We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,192)
Filter reviews
6,192 results
Traveller rating
4,742
952
320
98
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,742
952
320
98
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family concierge gabi club ramon ramirez mole kids zone dinner reservations wander roa the grill gabi beach drinky drinky bedroom master suite vento restaurant concierge service yhi spa bubble bath family vacation kids pool
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 6,192 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We spent 6 days in paradise at the Reserve. Of the many all-inclusive resorts we have visited, this is one of the top two. Highly recommend Family Concierge if you can. Ours was Jhordan, and he took care of every detail. He was wonderful. Unlike other resorts, you do not need to make dining reservations before you arrive. We can’t say enough nice things about the poolside staff at the Reserve. Jhonotan, Wander, Wally, Medina, Jose, Reinoso will take great care of your every need! Dry towels and cold drinks when you need them. When our kids got hot in the sun, Jhonotan and others made sure to bring them cold water.

The resort itself is beautiful and no place we went ever felt crowded. A few simple suggestions: bring a sweatshirt (nights are chilly)and some smaller bills for tipping. While it isn’t necessary, it was VERY much appreciated and everyone works very hard so you can enjoy yourself.

As far as dining, there is no shortage of fresh fruits and juices. Many of the restaurants are open air - such a treat! The breakfast and lunch options got a little repetitive. For people looking for healthier options, there are salad (but too often vinegar is the only dressing option), ceviche, and baked options. Our best meals were at the grill (steakhouse) and Aqua (Italian). We had reservations at Passion but were turned away because my husband wasn’t wearing long pants. We wish we had known in advance because he didn’t think to pack anything other than shorts.

It’s the first time we’ve ever seriously considered booking our return trip before leaving!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Oliver1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Oliver1313,

Receive a warm greeting from Paradisus Punta Cana.

It is a pleasure for us to read your experience about your recent stay at our hotel, to know how satisfied you felt with our services, accommodations and treatment encourage us to keep giving the best of us, since it is proof that we are achieving our main goal which is to make the best of all our guests vacations.

I have submitted your comment to all of our collaborators and your recognition was transmitted to Jhordan for have made the best of your experience and for providing you an exceptional service and wonderful stay.

I will definitely wait for your next return toThe Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, which is now, your home in the Caribbean.

Best regards,

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Family of 4 with 2 children ages 10 and 7. We did not book the family concierge initially, but upon check-in we opted to upgrade to it. We are glad we did. Our concierge Elaine Rodriguez made sure that anything we needed was taken care of. She arranged palapas by the pool or beach, reservations at dinner, and typed up and laminated two cards that outlined my wife's food allergies in spanish so that she could give it to the chefs at the different restaurants. The restaurants were very good. We ate at Mole (mexican), Aqua (italian), Bana (habachi), the buffet twice, and then the "bbq" for family concierge. All of the food was good, but Bana was the best. The property is big, so it does take a 7-10 minute walk to get to the beach, or wait for a shuttle but that usually took longer. There was always entertainment at the pool and the resort. Reynally (Sugar Rey) at the Reserve Pool, Mr. Wonderful, and Jose Reynoso all went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Chef Rafael at Bana and Chef Miguel at Gabi Club were amazing with my wife's allergies. Jose at the North Bar also made great drinks. The paddle fitness team was also a great way to not feel too guilty for all of the "drinky, drinky" that is offered. Overall, very pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tenowinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear tenowinski,

Receive sunny greetings from Punta Cana.

On first place we would like to express to you how glad we are to know that we got to exceeded your expectations and have made of your vacations a special time. Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana.

We will congratulate Reynally, Jose Reynoso, Rafael, Miguel and Jose for their excellent treatment and services toward you during your stay.

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with us and for have chosen us as your holiday destination. We hope to have you back with us again.

Best regards.

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My golf group (eight guys) have stayed in various properties in the Punta Cana area over the last dozen years and our sweet spot is the Paradisus Punta Cana. We stay in the Reserve and enjoy the special attention that we receive from the moment that I start making my reservations until the time we check out. Of special note was Jose Adamas, one of the concierge staff that especially stood out. Since I organize everything for my group, it was especially important for me to do as much as possible in the pre-planning phase and to do as little organizing as possible on property so that I could enjoy my vacation maximally once I got down there, Jose took care of golf reservations, dinner reservations, advanced car/bus transportation, etc., very politely and professionally. He returned my calls/emails promptly and delivered on what he said that we would.
If I had to pick a downside for the trip it would be the kids in the Reserve pool. There is a kiddie pool 100 feet from the reserve pool and that is where the kids should be hanging out--not at the Reserve pool. The reason that we book the Reserve area is to get away from the noise and relax and the children make that impossible. I don't think that the parents realize how disruptive their children are to others around them.
Overall great property--we plan to return.

Room Tip: Best option for couple is Royal Service, for guys the Reserve is perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineloversMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus,

We would like to thank you for your preference selecting our The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana for your recent vacations, as well as for letting us know about your experience we us. It is always good to know that our guests are meeting their expectations with us. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion.

And let me inform you that is my joy to learn such a wonderful and motivating feedback about your livied experience.
Stay assured that we will congratulate José for his amazing service and excellent care towards you and your great golf group of friends.

We are going to be waiting for your return!

Warm greetings,

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We are a family of 11 (including 5 children ages 2-10). We have been to the Family Concierge section of Paradisus La Esmeralda, Playa del Carmen, Mexico, three times and have used that as a comparison.

The hotel grounds are incredibly beautiful and meticulously maintained in Punta Cana. The colorful flowers and landscaping set off against the natural mangroves, is a sight to behold
The kids loved the kids club, the zip line and the bungee trampoline. The kids pool was a perfect height for the younger ones as the 3 and 4 year olds were able to stand. If there is any complaint about the hotel property, is that it's just too big. The Reserve is not set on the beach and is a good 10-15 minute walk with kids. The beaches are much nicer than those in Mexico. The sand is white and the water, incredible shades of blue.There are shuttles that run fairly often but it's a bit of an ordeal with kids to pack things up to go to the beach as opposed to just running over for a little while.

The service at the hotel, at almost every level, was disappointing. We were delayed in our arrival by 2 days because of the nor'easter snowstorm. When we arrived, we were not met by our Family Concierge, and nobody explained the amenities to us, nor did they give us any significant information about the hotel. They were mostly interested in making sure that our bill was paid up front. (Ultimately, the hotel was very nice to work with us in dealing with the missed days). We found out 2 days later that we could eat an a la carte breakfast and lunch in one of the restaurants and that there was a section for the Reserve set aside at the beach.

In Mexico, the Family Concierge would find us a few times during each day and make sure that everything was ok. There were nights when she came to walk with the kids to dinner and gave them small presents (which they treasured) when we left. She would make sure that our rooms were filled with our favorite beverages and snacks every day. That wasn't the case in Punta Cana. There were days we never saw the concierge and there just wasn't the same level of involvement. She added little to our experience.

As to the rooms..there were days that the rooms weren't made up until late in the day. Turn down service would often come at 9:00 PM long after the younger kids were asleep. We ran out of towels, We ran out of water. Any beach towel that was taken back to your room would sit there forever. As another review pointed out, for a 5 star resort, there is no excuse for not meeting and exceeding basic services.

The restaurants in Mexico and Punta Cana almost all had the same names. The quality of the food and the level of service in Punta Cana was not very good and not close to meeting that at the Mexican resort. Drinks were often not brought. Water was often not refilled.

The drink service around the pool was excellent!!

All in all, we had a great time despite the issues. I asked the family, including the kids, whether they would want to come back next year, or go back to Mexico. Almost unanimously they said that they would go back to Paradisus La Esmeralda in Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus,

We would like to thank you for your preference selecting our The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana for your recent vacations, as well as for letting us know about your experience. It is always good to know that our guests are meeting their expectations with us.

We will be waiting for your return!

Sincerely,

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a week at this excellent hotel. The whole place is beautiful and very functional. Nice gardens, comfortable rooms and great pools. The beach in front of the hotel is great, also. The staff is very professional and friendly, always there to help you with a smile. Special thank you note to Sandra Cedeño for all her sympathy and efficiency. For sure a place to return again and again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Paulo V,

Recieve a warm greeting from Punta cana!

We appreciate very much your feedback regarding your stay at Paradisus Punta Cana and also thank you for selecting our resort to spend your holidays.

I don’t get tired of saying that our associates are our most important asset in every way and when I read that our guests feel their warmth it makes me feel even more proud. I will share your kind words with Sandra Cedeño for their amazing job.

For us will be a pleasure to receive you once again to provide you an unforgetable and phenomenal stay.

Cordially,

Rafael Megias
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews