Barcelo Punta Cana in special to Jesse Perez.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

Best Regards,

General Manager Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The best vacations ever, the staff became my family and made me feel welcomed, even learned my name!! From entertaintment to cleaning, everyone treated me like friends!! Will always remember and treasure this experience, shoutouts to juan rosario (minime) jairo, bienvenido, rosa (amazing cleaning lady) and all my other friends from the staff...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoralysDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Barcelo Resorts as your holiday destination

I am delighted to hear that we have surpassed all your expectations with our services and attentions provided by our associates during your stay. Your recognition on the effort and dedication demonstrated by Juan, Jairo, Bienvenido, Rosa is greatly appreciated; therefore I will personally transmit your compliments.

Needless to say, we will be anxiously expecting to have the pleasure to welcoming you back and please consider Barceló Punta Cana as your “home away from home”.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I love Barcelo Punta Cana , the staff are friendly and do everything to make you feel at home, Rene form front desk is a sweet heart , he do anything do accommodate you. Claudia, yesica, margarita and erismendes from the buffet are the best.

Room Tip: Ocean view room are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference as well as for having shared your opinion with future travelers.

We are delighted to hear that all your expectations were met and that our staff went the extra mile in their effort to accommodate and offer you a pleasant stay. They are always eager to fulfill all our guests’ needs.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please do not forget that Barceló Punta Cana is your second home in sunny Caribbean, so we will be expecting your next visit.

Sincerely,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
25.0 km away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
5.7 km away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 27 in Bavaro
1,947 reviews
9.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
1.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,634 reviews
5.0 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 8,350 - ₹ 24,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing