We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,950)
Filter reviews
14,950 results
Traveller rating
10,020
3,096
1,063
451
320
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,020
3,096
1,063
451
320
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cascade pool the grill lobster chez isabelle our honeymoon flavor market martini bar las olas swim up bar horseback riding sax player french restaurant bug spray red flag greeted with champagne garden view other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 14,950 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We have been to Playa Mujeres and Riviera Cancun and both were wonderful for different reasons. EPM is the clear service winner, we loved the beach at ERC but our recent visit to EPC left us wanting to go back to the Dominican for sure next time. We stayed in a base Excellence Club Junior Suite and our request to be in building 1 overlooking the beautiful cascading pool was granted. Check-in was flawless and although our room wasn't ready, it gave us a chance to grab lunch at the Kitchen Table before being shown to our room. Suite 1104 was great; it was clean and fresh with a nice view and came with a dehumidifier which I emptied close to ten times during the week (so it was doing its job). The bed was comfy and the washroom was well set-up. The furnishings weren't luxurious as at EPM but it was very nice. I had let them know it was our wedding anniversary and they put a banner on the door, gave us champagne and more often than not, we had beautiful towel art with flowers every day. We had access to top-shelf liquor and our mini-fridge was stocked each day. The daily cleaning and turn-down service was consistently excellent.

The property itself is immaculate with well-maintained gardens due to the hard work of the staff. We loved the wide orientation of the property such that everywhere you went, you had a view of the ocean and could hear that intoxicating surf crash to the shore. It was nice to walk the length of the property on the boardwalk. The EC beach was nice and seemed to be more clear of sea-grass than the non-EC side. It was easy each morning to find a spot to set-up thanks to Club Concierge Ines - she was great! The surf is rough and the red flag was out each day as the undertow is very strong but we did enjoy wading out and jumping the waves from time to time. We loved the chlorophyll water each morning at the EC beach hut - it was a great way to re-hydrate after a day of excess.

The food was very good. We had a great meal at Chez Isabelle for our special anniversary dinner and a mediocre-ish one there our last night. We had a great dinner at the Magna Club Restaurant the first night and one that was not as good later on. We loved our morning breakfasts on the Magna terrace - this alone was worth the price of Club. We had nice dinners at The Grill, Lobster House and Agave although at the Mexican restaurant we found ourselves longing for the salsa and guacamole from the Mexican Excellence locations. It should be easy enough to copy the recipes from there.

One other attraction at EPC that we absolutely loved was the eco-park with all sorts of wildlife (mostly of the bird variety) running around begging to be fed the bread that the resort thoughtfully placed in bins around the property. We fell in love with the two parrots and were brave enough to let the female jump onto our arms when she was in the mood. Be warned though, don't wear anything shiny or have a shirt with buttons if she is close. She ate the date-time knob off of my watch and stole a button off of my shirt - all my fault as it is clearly marked that she has a shiny object fetish. The eco-park is a feature that neither of the Mexican resorts have.

Finally, the people and the staff were phenomenal. We met a great family from Montreal and shared two dinners together. The staff were so accommodating and friendly. There are so many that made impressions but a special shout out is in order for Adan at Magna who made our mornings start off in such a happy, positive way, Richard at Oregano and Chez Isabelle, who could instantly brighten any mood with his smile and Pedro, the Spanish intern at Los Olas who was super-friendly and willing to serve at all times.

There is always room for improvement but I don't understand how anyone could give this place a negative review. I guess some people cannot be satisfied no matter what. We hope to be back soon and highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a classy, affordable adult AI in the Caribbean region.

Room tip: Suite 1104 overlooking the cascading pool was perfect; it had a beautiful view and was close to everything!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank OttawaBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your recent getaway at Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are very glad to hear from you that we are able to meet your expectations in all the areas, which are carefully taken care of. It is a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us thanks to the personal touches and the outstanding service provided by our lovely staff, who goes above and beyond to make you feel pampered and comfortable all the time since their attitude is intended to exceed the expectations of all our guests and provide them with a memorable guest experience. They are very passionate about their job and they do all their best. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay due to the turndown service and the high-quality of food & drinks encountered at any restaurant you attended.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We stayed at Excellence Punta Cana from 20-27 Oct and were very pleased with the resort. We have stayed previously at Excellence Playa Mujeres and I would rate Punta Cana a little higher. The layout of the resort is fantastic. It runs parallel to the beach so you never feel like you are not on the ocean. We sat at the beach beds under the palapa every day and were steps away from the beach and pool. The beach is big and nice. As others have stated, the water can get a little rough and the current is strong but still enjoyable. They did a great job keeping the beach clean.

The food and entertainment were definitely better at Punta Cana as well. We ate in most of the restaurants and were pleased with all of them. The staff is amazing and they do a great job attending to your needs. Danny took great care of our group.

We stayed in room 7010, a junior swim up and it was perfect. We could see the ocean from our balcony and were 100 feet from our chairs on the beach.

If I had one complaint, it would be the quality of wine and beer. There is basically only one beer throughout the resort (Presidente), and it is awful. The wine included with the dinner is worse than the beer. I am not a wine snob but do like a decent wine with dinner. This stuff is not drinkable. This resort is way too nice for them not to have a few more options for beer and wine. I understand they aren't going to have a huge selection but they really need a few decent options. The liquor for drinks was fine, but I would recommend asking for particular brands or they will pour the generic liquor and it's not very good. They did use the better liquors when we asked and the drinks were good.

Overall, a great trip. We will definitely be back. Please get better wine and beer!

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank pinseekers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana to vacation and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are very glad to hear from you that our well-maintained facilities, good food quality served, and above all the service provided by our amazing and attentive staff members, what made your stay unforgettable. However, we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding the limited wine and beer selection and its low quality. Having read some recent reviews pointing out this weakness, please, rest assured we have already addressed this issue to the correct department in order to the food and beverage area work accordingly.

we definitely appreciate your understanding with regard to our staff members do all their best in order to remove the seaweed on a daily basis, therefore they work in vain because it has taken us by surprise how much we have had this year.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

This was my first visit to the Dominican Republic and I was slightly sceptical. However, I need not have worried as our stay at Excellence Punta Cana was everything you would expect from a first class establishment. The main reception has a colonial feel with the seating, fountains and palms creating a very relaxed ambiance.
We had a suite which was spacious and comfortable with a fully stocked mini bar, plenty of toiletries and piles of luxurious towels - replenished daily.
There are 7 speciality restaurants which provided delicious food (the French was exceptional) with excellent service. One note of caution is that the dress code is strictly maintained so no shorts in all but the outdoor restaurants in the evenings. The buffet was open for breakfast and lunch and was very good offering a wide variety of food.
There is a very high staff to guest ratio providing great customer service without it being intrusive.
The hotel provides daily entertainment and activities around the pool if you want to join in, but there is plenty of space to escape to if this isn’t your bag!
Sun beds, parasols and beach towels are plentiful and it is idyllic just relaxing in the sun on a spotless beach staring out to the ocean with its waves crashing along the shore drinking a cocktail....there is a ready supply of drinks available at the bars or from the waiters. Also impressive is that drinks aren't just cheap local spirits but branded options as well.
My only gripe concerns the Evening Entertainment! As the theatre area is in the middle of the complex, it is difficult to avoid if you didn’t want to watch. A previous reviewer has compared the entertainment to Butlins (this will only mean something to UK readers), but I think that is unfair on Butlins. The dancers were out of time, some looked like they were ‘going through the motions’ and lacked that added umph! Saying that, I think we were in the minority as most guests seemed to enjoy it. A notable exception was the circus show which was excellent.
I would definitely recommend the Excellence Punta Cana to anyone wanting a relaxing time.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robnh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Robin,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana to vacation and for taking the time to share this review with other travelers.

we are glad to read that you enjoyed our well-maintained grounds and facilities, the delicious food we serve at any restaurant you encountered with the outstanding service provided.

Regarding the entertainment, we would like to mention that the facts you mentioned are certainly not the standards which our guests accustomed to since Excellence Punta Cana has a good entertainment team that offers a wide range of leisure activities in order to suit all our guests’ tastes and strives hard to entertain our guests to have as much fun as possible, just as the attitude of all our colleagues is intended to exceed the expectations of all our guests and provide them with a service as much personalized as possible.

We highly appreciate you recommend Excellence Punta Cana with the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We celebrated my B-Day at this beautiful resort. We were greeted by wonderful staff, that handed us wash clothes and champagne. We were taken to the Club consiege who escorted us to our amazing room. At the club level you get to enjoy a private area for your meals. We had breakfast at this venue every morning. We got to know the wonderful staff. They greeted us like we were family and treated us with exceptional service. All the many restaurants at this resort was great. along with their wonderful staff. The evenings were fun with wonderful shows. We danced every night
to great music. It felt like a party, with the activity staff teaching us the dances.
They made sure that everyone could participate, by having their great staff dancing with us. My B-Day celebration was one I will never forget. During breakfast the staff sand to me and served me a b-date cake. When we got to our room, there was a bottle of champagne waiting along with another cake. Dinner at the French restaurant
they set up a special table with baloons and a special bottle of chamagne. The food was amazing. At the end of dinner another song for me and more birthday cake.
During the day we used the beautiful pool near our room. We went to the amazing
beach that was like sitting in paradise. The day we had to leave everyone called me their Abuela. It made us feel like they were my family. We will return for sure. The other guests we met . many from England and Canada, also said they loved excellence. What a perfect nmae for such a excellent place.

Room tip: all rooms are great
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank missyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana to celebrate your birthday and for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers.

We are very delighted to read that we were able to blow you away due to the lavish food we serve at all the restaurants, the engaging shows and entertainment provided, and the personal touches and impeccable service provided by our attentive staff.

We really appreciate your detailed feedback. It means so much when it comes from a guest. At Excellence Punta Cana, we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction, in order to have happy clients with kind words for our work.

It has been a pleasure hosting you as our guest and hearing from you that you will definitely be back again. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

The 411 version:
A beautiful and well maintained property with, for the most part, staff that will go out of their way to help you and try and resolve issues as best they can. But this place is a university case-study in contradictions. Senior management seems inattentive to multiple and repeated issues flagged by visitors in TripAdvisor reviews over the past months including haphazard food quality and temperature, irritatingly slow service in many venues, and persistent issues around housekeeping. This could be a 5-star property/experience, but much work and change is needed.

Long version:
We are two couples that traveled at the end of October into early November and upgraded on site to better Excellence club rooms (1 plunge pool, 1 swim-up pool) for one week of R&R. The Excellence pool was invaded by a very loud group of 12, mid-west Ricki Bobbi-types, spewing profanities each day, blasting their own music for hours at a time for making it impossible to enjoy our balcony or plunge pool. Our friends had similar experiences in their dual swim-up/infinity pools a few late afternoons. On-site staff did nothing and multiple complaints day-after-day to the Excellence Club hosts and a request for the GM of the property to intervene went unanswered. We paid top dollar for an adults-only experience, sadly this group had the collective maturity or emotional awareness of a nine-year old and this is likely insulting to most nine-year olds. At the end of our vacay during our last dinner, management finally showed up after I completed a two question phone survey from the front desk giving the resort a 3 out of 5 rating. They offered us some compensation with two free nights on a future stay but with conditions and strings attached. Nonetheless, thanks to Antonio for his attention and helping us stay in a nice room as our return home flight was delayed for six hours.

Food quality, service cadence and cleanliness is hit and miss across the property. Ordering the same thing off the same menu in the same restaurant usually yields a different result. On the positive side, we had good experiences at Spice for dinner, Oregano the Italian resto for lunch and dinner and the Lobster House for breakfast. I suggest folks avoid the Magna club for breakfast as it is a bureaucratic paperwork effort to get seated (even when the patio is almost empty) and the service is a slothful eternity to finish breakfast. While the buffet offers good choice it also really speaks to the lack of attention to detail … at the busiest times they don’t even wipe down tables or placemats and the automatic doors have an annoying squeal on each opening, somebody get some WD-40!

The steak house is poorly laid out, can get very loud if they seat groups of 8 or more and they couldn’t fathom the concept of a three-course meal, instead we received cold and hot courses together before our main. Chez Isabella was warm food and underwhelming and does not compare to the 1st class experience at Chez Isabella, Playa Mujeres in Mexico. And let’s not forget the house wine, Gato Negro (red and white) is undrinkable and should only be used as windshield washer. We have received better table wine at 4-star Cuban or downscale Mexican resorts and the wine list on site is way too overpriced and limited. Las Olas on the beach serves warm and not memorable snack food during the day and the sports bar is good to catch a game with some munchies and beers. Throughout the resort, you can usually find premium liquors but most cocktails are made from pre-mix concoctions that are way too sugary. Last point on food: our three room service experiences were very good, food was plentiful, hot, as ordered and within the time limits they estimated (usually 20 to 25 mins not 30 to 40 as advised).

Housekeeping is another adventure. To be fair to their staff, rooms come equipped with green and red lights you control internally to signal your wish for maid service so this can be part of the confusion for some guests. But I received a call one day from a supervisor late-afternoon (after requesting our room be cleaned before dinner since we were out all day and it still hadn’t been done) that I needed to turn my red light off to which I told the nice woman that I was in my room, looking at my green indicator light and then checked outside to say it was also green and I could send a picture to her if she would like. Our friends arrived to their room on day one which looked pristine only to find the bed full of sand and their evening turn down service, like ours, a rarity … missed several times over seven days.

Other issues include having to constantly ask for items to be replaced (shampoo, soap, etc) and for our room service box to be emptied a few hours after we had finished our meal so ants and other bugs don’t gather. Staff on the beach and pools need to be dedicated not combined as beach service for drinks was missing for an hour at a time. The attitude from hostesses at several restaurants when you show up just minutes after your pager vibrates needs to disappear. And the smoking options everywhere, ah no, time to put the lit cancer stick folks in secluded areas so they don’t ruin the air for others.

The spa and shops experience is average to good, but nothing to write home about, so I won’t. The shows each night are hit and miss but the dancers and singers work hard and are talented. We did the Disco one night after fun line dancing (all types of genres) in the lobby by the Martini bar but left two minutes later – note to Mr. DJ play modern music regardless of the age of the patrons.

This property is simply not on par with other Excellence properties in other parts of the Caribbean so consider yourself warned if you go and they need to turn the Excellence Club lounge into a brighter place with a bartender at all times.

To finish on a positive note, the front-line staff around the resort work hard and the bartenders at Magna are great. Hendricks at the beach was amazing each morning. Beach and pool bar staff like Daniel, Hector, Edgar and John were great. Other folks include Edwin at the Oregano bar (who found me a decent Merlot from Chile), Johnny in the Italian and Lobster House, and a big shout out to all the front desk reception guys for my daily pilgrimage to break 20s into 1s for tips. The coffee bar and pastry shop is also very good.

Am willing to discuss these issues with management further should they require clarification.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Walter,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We are very disappointed to read that Excellence Punta Cana is not on par with other Excellence properties you have experienced in the past.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to better understand the areas where we can improve in order to provide the service our guest our accustomed to. Therefore, we are sorry to know that there is no consistency in the food and beverage area but having read some recent reviews talking about these issues, we are fully aware that the food quality is one of the major important aspects for our guests to make feel them comfortable. Our chefs are passionate about taking care of every single detail and they personalize our service and cuisine to suit the different tastes and preferences of all our guests and above all, surpass their expectations. Please, rest assure our Food and Breakfast Manager and our Executive Chef will receive your feedback and they will work accordingly to guarantee our guests the highest quality they deserve.

We would like to mention that cleanliness is also a major important aspect for our guest to make feel them comfortable in our hotel since Excellence Group is recognized for achieving superior quality in these aspects, just as many other attributes that enable us to provide the supreme Luxury all-inclusive experience. However, we will address your opinion to the correct department to improve our service to make sure this is not happening again.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future and reinstate your confidence in our services. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews