We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Stay at Catalonia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #56 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couples Stay at Catalonia”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Staff - The Staff here is very helpful and for the most part very pleasant. I do recommend tipping at the bars and restaurants - they will remember you and provide even better service.

Food - My least favorite bar. We stuck to the buffet for most of our trip and it was mediocre at best and inedible at worst. Mikado Sushi and Mariachi Mexican were the only restaurants we enjoyed, along with the free Crepe shop in the shopping plaza. Stick to the food items that you watch a chef prepare during your meals (pasta, omelettes, grilled items) and you should be fine.

Pool - Beautiful and usually pretty quiet until noon. The water is nice and there are plenty of places to lay down. The pool bar is easy to access and provides good service.

Beach - Also very nice, but you have to get there between 8 and 9 am in order to get a spot closer to the water, but you can get a tan no matter where you go.

Excursions - We read that the guys walking around the pool and beach trying to get you to buy excursions do not have insurance but are cheaper (1/2 to 2/3 the price of the Scuba Aquatics guys, who seem to have a more legit operation going on).

Room - Mini bar stocked with soda, beer and water is refilled every time the maid comes, leave 5$ the first time before your room is cleaned and you should get good service. The tub is not a large hot tub as advertised but a little bit smaller. The room is a good size and keeping the fan on should keep you cool. The balcony is a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Valued Client:

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent holiday experience at Catalonia Bavaro Resort. We give serious follow up to all comments received and use them to help us improve our services and facilities.

Please accept our sincerest apology, these unforeseen events have no doubt caused you some dissatisfaction and we want you to know that this is certainly not typical of our hotel. We guarantee you, to do our best effort to avoid this happen again.

We hope that you are in good health now and that in the future you can come back and give us the opportunity to pamper you as we know.

Sincerelly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,309
    3,406
    1,406
    565
    437
See reviews for
2,970
4,241
157
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We ar just come back from Catalonia Bavaro Royal , service 5**** hotel really good , food excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Artilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

All the comments you have sent us about customer service are more than helpful, and we appreciate the feedback we received from our valuable guests.

We will be delighted if you give us another chance by counting again with their presence in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.

Thank you for choosing us!

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I don't usually go out of my way to write reviews about how my vacation was but what me and my girlfriend experienced all week was absolutely DISGUSTING. Right when we checked into our room there were 2 cockroaches in the washroom and the Air conditioner wasn't working. we got moved to another room after and sure enough the air wasn't working in there either. I didn't fall asleep until 2am every night because it was so humid. the servers who r on beverage duties in the " buffet" area were the least productive of them all. I would eat my whole meal before they would fill my glass with water. the food was disgusting and it was the same everyday. the cooks have no sense of sanitation. I found 2 cock roaches running around in my suitcase, and when i asked to switch rooms again they told me to "clean my own room". management was not sympathetic at all. I wouldn't stay here even if it was offered for free. The resort was an absolute dive and management sucks. management and its staff all need to take a course on customer service because the way they treat guest at this hotel is BRUTAL.

AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank beachbum_898989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay at Catalonia Bavaro Resort. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced and assure you that we are anxious to retain you as a satisfied customer.

Please accept our sincerest apology, these unforeseen events have no doubt caused you some dissatisfaction and we want you to know that this is certainly not typical of our hotel. We guarantee you, to do our best effort to avoid this happen again.

We hope that you will return and allow us the opportunity to pamper you.

Sincerelly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

First of all-We had a blast!!!!! The staff is incredible- Treat people the way you want to be treated. My guess is that people who complained about the staff treated them like servants. A dollar goes a long way people!!! Or if you are too cheap to tip at least Say Por Favor when asking for something and Gracias when they give it to you. I never saw a staff member being rude to anyone, but saw a lot of people from other countries being completely ignorant. These sweet people live in a poor country and show up to work smiling everyday, doing whatever they can to make sure you have a great time. WE were visiting their country! Dominicans don't come to our country and expect us to speak Spanish! If you are traveling to a foreign country- learn the language- don't complain that THEY don't speak YOUR language! I couldn't understand the German, French or Russian people when they were speaking English either! These people try very hard to communicate with people from many different countries with heavy accents. Give them a break! Don't expect to eat the same food you eat at home either. If you want pasta and hotdogs the way they are at home- stay home. There were many food options, fresh colorful fruits and vegetables. My boyfriend is as picky as they come and he ate well the whole week.Be willing to try things when you are in another country for God's sake. The rooms need refurbishing?? Really?? Did you happen to see the houses these people live in??!! We did the 4 Ss in our room- sleep, shower, sleep and sex. I didn't care what pictures were on the wall or what color the paint was. If you want a Hilton- go to a Hilton. The pool bar rocks! The lobby bar is huge-if you go, tell Raquel that Diana says HI!!!!! She is a blast!!!!! The beach has seaweed- that's because IT"S a SEA!!!!!!! Would you like them to remove the salt as well??? We saw an incredible little crab floating on a wad of seaweed and it was amazing. Yes, there are birds sharing breakfast with you. I loved it!!! My new saying is,"You don't see THAT everyday" Once again, it is the birds' home and we were merely visitors. It really made you feel you were in the tropics. The grounds were immaculate. The palms and flowering trees GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even the fresh flower arrangements in the bathrooms were beautiful! Instead of complaining- learn to relax and enjoy yourself. Embrace the differences this beautiful place has to offer and appreciate the flora and fauna( Plants and animals) and you will have a blast as well!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Valued Client:

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent holiday experience at Catalonia Bavaro Resort. We take very serious all your comments and use them to help us improve our services and facilities.

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and help us in the quality processes we have.

We will be delighted if you give us another chance by counting again with their presence in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.

Thank you for choosing us!

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We planned this trip for months and read so many reviews, both good and bad, so needless to say we were not so sure how it would turn out! But, thankfully it was wonderful. First of all, we booked it through "Book It" and they did an awesome job. For transportation to the resort, try to get VIP, they get you to the front of the lines which you will appreciate after the trip and the heat. Catalonia was just what you would expect for a 4-5 star resort in a different country than USA. It would be comparable to a 3 1/2 start resort here, except the service was outstanding! Whenever we asked for something, they went overboard. We did upgrade to privileged, so I really don't know if that was the reason or not. We were close to the beach, which meant a walk to the shows or the restaurants, but so what, a nice walk is good for you. By a walk, I mean like a 5 minute walk. We had a young girl at the buffet who went out of her way for us, her name was Angeline. I usually drink ice tea and they didn't know what it was. She made her version and it was fine. Each time we came to the buffet and she saw us, we had two ice teas by the time we sat down to our table. We loved her, and everyone else. They would go way out of their way to make your stay great. One of the groundskeepers even went and cut down a coconut for us. We did notice that a lot of people did not tip and we did. We would tip at home, so what is the difference? Took the excursion on the Safara Monster Truck and would suggest giving it a try, it shows you a lot of the outlying areas and the guys are hysterical. It's a long day, but you will appreciate it. The stingray/shark swim was good, but not what we expected. Golfing is great right at Catalonia. If you go fishing, check first to see if it is diesel fuel, my husband got really sick from the fumes and he couldn't get away from them on the boat, he wasn't the only one. So diesel isn't good, or even check about the exhaust-just a suggestion. We were called every couple of nights to see if we were being taken care of and if they could do anything for us. We stayed in Bldg. 1, which we didn't even request, but got lucky. It was super clean and a great spot, you could see the beach right from your balcony. Didn't see any bugs, that was my concern. I know this is lengthy, but I also know it was the type of review I was looking for. It is real and heartfelt. The shows were good and the food was good and plentiful. I can't figure out how people were saying bad things, other than we all have different likes/dislikes. We liked the steakhouse the best. If you are looking for lobster, you can get it, but you have to pay extra (Steakhouse and Italian Restaurants), I think it was like $19. USA money. You can't expect a USA 5-star resort, but it wasn't a dump by any means. Book your trip and have some great memories, laughs and lots of fun, like we did. We are in our late 50's, but didn't matter, every age group was having tons of fun. Oh yes, and DO bring a big cup, you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: I would suggest a 2nd floor, a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Grammia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

All the comments you have sent us about customer service are more than helpful, and we appreciate the feedback we received from our valuable guests.

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and help us in the quality processes we have.

We will be delighted if you give us another chance by counting again with their presence in our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.

Thank you for choosing us!

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
19.4 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#43 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
14.8 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,742 reviews
65.9 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
5,549 reviews
11.5 km away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#82 of 111 in Punta Cana
329 reviews
112.3 km away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,498 - ₹ 33,469
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing