We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I will not go into great detail since others have covered most of the highlights. Our first experience at all adult resort and loved it. The odd boiterous group sometimes spoiled the peace and quiet but not too bad. Great to have the best of both worlds - we tried all of the a la cartes on the all ages side except the Italian. The Japanese and Mexican were our favorites and exceptionally good. Room service is a bonus although we did not use it . Saw complaints in reviews regarding room cleaning, etc. but we were extremely pleased with our maid service. Nice to come back after dinner in the evening to find your bed turned down and fresh towels for your morning (Or evening) shower. The bed was OK - I prefer a soft mattress but slept well there. Loved the pillows (I am very fussy about my pillows)!! 99% of the staff were exceptionally friendly - even the groundskeepers always had a smile and friendly "hola"!! - proof that they are not just friendly because you tip.
Service at the Ocean Blue was slow and they seem a bit disorganized but - I'm on vacation so not in a big rush. It was a convenient location close to the beach and easy to just get a sandwich or other snack. The Cata Tapa was very good - enjoyed our dinner there very much. First meal at Thalassa was a disaster (beef canneloni) second was excellent - maple chicken. Luck of the draw I guess. Great service and love the special frosty drinks they drop off for you. Big plus is that you do NOT need reservations at any of the restaurants on either resort. I consider this a huge bonus.

Hard to decide if having to dress for meals was a good or bad thing - sometimes a bit of a pain but at least you are not subject to the folks who would trail in in tank tops, (or no shirts) and flip flops, etc. So I have to vote for "good" I guess. So overall it was a very positive experience.
We were pretty well always able to find a lounge chair by bottom pool or on the beach and usually shade when we needed it. No complaints t here at all.
If there is a down side to this location - the warnings upon leaving the resort beach make you hesitant to venture further - so this makes for limited beach walking which we love to do. At resorts further down you can literally walk for miles and you are always on resort property. Our Nolitour guide warned us about not venturing past the flea market area as we might encounter machine guns and cocaine, etc! Not really what I am looking for in DR!
So overall - a very positive experience ! PS - my other favorite thing - the hammock on our balcony - loved it.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 36 - very close to beach, second pool and two restaurants. We were on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marjcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,879
    1,518
    583
    191
    149
See reviews for
361
3,942
83
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Mr. Castellinou - you have one hell of a great resort. My husband and I stayed there from February 25 - March 4th. Had a spectacular time travel from the airport is awesome because the resort is so close. We arrived late at night and the little old guy at the desk was not about to carry our bags to our room - no fancy greeting but we did find our room and settled in quite quickly. Not sure why they have these late night arrivals (got there about one in the morning) - when they have no personnel available. We were travelling with my parents who are a little older. We were offered no assistance with our luggage and keep in mind - there are no elevators. My husband had recently had back surgery and our rooms were on the second floor - we had to carry all of our luggage up ourselves after travelling all day. That being said - once we were in our room - it was great. Because we were so late arriving - had trouble finding a nightcap - but made up for it the next day. The staff at this resort is simply amazing. The food - mmmmmmm. We had a preference for the restaurants on the royal side - The staff at the Thalassa are so sweet and make each visit so personal - I wanted to take them all home. I would like to personally thank Dario - the man - he is amazing. Some of our other r favourites: Joel and Ana.We also had special treatment from Dominica and Jocse and Emannuel. The staff are incredible and will make your vacation something to remember. We enjoyed some personal time with the staff that is a cherished memory. The beaches and pools are amazing. I want to go back! dario - Glen misses you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ldoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us a perfect score on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your comments, it’s wonderful to know you are considering returning to our Resort, and had overall very enjoyable holidays with us.

Regarding the inconvenience at the arrival we extend our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We look forward to your next visit to show you we can exceed your expectations.

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort from 3/24-3/30. We really enjoyed ourselves. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the staff was very friendly. I don't want to repeat what others have said so here are a few key points.

Check in was a breeze. Brought us a welcome drink and hot towel at the desk. We arrived several hours prior to offical check in time but were given no trouble and brought right to our room. Although the room was clean and looked as expected, we were sad to find the fruit basket and bottle or rum promised on the website were no there. No biggie, but kind of a bummer.

The food was as expected at all resturants. We were able to find something we liked on both sides of the resort. The wait staff was always very attentive and easy to communicatie with. Knowing a little Spanish goes a long way!

One factor that made somethings difficult was the lack of information provided about the family side of the resort. Although you are given full VIP access to the resuturants, watersports, bars, and spa, we weren't given any information about where to find it! On the first day and ended up going to the other sides check in area to recieve their information. It would have been a lot easier to if we were just given that to begin with.

We had a lovely stay. The beach is beautiful and well maintained. Great resort for couples young and old. Stay here and you will enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cclynn427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your reviews of our facilities and services. We kindly inform our front desk provides maps of the bavaro side, we apologize for the inconvenience.
It’s wonderful our services provided you a relaxed and enjoyable vacation; we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinsukia, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A good vacation overall.
The place is good, quiet and relaxing. Perfect for couples. We stayed in 4651 which is a good room but i think the perfect room will be 4632 with a clearer view of the pool. The staff is friendly and food is good. There are a lot of activities which you can do in Catalonia as well as in Punta Cana. Booking excursions online is not a good idea as you get same excursions at varying prices once you go there and you can bargain with the vendors. The buggy ride is the best according to me.

Room Tip: I will suggest room number 4632 but even 4652 will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfisherflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for sharing your nice comments about our staff, and facilities, we are encouraged with your comments.

We hope you choose us once again.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Had a great vacation. Do not trust vendors walking around selling excursions. Guy named Happy Man ripped us off for the Dune Buggy tours. Not what we were promised and even paid extra for video we never received. The hotel was excellente. Book tour next to front desk only. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mporta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to receive your comment, thank you for the five star score on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to offer you an excellent service for your holidays, we are sorry about the setback, but are glad you continued having a wonderful stay at our Resort.

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
15.7 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
20.4 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.9 km away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
9.9 km away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
12.5 km away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,187 - ₹ 33,644
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing