We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,895)
Filter reviews
10,895 results
Traveller rating
4,277
3,065
1,704
958
891
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,277
3,065
1,704
958
891
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barcelo premium gabriel chocolate quiet pool swim up bar rock climbing wall renovated room ocean view kids pool a la carte restaurants beautiful beach the mexican restaurant seafood palm trees great vacation family vacation picky eater recommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
4,305 - 4,310 of 10,895 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

First let me start by saying that the hotel is very dated. Everything was old. Walls and ceilings had visible repairs and stains all over the hotel. Caulking was used in globs for repairs.

When we arrived it was very hot. There was juice at the front when we came in but no cups. I never saw cups there.

We rented a suite and paid more to be in the premium club which basically did not give us anymore benefits than everyone else. They put us in a dark dingy room and said we would have to wait until the next day to get another room. The next day they gave us 3 rooms to look at and we went on our own to look.

We met with the Expedia rep the next morning and he was very short and rude with some of the guests. He was also very impatient. He had a very strong accent and was hard to understand. There is definitely a language barrier. We told him that we were thinking of changing hotels and he said basically that it would be bad for us if we did. He was never at the hotel when he said he would be and was even late for our meeting. He did call to see if we were okay with the new room. We basically said it was better than the last room but still not good. He never contacted us again during our stay.

In our particular room 2 of the lamps had electrical tape holding cords together as the middles were ripped.

We had no bottled water in our mini bar and had to request it the next day. Keep in mind you can't drink the tap water.

We had to bang on a ceiling light to turn it on. This was shown to us by the staff to do to get it on.

Our shower leaked all over and flooded the bath floor because the glass bricks were all cracked. I almost slipped.

Our bed was on wheels so it kept rolling away from the headboard. The mattress was thin and very cheap.

The phones did not work. We could not call out or check messages. Not even sure why they were there.

The TV's were very old box style and neither remote worked. I stopped by front desk one afternoon to see if they could fix them. Maintenance called our room at 11:30pm and wanted to come and fix them. We were sleeping so we asked them to come the next morning and they never came.

There were ants all over the sparse offering of hor devours in the premium club. Disgusting!!! The premium club was a small room with 2 computers. One did not work. One had the letters on the keyboard so worn out you could not see them.

The elevators in the main building were constantly out of order and restaurants were on upper floors. Therefor when you are dressed for dinner you're a sweaty mess by the time you get there.

A/c did not work in the bedroom. They never came to fix it.

The sliding doors were extremely hard to open and 1 of them did not lock.

The pool walls were really filthy and had mismatched tiles for repairs. The grounds appeared to be clean but were full of debris under the bushes which was very visible from in the pool. Also there were a lot of electrical boxes around the pool area that had exposed wiring.

The restaurant staff members were very nice but most did not understand English so when I asked for cream cheese, they brought me tea etc.

There was no elevator within 3 buildings from our room. We were on the third floor. So we had to use the stairs. Not a very relaxing vacation.

On a good note:
Our maid Carmen was great and the room was clean. The swim up bartender, Doreto, was awesome and the guy at the hamburger hut was the best. Great service from them at least.

Room tip: Don't stay here. Trust this review. The place is so old and is falling apart.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Never have I ever been to a worst resort, with the worst service. In a nutshell, we paid for an ocean view, we didn't get one, and didn't get our money back. Nothing worked in our room, nothing was ever fixed. Our safe was broken for 2 days, we called 10 times before someone actually came. In those 2 days, we had money stolen from us, and nothing was done about it, even after reporting it. The staff was rude and the food sucked. The only nice thing about this horrible hotel is the beach, it is very clean. I wouldn't recommend this resort to my worst enemy.

Room tip: DO NOT pay for ocean view, it's a waste of time and money, zero good views. Just never go here, it's horrible!!!!! Worst trip ever.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_draudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The trip was a celebration for turning 40 years old with 10 ladies in total. The hotel is very large and I think they are understaffed. The service was okay, at times the staff was indifferent during their interaction with the guest. The rooms were clean which is very important to me. I am a road warrior and have stayed at many hotels throughout the world. The hotel needs to do some maintenance (bathroom shower door needs to be fixed, after a shower the bathroom was flooded, light bulbs were out in the hallways for consecutive days, and the snack food by beach was cold to name a few). We had a good time, but it could have been better.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyork8losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We went to Barcelo May 3-7 2012. It was 6 of us girls. Upon arrival both of our rooms were not ready. We put our belongings in one room while we waited. The rooms were nice..only problem is we had ants in the bathroom & on the counter. Our view from the balcony was amazing! The bars were not as great as I wanted them to be. They have their own brand of liquor & only the basics. Margaritas were not good. Never really found a drink I liked. The pools were awesome! We always were able to get a chair & towel. We went on 2 excursions. Ziplineing & catamaran tour. Both were so fun! Our vip tours guide hunsey was very nice & helpful. Our guides on the tours were also nice except "papa raymond" was a little creepy. Hitting on my sister & saying he wanted her to be his 3rd wife. The restaurants we were able to eat at were good. Very hard to get a reservation at a desent time. We went to the casino & it was a joke. We went to Hard Rock just down the road to gamble. It was much better! The cab fare changed everytime we went.The staff at guest services were not nice . They seemed to cater to the spanish speaking guests not the english speaking. They made absoulutely no effort to help us. Overall we loved Punta Cana & would love to go back but we will not be staying at Barcelo. We would rather stay with a chain resort (hard rock) the staff spoke english & were extremly nice. Leaving punta cana my mothers luggage was opened & her make up strown all over & her $400 camera stolen. That's another thing I was so sick of tipping ppl. They would do so little & wolud stand there waiting for u to tip them. I get its how they make $ but man, it just got old

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traceydawn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

As long as your not looking for something fancy, the Barcelo Premium was a Great Hotel. We got married there this April, with 35 guests.
The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms were decent. However the hot water could be finicky some days. The Buffets were ok - Not Great, but not horrible either. We all loved the omlette bar for breakfast and pasta for dinner. We LOVED Tokio, the Japenese al a carte. Roma, was too Hot though.
Now the wedding, that was amazing, the price of the package was resonable, the wedding coordinator & her assistant were so friendly and helpful. The ceremony sight was so beautiful, we had a private reception and the food was probably the best meal of the entire trip! They did such a great job! I would recommend them to anyone looking to have a destination wedding!

Room tip: We had an Ocean View Club Premium Suite, and it was defintily worth the upgrade.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews