We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understand the negative, but read on...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oshawa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Understand the negative, but read on...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Having stayed in Punta Cana 4 times at over 4 star hotels we can say this is not a bad choice for your vacation. All resorts come with some issue (it's too big, food can be an issue, staff are not pleasant etc).

Here is our take on Grand Palladium Bavaro

Check in:

Left from Toronto on a 6:15am flight and arrived approx 11:30, flew with Air Transat had the Imperial Deluxe room booked.

The room(s)

Upon arrival we checked in and was given our room #, but the check in was not until 3pm and was told to come back then. They tagged and watched your luggage so it was ok, but you are not really settled until you get your room. We stayed in the lobby area as it was raining, had fun and some drinks and went back to the front desk at 3, 4pm... to be told it will be ready soon and someone will come and get us. That never happened. Finally went back to the front desk and it was ready around 4:30.

We initially had room 105 6 or 7, walked in and the ceiling was mouldy, and 2 double beds when a king was requested. Phoned reception and in a short time someone came to put us in room 1058 across the hall. It was ok but not really that nice. The bathroom turned out to be a huge issue as the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. Went to the front desk and were told to come back the next day. Did that at around noon and we told them we wanted another room. It took a while and alot of wondering what was going on but we were upgraded to a romance suite very close to the beach that was awesome. (Villa 62, room 1623). The room had a great bed, very nice and clean, and the toilet floor area was heated!) The romance suites have a full bath, then an outdoor shower and hammock - have never seen this before and it was a nice touch. Beer and water were filled daily and it did come with housecoats and slippers.

For everyone that doesn't like their room, complain enough to get what you would like, they were accomodating (eventually)

There were no bugs in any rooms that I could see.

Food:

If you complain about the food here you are nuts! (at least at the buffet). The al a cartes could be different and we cannot comment on this as we only went to the brazillan which was good. You do have to get there early (530) to get the japanese, but we walked right in at the brazillian.
The buffet was excellent with a different theme every night and lots of selection. The breakfast omellettes (at the American Station) were excellent. The lunch at the beach (at the snack bar and the buffet on the Bavaro side were really good)

The beach:
Is awesome as usual, you don't get much better than Punta Cana...but we did take a walk past the markets and the beach there is crap...didn't know it could be so bad in PC. So basically don't go past the markets (going right) and going left is all good.

The grounds:
Are big, but not as big as I expected, the trains are sporadic and not really reliable so if you are not into walking a bit this could be a problem. The grounds walking down from Villa 5 are not that nice but the rest of the resort was really nice. The sidewalk is slippery if you have wet feet, but that is like all resorts.

Entertainment/Bars
The shows were good, nice venue. Hemmingways was ok, did have premium drinks but kind of boring from what I could see. The disco was fun and they had the animation team in there on night that made it alot of fun. No smoking in the disco and the shows which was good.

The staff:
Are fantastic, from the front desk, (although there were issues with the room they did get fixed within 24 hours), the beach bars, the other bars, buffets, and the animation team - all really friendly and were great with English.

Overall:
Would we go back? Probably not, but not because it isn't nice...just because you generally want to try different places.

Check out the Saona Island (do the day trip)...was fantastic. It was a 2 hour bus ride there, then a speed boat to the island, 2 hours at the island with lunch and drinks, then a 1.5 hour catamaran back to the bus. There was lots to see on the bus ride, (and a shopping stop on the way).

You won't be disappointed here. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy and Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,510
    1,850
    786
    358
    328
See reviews for
2,906
3,166
92
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NW Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My sister and I stayed a week Feb 22-29 2012. Booked with Air Transat, Imperial Club Jr. Suites Bavaro. Everything from check in to check out was great. We were met with cold drinks and cold clothes and thanks to Anna who checked us in and helped us througout our stay. We had access to the Palladium Bavaro, Punta Cana and Turquesa resorts - the complex is huge! Always something to do. The room was spacious and kept very clean. There were buffets at the lobby, at the beach and at one of the pools - always a lot and good variety of food served at the appropriate temperatures! the pools were beautiful with swim up bars, one of the pools on the Punta Cana resort had a wonderful separate childrens pool and play area. In addition there were snack and drink bars on the beach. Beach was outstanding! You can be out in the sun or in the shade of palapas or the beautiful palm trees. It was just a short walk up the beach to get to the village where you could visit the local shops - you must be prepared to bargain for you purchases. We enjoyed the lobby bar, Hemingway bar where you can get some great cocktails. There was a variety of ala cartes which you could make reservations at. If you did not make reservation you could often get in anyway especially if you went between 6 and 7:00. There was no shortage of finding places to get something to eat or drink. On site is also a disco for teens, a disco for adults, two entertainment theatres and a fantastic sport outdoor sport complex - we saw two soccer fields, two basketball courts, mini golf course, archery field, about 4 ping pong areas and 10 or more tennis courts. there is also a casino but can't comment on that as we did not go to it. Every evening there was entertainment at the two theatres - we especially enjoyed the Michael Jackson night and the circus. At first we were overwhelmed by the size and seemed to do a lot of walking but once we caught on to the ring road and how the paths worked it really wasn't long walks to get where we were going. Also a trolley runs around the ring road that encircles the entire complex that you can get on and off close to where you want to go. Special thanks to Richard, our concierge. He was very friendly and accomodating to us during our stay. Also to Henry at the pool towel exchange. We found all the staff friendly and helpful regardless if you tipped them or not. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The washrooms, even the ones by the beach were well looked after. We will definately go back to this resort and reccomend this to our family and friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in 35 - closer to the lobby and farther from the ocean - a nice quiet area which we liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ManyanaEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am glad to read about all the positive experiences you had during your stay, your positive comments are greatly appreciated. I am pleased to know you loved the variety of food, the pools, our outstanding beach, and the entertainment among the other great aspects of our Resort.It will be a pleasure for us to accomodate you in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

WE, 2 couples from Toronto, went here Feb 14-21, 2012 with Air Transit, Imperial Club. We had read good and bad reviews before we went. The flight was good, transfer, check-in was good, rooms not ready at 2:30pm, but we knew that before we arrived. Got wristbands, went for lunch, came back got rooms, went made dinner reservations for 6 out 7 nights.... Restraunts were all good, tried 6 a la cartes, Japanese best, Mexican worst. Buffet good for breakfast, hamburgs on beach for lunch.
We booked Bavaro, got deluxe rooms in Punta Cana, they were nice, but complained, got moved at end of trip and up-graded to Romance Suite on beach, awesome.....and got free massages for our troubles. Take all reviews you read with a grain of salt. We felt we got what we paid for, and more and plan to go again next year.
Hemingways bar was good for international drinks, so were all 3 lobby bars.....
Shows are so so, beach is awesome, no problem getting chairs at beach, pool of course all chairs booked by 7am.....Met some really nice people from Winnipeg and somewhere in the US......no problems with front desk, other than they are slow to help you, but with patience it gets done....I would recommend this hotel for sure....Thanks to Rien at Trip Central, Jimmie, Louis, Geraldine at the front desk, Jose the bellboy, and the Hotel Manager for making our visit for our 50th birthday the best trip to Punta Cana ever.......,

Room Tip: We read all room reviews, so when we arrived and saw our room on map, we immediately asked to be mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TangoMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Writer:

Thank you very much for your sincerity, and to take the time to write your experience. We are really happy to know that we fulfilled your expectations, despite the inconvenien you sufferet.

I am happy to know that you understand our effort to try to satisfy..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

know people don't usually take bad reviews all that seriously because of ideas like "you can't please everyone", "some people are picky", "it's different in these countries"; however, I really hope you decide not to go here and chose another resort. If you're paying money on vacation don't waste it to go to these chains.

ROOMS
When we got there, our rooms had been given away. We had asked for all together(3 rooms) not on the first floor. All three of our rooms were on the first floor, none together. We figured we'd spend the night there and deal with it in the morning. However, one of the couple's we were with found cockroaches in their bedroom. So we went to the front desk at 11pm to try and change rooms. He kept lying to us saying he had nothing, until finally 2 hours later he told us he would switch us rooms. We got downgraded for the night, and one bedroom was still on the first floor. The next day they told us they would upgrade us all and put us together so just to come back at 10am. We went to the front desk at least 5 times and they kept pushing the time on us. Finally we had three rooms on a non-first floor level. They were nothing special. All of our comforters had stains on them so we took it off the bed and just used the white linen. The last day, my friend saw a cockroach on her wall, she tried to kill it and it ran in the wall (gross). I saw cockroach but i can't say it was for sure that, it was just big and cockroach-like. THE FRONT DESK SUCKS AT ANSWERING COMPLAINTS

FOOD
I've stayed at many resorts before, some had worst reviews than this place and they were wayy better. The buffet here was way better than the à la cartes (i never thought i would ever say that). All the à la cartes sucked (especially the italian), except for the Japanese. The food at the Japanese wasn't all that thrilling, it was just the show the cooks put on made it all the better. They served shrimp that wasn't properly cooked (now that I think of it, my fault for eating it without asking it be cooked more) and ended up with food poisoning that night and following day. We went for the new years eve gala, it's not like any other resort: no one dresses up for it, they do have nice decorations and different foods - but this is where we got food poisoning so be cautious.

BEACH
Beach is awesome! I love the beach and punta cana has some good ones. However, that's not enough when you go on vacation cause there are a lot of places with great beaches and great resorts - this isnt one of them.

ENTERTAINMENT
During the day there's the typical animation team pumping up people on the beach and pool to play bingo, dance, games etc. At night it was NON-EXISTENT. We tried at least three times to watch one of their evening shows and they were awffulll. I know it's not the same caliber as we have, but honestly we couldn't even stay for an entire show. There is a disco there, and it's not bad. We are all in our mid and late 20s and had a time there on one night.

IMPERIAL CLUB
DON'T PAY FOR IT. It actually does not exist. You won't get anything they advertise. There is a concierge to make the reservations for dinner and that's about it. But everyone at the Bavaro uses this concierge.

RESORT
IS HUGE! we spend a week there and still had no idea how to get anywhere. The three resorts are intertwined so you end up on another resort at another lobby without even knowing it. We laughed about it most of the time, but expect to walk and get lost lots.

DRINKS
Same as every resort. You'll find the drinks you like and get hooked on and the ones you know to pass on after the first few days. They do have a nice lounge/bar that has all the premium drinks and we had fun going there after dinner.

Overall, I really hope you decide to chose another resort. We've been on many resorts and it was by far the worst trip of my life. Don't chance having the worst trip of your life when you can find another resort for the same amount of money. Luckily for us, Transat Holidays offered our group a $100 dollar voucher each for our next travel with Transat. I can guarantee you this will not be used.

DON'T DO IT!

Room Tip: a tip to choose a good room - stay in a room at another resort. don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kelly27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time out to leave your review. We are sorry for not being able to fulfill your request to be accomodated in adjoined rooms in second floor. Unfortunatelly requests are not guaranteed and are based on valailability on arrival date. We are happy to know that finally our reception staff could find you a solution.
About the a la carte restaurants, we are sorry if you did not enjoyed any of them specially when we have a variety of 8 different restaurants within the Resort.
It is not right that all the Palladium guest can use the Concierge as he is only available for VAT Imperial Club members assiting them for making reservations for the a la carte restaurants, internet acces tickets and any help they can need.
It is true that it is a huge Resort and you can enjoy the facilities and services of 3 hotels for the price of one...
It would be nice if we could welcome you back in the future in order you can change you mind about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had booked with Imperial Club a Jr. Suite with 2 beds. Upon arriving they sent us to a sub-standard room which was in a dark corner and were told that we would not have a key for a day or so. Upon seeing the room we immediately said that is was not what we had paid for and had to go back to the lobby and after explaining that the guy at the desk did not even read our reservation and sent us to the wrong room, the Manaager was very good and provided us with the room we had booked, a Jr. Suite with 2 beds and room keys, and even phoned to make sure that the room was fine. But we did encounter a few problems: The jacuzzi which was beautiful and big, really was for show only, because when we tried to fill it with water only a trickle came out of the tap - it would take 5 hours to fill and even then there was no hot water. So we never did get to use it. Parts of the shower fell off, but was fixed when asked. Bathrobes were provided but they did not come with belts (a bit useless if you ask me). Also if you want to plug in anything you need a converter. Anyway if one does not mind some of these little things the resort itself is absolutely beautiful, well kept grounds, kept very clean, both the grounds and the rooms were cleaned constantly, even scubbing the pool area at night. We were in Villa 21 which was close to the beach, the Arriceffe for lunch and the pool, as well as Hemingways Lounge where they served international drinks. The beach was fantastic and the ocean very safe, no undercurrent to speak of. We found that most people that worked there friendly but some were not. Some lazy ones. By the way the Casino is a total rip-off and no fun at all.
You have to go to the teller everytime you move to another machine and if you happen to have for example $20.98 they only give you the $20. and keep the 98 cents because they say they don't give out change. To me that is stealing. Very old machines.

Room Tip: Villa 21 was a great location, not noisy and close to everything. Because the resort is so big it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to know about your experience, this will help us to improve and continue working with power.

We hope to see you soon again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
25.6 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
62.0 km away
Casa de Campo
Casa de Campo
#1 of 12 in La Romana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
22.0 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.7 km away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,907 - ₹ 46,349
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Bavaro (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Bavaro Hotel
Grand Palladium Bavaro Punta Cana
Grand Bavaro Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort Spa
Punta Cana Palladium
Punta Cana Grand Palladium
Palladium Punta Cana
Palladium Bavaro
Fiesta Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing