We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN ON EARTH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This resort is almost perfect! From check in to check out, we were in paradise.

The beach is amazing. The pools are relaxing and relatvely quiet - obviously pending on the guests - when we arrived there was a rowdy bunch, but they left on our 2nd day. The rooms are clean and modern - we were happy to find an ipod doc! The food was great, room service was efficient and booking off-site excursions was easy.

There are many amenities shared with Now Lamar resort, such as the theatre, a la cart restuarants and an outdoor theatre area.

The only thing I would comment on for the negative, is the pool closes very early - 7 pm, but this is common place in the Caribbean.

The BEST thing about this resort is the friendly, friendly staff and the beautiful surroundings - it really is heaven on earth and I will include some pictures to really illustrate this!

Room Tip: closer to the ocean the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesDowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,569
    1,749
    663
    186
    100
See reviews for
867
6,413
165
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,461)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We traveled to SRB for a total of 6 nights; traveling with two other couples – 6 of us total. We arrived at the resort around 2pm; greeted with champagne & a cold towel. The rooms were not ready; we were told to come back at 3pm to obtain our room keys. We immediately headed to the lunch buffet to grab a bite to each & change into our swim suits. The landscaping, grounds & the visual aspect of SRB are top notch. Lots of vegetation, plants, palm trees, etc.

Food / Breakfast – Only one option for breakfast, unless you want to order room service. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Omelet station & smoothie station included. One nice perk is you can sit outside overlooking the ocean while eating & drinking coffee.

Food / Lunches– For lunches; we mixed it up between the buffet & the beach grill. The beach grill serves burgers, hot dogs, grilled chicken, grilled fish, french fries, etc. It is more of a quick bite to eat versus a sit down meal; however the food was really good. It was also very quick service; which I will get into more detail later. Also, the beach grill did not require any sort of dress code; swimsuits were acceptable. The lunch buffet required a shirt, sandals & your swimsuit had to be dry. Plenty of choices; they had some of the same choices each day & also mixed in new items as well. The Panini sandwiches are excellent; as they will make one for you on request; just tell them what you want. We did eat lunch at the Now Larimar one day; it was nice to sit outside & eat lunch.

Food / Dinner – we ate at all three restaurants at SRB; plus 3 restaurants on the Now Larimar side. We all agreed the food was good; above average for an All Inclusive resort. While the food was above average; the service was not. As of party of 6, we knew that getting a table would be a challenge; however we were pleasantly surprised at each restaurant it was not an issue at all; and the wait was on par with other guests. We quickly learned that the service at dinner was on “Caribbean time.” Meaning, nothing happens quickly, it takes a while to get your dinner, drinks, appetizer, etc. Getting a glass of wine was a struggle at each restaurant. At one restaurant, the server knocked a glass of water all over my wife’s dress, didn’t bother to get additional towels, help etc. It happens, however just a tad frustrating; we had a good laugh about it later that night. At the Now Larimar Italian restaurant, we had to use the flashlight on our cell phones to read the menu. However, the issue was that the server requested to borrow our cell phone to give to another guest so they could read the menu as well; we thought that was strange.


Room – the room was average; no issues. We have stayed at AI’s resorts with nicer rooms; but the SRB room satisfied all the requirements. Two sinks in the bathroom, huge shower (note that the shower did not have a bench; so ladies have a hard time shaving), a separate room with a door (privacy) for the toilet and bidet. Our room had a small Jacuzzi tub outside on the balcony. We never used it; it seemed a little small for two people. The balcony had two chairs & a little table. The room had a flat screen TV sitting on a dresser, king size bed, sofa, chair & coffee table & two nightstands. The closet had an electronic safe, several shelves & large area for hanging clothes. We had plenty of room to fit all of our clothes & personal belongings for 6 nights. There was a ceiling fan with a light over the king bed & the A/C worked very well. One concern that has been mentioned on other reviews, the lighting in the bathroom was not very good for putting on makeup. The bathroom did have a hair dryer, makeup magnifying mirror and the usual toiletries. The mini bar was stocked with beer – local brand presidente, water, diet coke, sprite, orange juice, club soda & orange fanta. A small can of Pringles potato chips is left each day. Our room included two robes & slippers, which were comfy. Also a small coffee maker, coffee, cream, sugar, etc. We received turn down service the 1st night & the last night; but nothing in between.

Pool – There was one large main pool that included a swim up bar & a lazy type pool that looped around the resort. The lazy pool; actually is was more of a river, tended to be more serene & relaxing. The main pool was busy with the swim up bar, people drinking & the entertainment crew playing pool games late in the afternoon. I would not classify the main pool as big. Not too many chairs around the main pool, it you wanted a particular spot or chair, you would need to get down around 8am to reserve it. I thought the resort could create more space around the main pool to put additional chairs. We were able to “secure” the same spot everyday; thanks in part to the pool cleaning employees & pool servers (Yolanney & Angel), who knew where we wanted to sit & reserved them for us = a big thanks to them.

Beach – We are not “beach” people, as we prefer the pool. Nerveless, the beach is beautiful. Plenty of chairs & palm trees to provide shade. A bar is located on the beach as well. We did take several walks on the beach; the water is crystal clear, very little seaweed, & the sand is extremely soft. The water was calm.

Bars – We, including the group we travel with, opt for premium liquor when partaking in alcoholic beverages. Having said this, we were extremely disappointed to learn that the resort did not have Crown Royal, Grey Goose or Baileys just to name a few. In addition, the liquor they did stock would vary from day to day & from bar to bar…for example, one day they would have Absolute Vanilla Vodka, the next day it would be gone. This happened everyday; in fact some days we had to wait for the “liquor Tonka truck”; which was a little Daihatsu mini truck (swim up bar). This truck shows up around 10-11am every morning with cases of beer, liquor, etc. Keep in mind the bars open up at 10am; so if the truck didn’t come until 11am or so; you could only drink what was left over from the previous day. This was a little frustrating, having already been to another Secrets’ Resort & other AI’s (Excellence, Palace Resorts); one would think Crown Royal would be included in the premium liquor. Also, all frozen drinks are premade from machines – sort of like a daiquiri bar. Compared to other premium AI’s, each frozen drink is made in a blender. You can taste the difference. Another concern were the small plastic cups that are used to serve drinks. I am not talking about Acrylic cups, but rather the small clear silo cups- maybe 8 ounces. All drinks are served in the small plastic cups, so if you order a long island ice tea, get ready as it will be all alcohol – not enough room in the cup to mix everything. Plastic cups are only used for pool/beach area, glass is used for dinner or the lobby/La Habana bar.

Service – This is where SRB stands above the others. The employees that provide the service are outstanding. The service at the pool/swim up bar was fantastic. Knowing our concerns regarding the premium liquor issues; we had a bottle of Crown Royal brought in just for us on the 3rd day of our trip; however our group did not remember drinking all of it  Angel & Yolanney – pool drink servers, did a fantastic job of not only serving drinks all day, but communicating to us in a friendly, funny & enjoyable way. Juan Manuel did an excellent job of ensuring our stay was pleasant; the swim up bar tenders where always singing & dancing. The entertainment team was also enjoyable; including our group in several afternoon pool events. Every time you saw Speedy or Mickey Mouse, they would have a smile & ask you how you were doing.


In summary, we don’t think our group will stay at this particular resort again. Having said that, the only reason we would even consider coming back would be the employees who work at this resort – Yolanney, Angel, Juan Manuel, Mickey Mouse, Akon, and Speedy. The above made our stay enjoyable & provided memories we will not soon forget.

Please note that my intention is to provide a thorough review; several items mentioned above may be considered nitpicking. Nevertheless keep in mind that each person/group has their own personal preferences of what is expected & important to them when researching or visiting an AI resort.


Pros – Service from the employees, food, grounds/landscaping

Cons – alcohol is not premium, long waits during dinner, plastic bar cups,

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
28 Thank Brywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

It was our 1st time in all inclusive resort, many of of the reviews helped us to have an idea of what to expect, so thank you for all of you who replied to our queries over the past 3 months.We were not disappointed at all by the place, and as all of us aware there is no place perfect you will always find things here and there, but my advice come here with open minded and don't let anything ruin you holidays, I agree with all the reviews about the maintainance of the place, SRB has army of staff working all the time in gardens, cleaning hallways, restaurants and bars, thumbs up for he saff, they are really tring hard, we have stayed there for a week in room 5221 which is tropical gran view room, have no complains and we don't regret we didn't upgrade to swim up rooms, staff are friendly here and helpful, we spoke to Yasmine in concierge on couple of occasions and she helped.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, location differs, tropical garden view rooms gives you extra 3 min walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank asialoverR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

just return 06/11/12 for a week
people are really nice and happy
willie martinez at the beach bar is a super nice guy same thihg with Alba /Santa/marguerita
onel at the restaurant of the beach is super
the ocean is very nice and the beach very wide
very clean hotel
only problem is that there is only 2 resataurant and a buffet at the hotel. you can go at the Now larimar (5 restaurants ) but we definitly do not recommand food bad service completely different from the secrets
I would go back for a week but not 2 because of the larimar

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bateau53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We just came back for Secrets Royale Beach after 10 day vacation and for the 6th time it was wanderful. Great entertaiment team : Speedy, Icon, Issaias,Cinthia and Wnney. Great evening Entertinbent and Live mucic every night with Francis Giannarelli. Eevery one at the swim up bar and beach bar is great, not mentioning the loby bar Aneudy, Roniert, Yolenny. Rooms are very clean and food is great. We also use buttler service each time Jacky is great will take care of you. It is a grat place for your vacation. I wish I could name every one but I only got 5 minutes. This is are 6th time in this resort and we will be back in January. If you are looking for a 6 star resort this is it.

Chirs

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
5.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
27.3 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
22.9 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.2 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
22.0 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,182 - ₹ 34,623
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing