We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs training at this Salamander-managed luxury resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
Ranked #90 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent five days over Christmas at this new development, which was still under construction. This probably accounts for the ghost-town feel. The apartment we had was ample and nicely decorated, and the common areas are beautiful. But with a managing firm like Salamander, one would also expect top-of-the-line service. The staff tries, but falls short. Some highlights: a surly young man at the registration desk when we arrived (by contrast, the women at the desk were friendly and nice); a too-friendly golf-cart driver who hugged and kissed my startled mother; housekeeping staff that was either annoyingly insistent after we declined service or would forget to replace the bottled water; telephone lines that were unreliable (even within the compound), making guests wait an hour to check out. The staff needs more training to bring it to the full 5-star level that this place seems to promise.

Room Tip: Kitchens lack a microwave; bring your own corkscrew; bring your own bottled water (they give you onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FallsChurch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Fishing Lodge, Cap Cana is stunningly beautiful! My husband and I arrived with 4 of our friends for a 5 day reprieve. We were given a suite large enough for the six of us overlooking one of the the pools, along with a fully inclusive package. The suite was wonderful, it had all the amenities we needed! We were helped at the front desk by Marsi and Andia - both did a nice job. We learned to call for the shuttle ahead of time, as the first day we waited quite a bit. After that it was there as we needed when called ahead. The Bistro was the open restaurant (as there were not many guests). It was wonderful, the food was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the Red Snapper, Lobster bisque and the shrimp coctail. The staff there were doting and fun. We enjoyed Juan Carlos (JC) with his sense of humor, Teo did a nice job, and my personal favorite wait staff was Santo! He was attentive and enjoyable! At the tiki bar, Willy was helpful in blending up fabulous tropical drinks. We were glad to have brought a group of friends to enjoy the quiet resort with! All in all, this was a very relaxing vacation at a beautiful resort!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I recommend not taking the all-inclusive package because only one restaurant is open. We had booked the room-only so we spent at least 2 days at their sister property, the Sanctuary. That resort , which has beach and pools, was breathtaking. Plus there was always a choice of restaurants at the Sanctuary. Fantastic food in beautiful ambience and surprisingly affordable.
The staff at the Fishing Lodge were very nice and helpful but it was too quiet for my 15-year old daughter.
One tip to save money is to ask the staff and shuttle to take you to the supermercado on the first day to buy your groceries. We bought breakfast supplies and snacks for our week's stay since the rooms all come equipped with very nice kitchenettes.

Room Tip: Ours had a sunny balcony. Many of them have covered balconies so you have a choice when you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleVW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Fishing Lodge for a week and were very impressed.
I loved the Villa (#2012), which was very nicely decorated and well kept.
I don't have anything negative to say.

Cap Cana is beautiful, safe and not crowded, oh and Gated!

Also try to rent a car, restaurants at the punta cana village is great!

Would recommend a TV in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Villa 2012!!! or room near the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsaNorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Fishing Lodge Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for choosing Fishing Lodge for you recent vacation week.
Your review and your comments on our accommodation’s and overall facilities are very important to us. The allow us to continue our efforts to convert Fishing Lodge into the jewel that we envision.

We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again soon at Fishing Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

As with previous posts, this resort is very new and frankly, not entirely open; perhaps 45-50% open. I knew this going per other's reviews so I was not surprised. My husband and I were looking for a laid back low key vacation anyway. There were 20 of 300+ rooms booked. The property is beautiful and I believe will top it's sister property The Sanctuary when at full tilt. The property is gorgeous, has many beautiful and operational pools. The rooms/suites are lovely with full kitchens (beds a bit stiff). The setting is that of a town square with a marina. None of the store fronts are open yet and only 1 of the 4 restaurants were open at any given time. The saving grace of the week is that by doing the all inclusive option you have full reciprocity at the Sanctuary's restaurants and bars and beach area. I am not a big all inclusive person, but will say, the food wasn't bad. We are foodies and while I was not blown away by anything, the food ranged from good to very good with breakfast being the best. The drinks tend to all be VERY sweet. The best drink option is a bottled beer or fresh squeezed orange juice and vodka (they tend to try to keep putting the concentrate into the drinks, ask for fresh). There is house wine which is ok and a wine list that is non inclusive which is pretty decent.

Now the important part. The Fishing Lodge has an EXCELLENT staff. Our #1 man JUAN ANTONIO is a rock star (Management take note) and should be managing the place, his attention to detail and willingness to make sure everything is done right is above and beyond any service we've received anywhere in the world, and it is genuine, as was with ANGEL (makes a great cappuccino), YIELE (Jilly) at the Bistro is also very sharp at managing the guests needs. CHRISTIAN who was new when we arrived went out of his way to know everything so he would get it just right, he will also sing you some Lionel Richie.."Hello". MANUEL mixed a great drink in the Grille (management please have him train the others at the other bars) and THEO in the Bistro was also friendly and outgoing. JOSE will take super care of you at the front desk and SALLe with help with anything you might need with bags, rides, etc. Don't forget to say hi to NATALIE in the Bistro or Grille with the Beautiful Tiger eyes. Everyone is truly there to make sure you are happy.

I look forward to seeing where this resort goes in the next year.

Room Tip: Join iprefer for free, you will get a free room upgrade and some other amenities upon arrival if ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Fishing Lodge Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

We appreciate your comment on your stay at Fishing Lodge. Thank you for taking your time to review your stay. It is an honor to see that we have exceeded your expectations and that this has been a memorable stay for you and your husband.

Thank you for mentioning Juan Antonio, Angel, Yiele, Christian, Manuel, Theo, Jose and Natalie. We have shared this comment with them and they are all very excited to have been part of your wonderful vacation.

Again, Thank you very much for your comment! We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again at Fishing Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
0.4 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,936 reviews
4.2 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#35 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,881 reviews
60.6 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.2 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,334 reviews
19.2 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
38.6 km away
CHIC by Royalton Luxury Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishing Lodge Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishing Lodge Cap Cana

Address: Calle Paseo de los Pescadores, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 6,645 - ₹ 14,985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport, in the largest and most luxurious Marina of the Caribbean, and surrounded by the famous beaches of white sand of Punta Cana and Cap Cana, Marina Sands is an impressive luxury resort of 299 suites of different and generous dimensions, decorated with top quality materials and furniture designed in true Mediterranean style.Five thematic restaurants, five bars, four swimming pools, a Dominican style chapel for weddings and mass, a state of the art fitness center, commercial boulevard with shops and boutiques, restaurants and bars, disco and set of activities and exclusive services that will satisfy even the most demanding.Marina Sands guests can take advantage of the magnificent Punta Espada Golf Club, regarded as the best Caribbean Golf course in Mexico and the Caribbean, as well as other top courses in the area. Also available are aquatic activities, animation, children's activities and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fishing Lodge Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing