We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Adult Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Adult Getaway!”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week at NH Royal Beach for our 20th wedding anniversary. and it definately exceeded my expectations, I am a picky critic on most things, especially service.. After reading a few less than glowing reviews before we left, I was concerned about the security, food, service and overall accomodations. No worries my friend! Rooms:Check in was fast and friendly; Darling was everything everyone else said he was and more, we had a swim up room, on the 1st floor (best choice, no security issues, ever) with King bed, fruit basket and bottle of rum, no extra cost. Make sure you have a room facing the pool or beach (most are)The room was huge, beautifully designed bath, private jacuzzi (which we used daily with bubbles) mini bar stocked daily with beer, soda, water and yucca chips. 24 hour room service was quick and yummy. Left $2.00 US for the maid each day, and we always had turn down service and new towels before bedtime.
Food: Was fabulous, at Pure and El Morteo at Royal Beach, make all your separate reservations for meals other than buffet the second you arrive! The buffet at Royal Beach was always, delicious, well presented with fabulous service; Domingo, Carlos, Gomez, Junior, basically all the people at Festival Buffet were awesome, always busy; serving, mingling with guests, resetting; well trained and very hospitable. People have complained about variety are crazy, everyday at breakfast there were no less than 20 plus choices plus fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, pastries, not to mention the best mimosas and bloodly marys. Lunch and dinner were equally grand with always a choice of freshly grilled to order meats, chicken or seafood. Deserts included, made to order flaming crepes or bananas foster. Now the downside, you CAN go over to the Real Arena with your Royal Beach wristband, even though they can't do the reverse. DON"T DO IT!! Even the special restaurants, the Asian one, the chefs did not do any of the "tricks" we are used to at an Asian grill, and the food was very medicore, At Senses, (at the Real Arena) the food was poorly prepared , the decor gaudy, and the service was horrible, noone smiled, the waitstaff stood around talking to each other, the wine both red and white were sub par the Royal, we actually left our main course of VERY over cooked fish with very mushy, fishy, charred lobster on the table un eaten as we rushed back over to the Festival Buffet (at the Royal) to finish our evening happy with the service and the food. We even gave their buffet (Real Arena) at the beach a try since it had a outdoor grill at lunch, it was like others have said, we even had to self serve the water!! The Grill stuff was over cooked and charred, the other iems were limited and tons of flies as it is very open air. At Royal Beach the buffet by the beach is stunning decor and the buffet part is in a glassed area with auto doors. Royal Beach has all top shelf drinks a bars no extra charge, Dewers, and Luis at pool bar and all those at lobby bar great!!
Security: White uniformed guards at both sides of beach, at every breezeway access to the outside or inbetween Royal and Arena, we felt VERY secure. Of Course we used our in room safe, we brought $100.00 in ones for tips, much appreciated but never demanded or expected, we brought our floats for the lazy river and we reserved our beach spots early even though it was never and issue. The messages on the beach were great too!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arleen_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,571
    1,749
    664
    186
    100
See reviews for
867
6,416
165
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,462)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We went on a last minute Apple 5+ Square Deal 7 night vacation and were assigned the NH Royal Beach Resort. We also had access to all NH Real Arena facilities next door.

Nice first impression, check-in was easy, no credit card was required for incidentals and we were served cocktails of our choice while waiting in the check-in line. Our room was ready before the check-in time, the bellboy escorted us along with our luggage to our room and showed us around the room. The key card must be in the card holder just inside the room in order to have electricity. We received a fruit plate and bottle of rum in our room shortly after we arrived.

Room: Nice size, king bed, two night stands, rattan sofa, two chairs and coffee table, dresser with a flat screen TV, cabinet with mini-frig (water, beer, soda and juice, stocked daily) and coffee maker. Double closet with shelves, iron/board and electronic safe. Sliding glass door leads to a balcony with 2 chairs, table and Jacuzzi tub. Plenty of closet and drawer space. Bathroom had a walk-in shower, double sink vanity and a separate room with a toilet and bidet. When the balcony door is open the A/C automatically shuts off.

Restaurants at NH Royal Beach:
Festival Buffet: Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. (The only place to eat breakfast and lunch on the NH Royal side.) Men are required to wear long pants for dinner, but women can wear shorts and flip-flops. Food was fine, but got boring.
El Mortero: Mexican, need reservations. Buiffet style for appetizers and salads, about 5 entree choices but none were Mexican. (This was our best meal for the whole week.)
Pure: Gourmet, need reservations. No choice, you get what they serve (cold soup, main entree was tuna steak). We did not enjoy this meal.
Room Service: Very limited, did not enjoy this food.
Restaurants at NH Arena:
International Buffet: Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Beach Club/Snack Grill: Buffet along with meats (chicken, beef, pork, fish) cooked on BBQ.
French: Need reservations. No choice for soup or appetizer, etc., 2 choices for entree (beef or fish).
Grill & Seafood: Need reservations. No choice for salad or appetizer, etc., 2 choices for entree (beef or fish).
Couldn't get reservations for the Asian or Italian.

Pool:
Long winding pool with many walk-in entries.
No floaties are provided (suggest bringing your own).
Beverage service at pool and beach area.

Pros:
Able to use ALL the facilities at both resorts.
Beautiful beach and sand with plenty of loungers.
Excellent staff service.
Buffet tables were cleared and reset in a timely manner, never saw tables full of dirty dishes.
Mini-frig was stocked daily.
No beach towel cards.
No kids.

Cons:
No hand rails on balcony Jacuzzi, hard to get in and out of, not private.
Every time the key card was taken out of the room holder, all lights, A/C, ceiling fan, etc. went off, including the clock. So we were constantly resetting the clock, plus it was stuffy in the room when we would return to the room with no A/C or fan running.
Poor lighting in the bathroom above the vanity.
Men are required to wear long pants at EVERY evening meal except in the NH Arena buffet.
Too much buffet, the ala carte restaurants need more entree choices.
The only alcohol served at all the restaurants/buffet was beer and wine. The lobby bar is the only place to get any other cocktails in the evening.
If we weren't out of our room before 10am, our room wasn't cleaned until 5pm.
Turn-down service came at 6pm, if they didn't do it then, it did not get done, which was way too early. We only had turn-down service 3 out of 7 days. We were usually showering at that time to get ready for dinner. Sometimes they came in and took dirty towels, but never replaced them with clean towels. In the morning we would have to go looking for clean towels.
Poor entertainment in the evenings. Local band played elevator type music in the courtyard until 10:30pm. There is no covered area where the band plays, so if it rains (which it did 4 nights), there is no entertainment. Evening entertainment was much better on the Arena side of the resort.
Very little to no activities during the day. Resort was vey low-keyed.
Not a good selection of premium alcohol. (We prefer Bacardi Rum and Seagrams 7, they had neither).
Need floaties for winding pool.
Very disappointed in the food.

We had a relaxing vacation, weather could have been better.
We would not go back to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmegoIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I just returned from the NH Royal last night. When we checked in, it took forever for them to find our reservations. It was 3:30 and they still didn't have a room ready for us and asked if we could come back in 20. It worked out and we moved up to our room. The rooms were clean, spacious and very nice. Ask for a water view or pool view, because otherwise, you get to see another resort from your balcony and its not the best view by far. We tried to grab food at 4:30 but the buffet was closed so we had to go to the sister resort and eat there.
Overall, not a bad resort. It's still relatively new, but definitely has some things to hash out before even becoming a potential 4 star that they say they are. I will say, I was a bit upset that when I called for two beers to be delivered to my room, the waiter knocked once and proceeded to use a key to come in by themselves while I was just coming out of the shower. I was a bit upset at that.

Pros:
- food was pretty good for an all inclusive, food was always fresh
- semi-strong drinks
- staff was really friendly
- lots of beach chairs and umbrellas so there was no fighting in the mornings. We woke up at 10am everyday and were fine in getting chairs.
- places and things to always do
- room was cleaned twice a day
-

Cons:
- There was no bar service on the beach before 10am.
- Make sure you make reservations once you get there for the restaurants
- when laying on the beach, the vendors constantly harassed you to do excursions which became annoying everyday
- check-in wasn't all too smooth
- if you get a blackjack and the dealer gets a blackjack at the casino, it's an automatic push, so don't get excited
- mojitos were only served at certain bars in the resort
- only warm water, there was never a time I took a hot shower or hot bath
- certain restaurants closed on certain days of week along with certain activities like bowling so be sure to check ahead of time.
- no carribean music on the beach. Same music just kept looping through by the pool side but nothing on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyneeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We were at the NH Royal Beach from April 29-May 6th, 2010 and upgraded from the NH Real Arena. The resort is absolutely beautiful, the service awesome, and the beach amazing! The rooms were clean, bed very comfortable and the food was good as well. The buffets were a little repetitive from lunch to supper, but the a la cartes (especially the Asian and Mexican) were very good.

We stayed in room 5239 on the second floor and had no problems with mosquitoes or the musty smell, (in fact I didn’t see a mosquito the whole time we were there!). Our friends who traveled with us stayed in room 5177 which was on the ground floor and had steps leading right into the lazy river (which is a huge plus for this resort). Their room however did have that musty smell, but probably because it is on the main floor and because it is so humid. We loved the lazy river, and spent a lot of time floating along with our drinks in hand. Their room was perfect because it was 3 doors away from the buffet, close to the beach and swim up bar!

The night life at the Royal Beach is a little lacking... there is a band that played in the evening just outside the lobby, but that was about it. All of the shows and the disco are right next door at the NH Real Arena, which was nice because the noise stayed there too!

The staff are very friendly and go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Neudy at the buffet was always smiling and happy to see us. As far as a language barrier… there wasn’t really one. I found most of the staff could speak English very well. In fact, they were teaching us how to speak Spanish!

Overall our trip was amazing… we met a lot of great people and will definitely go back to this resort!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tobi234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We can not say enough about this resort. We had a swimout room which we love Jennifer was always there with drinks for us. We have stayed in 15 or so all inclusive and this would have to be one of the best in our opinion. My husband loves lobster and was able to get it in Pure as well as the buffet on Wednesday nights. Do not miss the Wed buffet if you are a lobster fan.

Everyone is so friendly and very helpful. Erick aka Smiley, was such a wonder guest relations guy. He found out it was my birthday and worked with my husband to surprise me with rose petals, balloons, a bubble bath, cake and a bottle of champagne. He always went out of his way to see to see how we were doing and was first to note any issues you may have had and also remedied the issues if he could. (Of course we didn’t really have any issues.) Erick is a true asset to this resort!

We enjoyed Pure and the Mexican restaurant. What people don't realize is that Mexican food is not all as we know it- burritos, fajitas, etc. Mexicans eat steak, chicken etc too. Actually the appetizer bar before your dinner arrives has some “Mexican” type food. Get the flank steak at the Mexican (not the ribeye). I am not a red meat fan but the flank was excellent! We also ate at the French and Italian. The French was my least favorite but it was decent. I am also not a fan of raw tuna or cold soup but my husband enjoyed it. At the Italian if you like pasta get the pasta as your main dish and not as the insert. It was very good.

We enjoyed the casino even though we lost. The sports bar was fun too. Carlos and Gregoria were great! Always filling your drink.

We didn't have the best experience with Luis at the swim up bar but by the end of the trip he had warmed up to us. He can be very rude at times.

My husband and I definitely say this is one of our best trips we have ever had. Very relaxing.

We never go back to the same resort twice as we like change but this is one we would consider.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank taramyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
5.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
27.3 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,041 reviews
22.9 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.2 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
22.0 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,784 - ₹ 34,800
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing