We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 351
US$ 311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 488
US$ 188
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 374
US$ 332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 365
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 266
US$ 200
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 190
US$ 185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Collection Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 180
US$ 174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 555
US$ 331
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 252
US$ 225
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (6,031)
Filter reviews
6,031 results
Traveller rating
4,639
924
306
89
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,639
924
306
89
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily conciergegabi clubramon ramirezmolekids zonedinner reservationsthe grillgabi beachdrinky drinkybedroom master suitevento restaurantconcierge serviceyhi spabubble bathfamily vacationkids poolmain resort
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 6,031 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is a nice resort, but other than housekeeping and concierge positions, most of the tipped jobs are held by men. You can help “tip” the balance by provide by gratuity to some of the many women on staff (hostesses, kids zone, water/coffee staff) etc.

Other thoughts... I would love to see the “reserve” section, including kids zone moved to the beach. The melia app should be functional. I don’t want to need a concierge to make a dinner reservation, get a beach chair etc. This is an artificial “perk.”

Drinks, beach and overall property were beautiful. Kids zone needs more activities (a la club med). Kids don’t need to spend vacation time playing video games. How about a treasure hunt, sand castle competition or soccer game?

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank WorldSkwirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Worldskwirl,

Greetings from Punta Cana.

We regret the situation experienced and the consequent uneasiness during your stay. Direct feedback from our customers, is the most valuable advice we can receive. It allows us to recognize our areas of opportunity and to make appropriate adjustments to our services and processes.

Regards your comments about the activities, we truly lament that we were not able to fulfill your expectations; we greatly appreciate your constructive observations about our activities program and your recommendations for the children’s program. However, your recommendations and suggestions will definitely be evaluated and taken into consideration.

We sincerely wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property and demonstrate our commitment to excellence and quality at all levels of service.

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Everything about the stay was excellent, especially the family concierge, Elaine, who was very helpful and friendly. The only situation that was less than perfect were the transfers arranged by the resort to and from the airport. They were not well organized and were late, especially in taking us back to the airport.

Room Tip: Room was perfect!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank rickfinch43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Rickfinch43,

Receive Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I’m glad to read that our staff is doing what it takes to satisfy our costumers’ needs and wishes. Please be assured that your comment has been transmitted to Elaine. Your opinion is priceless and appreciated.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next stay soon.

Thank you

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We paid 35% off regular rates, and found this to be a good value. If we had paid full price, we would have been dissatisfied. Food was a flat C in our opinion. Would love more variety at the buffets (all three restaurants are the same). Please add GRILLED CHEESE to the kids' menus! The family concierge at the Reserve is worth every penny. Sandra, our family concierge made our stay wonderful. If we did not have her, we would not have been as satisfied with the property. Overall, the staff was very friendly and wonderful. Rooms are a bit banged up, but good size. The beds are lumpy and the music from the main hotel lobby kept us up in the Reserve. Request a pool side Reserve room for a quieter experience. They do not turn on the pool music until noon and then the music is done by 6 pm. The beach was amazing, but the hotel did not clean up the seaweed as much as other nearby properties did.

Room Tip: If staying in the Reserve, request a poolside room for a quieter experience. The main hotel has loud music that disturbs the other rooms until past 11 pm. The pool music is only on from noon until 6 pm and is not obnoxious. Request a family concierge room. Worth every penny.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank amcgannlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Punta Cana.

Concerning the inconveniences originated with the quality of our rooms; it is my duty to inform you that our rooms are subjected to daily revisions from our maintenance and housekeeping departments; however, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you may have encountered; as a service-oriented company, we have a strong commitment to achieve our guests’ satisfaction; thus, your opinion is of the utmost importance to us.

In reference with the Sargazo we continuously carry out a daily beach cleaning program in order to decrease that impact on our coast. It is important to clarify that we cannot assure absence of Sargazo during the visit of the guest.

I would like to point out that our Food and beverage department are working very hard to meet the demands of or clients different tastes; we are rather surprised because the products are selected carefully. Nevertheless, we have taken into consideration all your observations as your opinion is what get us to take the correct measures to avoid any kind of inconveniences in a future.

Warm regards,

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great hotel, we had a wonderful family holiday here. Restaurants were great, pool and beach fantastic. Lovely staff. The highlight for us was the AMAZING kids club and the absolutely wonderful staff there. They absolutely made the holiday for our kids (1.5 years and 3.5 years old). So professional, friendly and fun. Great activities and entertainment and a lovely team. Also a special mention to Stephanie our lovely family concierge who looked after us so well, and to the team at the Passion restaurant who produce absolutely top quality food with impeccable service. The hotel is lovely, albeit in some areas it is showing its age a very little bit. But overall it is still a beautiful place.

Room Tip: family concierge service is great
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarahfromlondon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Sarahfromlondondon27,

When I read such a comment I just thought: mission accomplished! We really work hard to create great memories in our guest’s vacation! But our mission haven’t end as we are already working to make your next stay with us more pleasant than the last one!

I agree! Stephanie is so great she make us proud every day!

Thank you for your comment.

Regards,

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Well, where to begin....first let me say if you have never been to a five star resort you will probably be very happy with this resort. Over all it was not awful, but not it is not "as advertised" My family and I have been to several 5 star resorts/hotels so I will admit our standards are high. Last Spring Break we went to Atlantis and stayed at The Cove Club Level, although we had a few hiccups they were attentive and were very eager to make things right. The service was top notch and accommodations were 5 star. I say all of this for you to understand what we consider 5 star...
Now, to our trip. We had a 2 bedroom suite w family concierge service...this was stated to be the "top notch" at Paradusis. Prior to our trip I contacted the resort to see if I needed to pre-reserve a Cabana for our week (we have traveled enough to realize that at some resorts you must pre book these) I was put in touch w the head of the Family Concierges, he was very friendly over email and explained that there was no need to pre book a Cabana.. he did however send me some "preference sheets" this had questions like...your favorite food, drinks, ask the kids their favorite games, cartoon characters, their favorite food and drink. This of course got the kids very excited that some of their favorite things would be there when we arrived....
Check-in: we were escorted into the lobby area and give a seat, snacks and water...no beer, specialty drink just water. We were told our room was not ready and would not be til 3, no big deal we were early...however we are beginning to realize the language barrier may become an issue. We were never told to go relax hang by the pool grab some lunch....nothing. We figured that out on our own. We also realized that their were two types of people that worked at this resort....the ones that wanted to be there and enjoyed their job and the others that would prefer to be anywhere but helping you. We did get checked into our room and on a positive note it was HUGE!!! We do not like to be all over each other so this was perfect for the 4 of us. Our Family Concierge Stephanie was very friendly showed us around the room and offered. To make dinner reservations for us. The room looks decent on the surface however when you begin to look around the quality is not there, the age of the building is showing. The shower was awful no water pressure and water was always Luke warm never hot. Both toilets stopped working on numerous occasions which my husband fixed on his own. The food was mediocre at best and service the same. And those preference sheets that I mentioned earlier never to be heard or spoken of again not sure why they needed them. Nothing great to mention about the food so I will move on. I do recommend getting a cabana our first cabana was at the beach which was very enjoyable and the other days we had one at the pool which was great also. Throughout our stay we continued to run into employees that were very accommodating and friendly and those who would not be helpful and allowed the language barrier to be an issue. If they did not understand what you were asking for it they would just move on. Very disappointing to say the least for a five-star resort. All and all had our expectations not been so high we may not have been disappointed. However if you were looking for the best of the best this is not it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Trknight72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Punta Cana.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Hotel for your holiday destination, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel.

Our Front desk team has the task to accommodate all our clients’ requests taking into consideration the category reserved and always depending on the hotel availability.

Concerning the inconveniences originated with the quality of our rooms; it is my duty to inform you that our rooms are subjected to daily revisions from our maintenance and housekeeping departments; however, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you may have encountered. It is very important to mention that in Dominican Republic our official language is Spanish; it is understandable that situations involving language barrier can happen. However, Paradisus Punta Cana provides all the necessary tools that allow all our associates to improve themselves in every aspect of their professional life.

As far as your indications about the quality of the food offered in our restaurants, we are rather surprised because carefully selected products compose our gastronomical offer, taking into consideration the diversity of clients who visit our hotel and is according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires. We regret that we couldn’t surprise you with our cuisine.

Once more, received our most sincere apology and it will be our honor to be your host in near future to provide you with the service you deserve.

We remain at your disposal.
Kind Regards,

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews