We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,232)
Filter reviews
6,234 results
Traveller rating
4,765
966
322
98
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,765
966
322
98
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family concierge gabi club ramon ramirez mole kids zone dinner reservations wander roa the grill gabi beach drinky drinky bedroom master suite vento restaurant concierge service family vacation bubble bath yhi spa kids pool
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 6,234 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2018

This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at Paradisus (last year Palma Real and now Punta Cana resort) within the Reserve part with family concierge. We enjoyed Palma Real but for us Punta Cana Resort for activities, friendliness of the staff and the Concierge service was better. Yes the resort is older than Palma Real but it has been very well maintained and the gardens and outdoor areas are lovely. We have to say a special thank you to our concierge team first Estefania and also Jhordan who planned our dinner schedules, looked after our needs and made our son feel special, gave useful tips on what to do and see. Everywhere we encountered Attentive & Friendly Staff- also an extra thank you to Adrianna in the main office who was very helpful, Jonathan the Reserve pool 'captain' who looked after our cabana and made sure that we were never thirsty! We really enjoyed the breakfast and lunch Buffets at Gabi club at the Reserve, the choice and quality of fresh fruit, salads was superb. Gym facilities were excellent and the stretching, yoga classes were well run. Finally the staff really made Halloween special!!!
The only downer was that some of the restaurants (eg Bana) was closed during our stay for maintenance and the main Spa was also closed, but there were temporary spa facilities in our apartment block.
In summary it was a holiday to remember no request however small was overlooked- keep up the great customer service Paradisus Reserve!

Room tip: Higher floors have more light
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aries455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam788024, Hotel Management at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to start by thanking you for being part of our family and choosing the Paradisus hotels for the second time as your vacation destination. We are delighted to know we were able to offer you the outstanding trip you expected and deserved.

Thanks a lot for your appreciation of our facilities, services and the friendly and courteous attitude of our team. For that matter, we will gladly share your comments with Estefania, Jordan, Adrianna and Jonathan, who will be thrilled to know their efforts were appreciated.

On the other hand, I apologize if you were not able to enjoy all our restaurants and main spa during your recent stay. Hopefully, we will have another opportunity to welcome you so you can enjoy fully our facilities and services.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

To start the check in was great, it is our second time visiting this resort. I usually don’t write reviews but I had to this time, as a member of melia I felt super special. as members we receive 24 hr service which makes our monthly payments all worth it. The pool side bar was amazing mostly the staff Carmen, Rikelvin Aponte,Yeradldin Rodriguez, Yoel de la Paz, Benita Mercedes , ask for them. Better yet You might not need to ask for them because there is a good chance they will be there working hard to satisfy the customer.

Room tip: You must take a tour and decide for yourself.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheechtrumc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam788024, Hotel Management at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Wow! We truly appreciate your enthusiastic and sincere words, as these incentívate us to continue our hard work. We strive to offer you a memorable and unique experience and, in this sense, we are delighted to know we achieved our purpose during your recent trip.

Thanks a lot for your appreciation of the warm and courteous attitude of Carmen, Rikelvin, Yerardin, Joel and Benita, with whom we will gladly share your compliments and gratitude.

Thanks for being part of our family. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

First... The photo advertising The Reserve at Paradisus is misleading. It is a 15 minute walk to the beach unless you take the trolley which you have to wait for.

Upon arrival we were told our room wasn’t ready so they were upgrading us to a larger room. The young lady who showed us to a room immediately started pushing us to make a reservation for breakfast the next morning. No thank you... all I wanted was for her to show us how to shut off the ceiling fans, however she turned her back on me and walked out of the room while I was speaking to her. Thank God we didn’t take her up on the breakfast reservation because we later found out it was to push the timeshare that would have taken the entire morning (3 hours) and we were only there for two days/3 nights. Here’s an idea... be honest if you want to try and get people to listen to your timeshare pitch, don’t steal their vacation time. Or an even better idea would be to figure out how to market it differently.

The room was clearly only cleaned in some areas and not others. The air conditioning stayed on one freezing temperature no matter what we did to try and change it. The shower which was dirty had one temperature of scalding hot water. The slippers were clearly used with dirty feet prints inside of them. Don’t give up slippers if you don’t want to change them. There was no hair dryer and when we went to speak to the concierge in our building she replied in a condescending manner that she would go to the room with us and show us where it was as she could not take our word for it. When we went back to the room to prove there was no hair dryer we showed her the problem with the air conditioning and the shower. Long story short... they never fixed the air conditioning and changed the problem with the scalding hot water in the shower to extremely low pressure with only cool water. after that the shower was dirtier than it was when we got there and it was never cleaned during our stay. The young lady that was the housekeeper looked miserable and never smiled even once.

If you want to eat in a restaurant for dinner... you need a reservation for all of them. Good luck with that as we were told there were no reservations until Monday evening and we are leaving Monday morning. After arguing about it we got a reservation for Sunday night at the Mexican restaurant for 8 PM. Later on they did come through with a reservation for the Grill at 7 PM on Friday evening, I don’t understand why it was so difficult when there were plenty of empty tables throughout our entire dinner. On Saturday evening upon coming back from the pool The concierge told me that she made us a reservation for the Mexican restaurant at 7 PM that night at a different restaurant at 7 PM the following night. I told her that 7 PM is not good for us and we had already had a reservation for Sunday night at the Mexican restaurant at 8 PM. She responded in her usual condescending manner ...saying well I changed it. Excuse me... you didn’t pay for my trip so you should not be changing the reservation time that I made without asking me. By the way, there were empty tables at that restaurant as well. The breakfast at the buffet was good but the staff seemed annoyed to get the beverages. Last but not least, I asked the concierge if there was a bottle of wine for the room and I was told if I wanted wine in the room I needed to call room service and they would bring me a GLASS of wine.

I met no less than three other people waiting at the concierge desk with complaints of a similar nature during my three night stay.

On the upside... once you get away from The Reserve, and you will have to if you want to eat in a restaurant...The resort that is Paradisus Punta Cana appears very beautiful and well-maintained. Also, there was an amazing happy guy serving drinks at The Reserve pool who came around to get your order. They should promote him from getting drinks to being the manager of training and customer service.

Also there seem to be only kittens around... can’t help but wonder what happened to the older ones

This all being said, it’s a shame we stayed in The Reserve section and not in the Paradisus section as I wouldn’t chance going back there. Clearly the resort is mismanaged since they allow such poor customer service and lack of work ethic.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kat88nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam788024, Hotel Management at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Kat,

We would like to extend our gratitude to you again for the time you dedicated to share your experience with us.

Whilst an apology won’t change the outcome of your experience, I extend it sincerely. We are sorry to hear our accomodations were not up to the standards you expected. Rest assured, we will discuss your remarks with the departments involved, in order to prevent similar situations in the future and ensure the maintenance and care of our rooms.

As per the sales staff of our vacation club,I would like to point out that their purpose is only to promote another product of the Meliá chain. Nevertheless, I apologize on behalf of the Vacation Club, and would like to assure you their intention was not to make you feel uncomfortable. Like most major hotel chains worldwide, Melia Hotels International has also embraced the concept of Vacation Club. The main objective of an invitation to our timesharing presentation is to offer you the opportunity to enjoy fully our facilities and services and under no circumstances you must feel obligated to become a member or listen to the whole presentation.

We are really astonished to hear your comments regarding our team, as they are known for being always courteous and professional. However, the attitude you just described is unacceptable and we will surely discuss your comments with our whole team, as we strive to offer you a perfect experience and an outstanding service always.

Allow me, please, to confirm you that all our a-la-carte restaurants required reservations. Our team works hard to satisfy our clients’ requests, however, they are always subject to restaurant availability. We extend our apologies for any difficulties you experienced while trying to reserve our restaurants.

Please, accept our excuses again. Hopefully, we will be welcoming you again in the near future, so we can change your perception of our resort and offer you an unforgettable vacation time.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This is our fourth time staying at the Paradisus And we love it. The staff is friendly, the pools are clean, and the food is amazing. The kids club is excellent for the little ones. They enjoy the kids pool and the staff. It’s the same staff every year and they always remember my littles. The gym is fantastic and Miguel Arache really took his time to train me one-on-one when no one showed up for our class. Beach yoga is perfect and the beach was very clean. We took one excursion and always felt safe. The buffet is delicious and always has something my kids will eat. The alcohol flows nicely and the restaurant food is different than the buffet and also amazing. Bring bug spray for the outdoor Mexican restaurant. The room service is super fast.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Nichole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam788024, Hotel Management at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Nichole,

We are so glad to hear of the amazing time you had while staying at The Reserve Paradisus Punta Cana. Moreover, we thank you for choosing us for the fourth time as your vacation destination, giving us the opportunity to offer you a memorable experience every time.

Please, accept our gratitude for your kind acknowledgement of our facilities, services, gastronomy, kids club, activities and the warm, courteous and helpful attitude of our team. For that matter, we will gladly share your comments with our staff, specially with Miguel Arache.

We count ourselves lucky for guests like you and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Stayed at the resort with my wife, my 2.5-year-old daughter, and my 9-month-old son in the end of October. We stayed at the 1 bedroom suite with the family concierge. As some of the previous reviews have mentioned, it seems that October is considered a low season, leading to some of the a la carte restaurants (in addition to Naos, which is a buffet restaurant) being closed, and those that were open were not necessarily open on each night. During our stay, Naos and Bana were closed during the duration, and Aqua seemed to be open only on our last night (although we didn't try it). Prior to the trip, based on looking at the most recent TripAdvisor reviews, we kind of expected this. More on the restaurants and food options later. On the other hand, the resort's main pool was open throughout our stay; however, we mainly used the Reserve's pools.

Location-wise, the Reserve is desirable if you are staying with kids and want to take advantage of the Kids zone, since the Kids zone is located at the Reserve. However, it is definitely a little bit farther to get to the beach. There doesn't seem to be a set schedule for the trolleys, but the walk is definitely do-able (10-15 minutes walk at a good pace to go from the Reserve to the beach).

Some main points

-Very grateful for our family concierge, Leidy Elizabeth. We had some unique requests (e.g. requesting extra water bottles in the room, extra whole milk for our daughter, extra baby shampoo because the original one provided was spilled by our daughter...), and she managed to fulfill them all! She also made reservations for our cabana (either pool or beach, she needed to know by 5pm to get reservation for the following day), and the a la carte restaurants.
-

Overall, it's not perfect (otherwise I would have given 5 stars for the review), but the pluses outweighed the minuses, hence the 4-star review.

Tips:
-It was not widely advertised (or at least we didn't find out about it until our last full day), but the resort does have a free shuttle to the Palma Real Shopping Village at designated times during the day. At the shopping village, there is a supermarket: Super Lama. If you are looking to find some Dominican coffee to bring home, good to get it here (Cafe Santo Domingo is much cheaper here than at the resort store, and there's also a Cafe Don Justino Organic stand at the supermarket). Also a good place to get your coconut oil if you want to bring it home.
-We inquired about going to Catholic Sunday Mass, and turned out the resort had a Mass celebrated at one of the rooms in the convention center. It was at 11.30am when we were there.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank operam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam788024, Hotel Management at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind and detailed feedback. We are delighted to hear all the details of your recent experience at Paradisus Punta Cana and we thank you sincerely for sharing your words with the whole TripAdvisor community.

Thanks for your appreciation of our facilities, services and the warm and courteous attitude of Leidy Elizabeth, who will be thrilled to know her efforts didn’t go unnoticed.

We really hope you come visit us again, so we can offer you the unforgettable experience you and your family deserve.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews