We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best first trip !”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #64 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 25 April 2012

we stayed from april,16th to the 23rd . we found the resort to be very nice . The staff there were very friendly and very helpful. The resort offered lots of choices for food and the food was awesome ,there wasn't a thing we put on our plates that wasn't good. i loved how we didn't have to walk very far for any of your needs . the beach was beautiful an very clean an it was great that they had two pools and two kids pools , it made it very easy to relax by the pool .they had daytime entertainment by the pool , dance lessons,water aerobics . The rooms were ok , they needed a little maintenance done on them , just as simple as the closet door an the patio door sliders fixed ,but other then that the room was good . the room was cleaned everyday an the bar fridge was restocked with whatever we wanted by setting a little note on the top of the fridge , but we never abused the privilege . we were giving more then enough towels in our room an we had no problems getting a towel each for the pool, we just had a hard time finding the towel hut lol oh an a tip can go a long way . we left a normal amount on our pillow an everyday we came back to our room we had a suprise . we came back one day to a towel wrapped into the shape of a swan . it was very cool. everynight they had a theater that you could go an watch the play, one night they did "grease'' an the costumes were great . overall we can't say nothing bad an we would definitly go back . we had no problems communicating with the staff :) great job!

Room Tip: i would definitly spend the little extra to upgrade the room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjh5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,772 - 3,776 of 9,743 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Please do not let the bad reviews scare you. After we booked we started to read so many bad reviews that by the time we got to the resort we were terrified that we were going to have a horrible experience.

Check in was a breeze (although it was late at night and not many other people checking in). I have read reviews that say it can take a long time, however, when a whole bus load of people are trying to check in at the same time I'm not sure how the resort is to do it any faster. People who complain that their room was not ready when they got there should be aware that just like any hotel in North America, check in is not before 3pm and the fact that your plane arrived at 10am is totally irrelevant.

We arrived at 1:30am and scared that this was going to be a disaster. We were taken to our room that felt like it was very far away from the lobby (we went through the buildings and it was dark). When we got to our room we had some issues. Our bed was missing the castors from it, the sliding door didn't lock, our light didn't come on and our TV didn't work. We went to the front desk (looking for an upgrade). We were told that they would come and fix everything and trying to remember that your vacation is what you make of it we aggreed. They replaced the TV remote battery (we did not watch TV all week), replaced a light bulb, put castors on bed and it turned out patio door was our issue and not theirs. When we woke up in morning we realized that room 6109 was steps away from swim up bar and 10 steps away from beach. Instantly in the daylight we had no idea what our issue had been. Room was great!!Aslo, we did not see any bugs at all through the week and our room was cleaned and stocked each day.

There were some spring breakers there but they were well behaved for the most part and amusing to watch when we wanted and plenty of room at the resort to get away from them if we wanted. The service at the bars, restaurants was fantastic. The staff work much harder than here to get their job done. As for any complained regarding getting drinks at the buffet I find funny. Yes if you sat there and waited to be waited on it could take a few minutes as there are busy turning tables over so that you don't have to wait for a place to sit. However, the drink station was open for you to get your own drinks just like a buffet here. I have also read complaints that you couldn't get water anywhere to drink which again is wrong. You could help yourself to water at any bar, at the inside buffet, at the pool buffet.

Food was fantastic. There were some things at the buffet that I would not have eaten but they are catering to people from around the world and not just my taste buds!! Just at the buffet they would serve ribs and BBQ chicken one night, a whole BBQ pig another, Whole turkey and you could always go to the fresh pasta station. We did not get an upset stomach at all the whole week.

Would I recommend this resort? I am actually recommending this resort to 50 of my friends and family next year as we are going back to get married. We met some great people who were down there for a wedding and it inspired us to go back next year and do the same after being together for 11years. A big shout out if they are reading this to Earls Group. Wish you guys were coming next year with us!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Overall we had a great trip, we stayed April 14-21, 2012. The hotel was great, grounds were clean, large enough to have all the amenities needed but small enough to find your friends. Entertaiment was pretty good. Rooms could be a bit better but that was expected for the price we paid. Loved the beach and the pools. Our room was in building 7 and was about 10 steps from the party pool, small buffet and beach. Perfect location in my opinion. The buffet food was ok but it was very good in the A la Cartes. They book 3 for you when you arrive, we went to all 3 of them.

One thing I would suggest to people, remember you are on vacation and don't get upset over the small stuff. Relax and enjoy the sun and the water and the free drinks. lol If you ask for something to be fixed in your room and it isn't, get over it b/c it probably won't get done. Work around it. Out fridge didn't work for 4 or the 7 days, we just got lots of ice for the drinks or drank at the bars. Out tv didn't work most of the time, we weren't there to watch tv so not that big of a deal when I look back at it. We visited another resort next to us and it was gigantic, new, extremely expensive and had NO caribbean theme. Barcelo PC has lots of caribbean feel. I was really pleased with our vacation!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room on the bottom floor (yes you could actually see it, I was surprised too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracySara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Was at the Barcelo Punta Cana for the second year in a row. Travelled with two friends. We liked it once again but this year we found that there were too many kids. We went to a a la carte restaurant one night to have a table with all the kids with one adult and all the parents of the said kids sitting two tables further. Not a pleasant evenings for us sitting next to all those agitated kids.
Also lots of spring breakers. Thanks management of the hotel to have hired more security. There was one on each floor so we could still have a full night sleep without being disturbed.
Food was good especially the Tokio and the Tex Mex a la carte restaurant.
If I could make one recommendation to management it would be to have at least one row of palapas on the beach. Palm trees are nice but it is hard to get a full shaded area.
I still recommend this hotel especially if you are in building 1, 2 or 3. These sections have been renovated and are very nice. NO complaints there. Service was great. Had no problem whatsoever. Ceasar are prefered bartender was still working at the hotel and he remembered us from last year. He also remembered how we liked are drinks. One girls at the reception desk also remembered me from last year and she really made us feel welcomed. We travelled from April 2 to the 16, 2012.

Room Tip: Any rooms in building 1, 2 or 3. I prefer top floor and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bengay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent food, service and the beach is great, the service in Dominican Republic is great, is highly recommend no to do any shopping in malls because is very expensive and not necessary to go out of the hotel, ask for taxis from the hotel only so you get a better price than being outside of the hotels.I will come back for sure

Room Tip: ask for a water front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgnesPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
5.7 km away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#19 of 28 in Bavaro
2,353 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#65 of 114 in Punta Cana
10,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
5 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 114 in Punta Cana
13,707 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 114 in Punta Cana
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 8,355 - ₹ 20,920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing