We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Beautiful, Clean, and Relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 July 2011

To start off, if you get car sick take something for the bus ride from airport to the resort, several people on our bus had issues. Once at the resort, check in was quick and the greeting was as advertised. Our room was supposed ot be a king but we had a double and they were booked so we couldn't change. We had a swim up room which is the way to go. You can basically have your own party cove with your rooms around you. The waiters will find you and the trick is find 2 of them and stagger the drinks, this makes the wait not so long. Be careful on the liquid viagra shots, this is the Domincan shot. Seems harmless until later that night or the next morning.

Beach was excellent. Large and plenty of places to layout. Water did have seewead which was constant. If topless women offend you there are some on the beach as this is an adults only resort. I liked the security guards around the resort keeping people from entering the resport who shouldn't be there, although we met people in our pool who were staying next door at the Now Larimar. Service on the beach is as expected, slow. Not too mention its so hot any drink you get must be drank quickly.

As for the food, I would rate this as average. The best thing was the chicken and kabobs off the grill at the hut by the beach. He is only open for lunch. The buffet was not bad, as expected for a buffett. The spice restaurant was good, but if you want great service get the Hibachi grill show (well worth the wait). The Bluewater grill has good food (Ribeye was actually not bad). Service there was horrible the first time, much better the second time. Did not try Oceana which from our neighbors was rated average, they said it was basically a sample of everal items instead of ordering off a menu.

We did not pay extra to dine on the beach or for the lobster fest on Monday night. A little much when you figure you paid for an all inclusive.

The entertainment was average at best. I think this depends on what you want. You want to relx and enjoy the calm atmoshere then it is great. But if you want dancing and stay up late you will be unhappy.

We did not have any problems until the last day, when I was sick to my stomach. Unknown id this was from food or liqour. Considering it is 2 days laters and I'm still not back to normal I would rule out the alcohol.

They have a daily shuttle that takes you to the mall 4x a day for 0 minutes. Unless you want ot visist the Hard Rock cafe gift shop then don't waste your time. There are flea markets down the beach both ways. The workers are eager to get you in their shop but once inside they were not bad at all. I would suggest going in a group or at least during the day. If your interested in Liquor or paintings they have plenty for good prices there.

One group we talked to liked the cigar tour offered through the hotel, 1 hr long.

We enjoyed the trip, the resort, and would consider going back. I strongly encourage a swim up room though. The balconies only have a partial ocean view anyway since there are large palm trees over the entire property and the rooms do not face the ocean.

Room Tip: The Swim Up rooms are the way to go, we had one and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank opdcoppr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,464 - 7,468 of 10,013 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011


This was my 1st wedding anniversary vacations!!!! And believe this went way better than my honeymoon at the cruise...I connected so much with my husband that I felt totally in love again....First of all...they welcome you with a glass of champagne and a hot towel for the face. Their staff is AMAZINGGG you don't have to move a finger if you don't want to. The room is big and the best of all is the jacuzzi at the balcony. You and your parter will connect so much believe me...wonderful stuffs can happen there...the bathroom is big and have a separate room for the toilet. Now the pool...amazinggg...make sure you stand near the bar so you can repeat your drinks. :)  They have staff that will pass over and over to repeat also your drinks. The beach... The sand is very white and they keep it so clean that i couldn't find an ant on the palms trees!!!! The beach has seaweed but they make sure to clean the shore every morning. They have a lot of gazebos for you to pass the day... But you have to pay for the beds :( but not during the night and pleaseee try to go to the beach during the night. Is the most romantic thing to do...you alone with your parter hearing and seeing the waves AWESOMEEE. During the day, they have staff to pass over and over offering you drinks and every 15 or 25 minutes they will come with a new drink. Believe me, you will not experience such a pampering as in this hotel.  Also, is the first time I was topless at the beach and is the most liberating thing ever and the staff were very respecful. I did not experiment any lust in their eyes. The food...the buffet is extraordinary amazing. They have a great variety of food for every kind of person. The restaurants other than the buffet are great but the French one(at least I did not like it ) and the service there was not good. The other restaurants were so great and the staff were very attentive. The amount of relaxation in this hotel is so great that it will be very difficult to schedule another trip to another destination knowing the amount of pampering that is offered in this hotel. This is what I called VACATIONS! You really need to try this type of vacations specially if you have kids since this is all adults hotel and believe me when I say that no matter if you love kids, you will enjoy this silence....ahhhhhhhhhh

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skaramusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I spent four nights in one of the presidential suites. Overall, we were not all that impressed. The room was large, but nothing special.

The first two days we were there the food was horrible. No taste or seasoning, overdone steaks, raw chicken, everything we tried was just bad. Then the last two days the food improved drastically. We never went back to either of the restaurants, but the food on the buffet got much better. However, I'm not still sure if it was actually good or if it just wasn't bad.

The sales pitch for the "property tour" is quite annoying, but at least we were expecting it.

The beach is nice, as is the pool. We had no problem getting seats by either. We had absolutely no problems at all with the service. Everyone was very friendly and more than happy to take care of anything we asked for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCTurtleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This resort is certainly NOT worth the money! 90% of the staff here speaks no english, so don't plan on asking any of them any questions.The food is pretty poor quality and plan on sitting on the toilet about 8 times a day. The best thing you'll find on the room service menu is a small cheese burger. you can get a steak in their resturant, and i have to say is was very tasty, all 3 bites of it. This resort is very chincy!!! Only one of the 5 or so bars had american beer (coors light) which they ran out of EVERY DAMN DAY!!! Wasn't very happy about spending $3000 on my vacation and not being able to drink any american beer. I complained to the front desk about this to no avail !. Concierge service my butt! They do have a very nice pool bar, but they close it at 6pm ??? What the hell ?
I thought i was suppose to be on vacation?? There is nothing fun to do at night unless you go to the sister resort next door which has a sports bar and a night club, both of which were full of kids! If you are looking to have fun and party, this is certainly NOT the place to be. I guess maybe my stays at sandals resorts spoiled me, cause sandals resorts blows this one clean out of the water! I honestly wouldn't come back here if it were free!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenwest100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Mgr_Asst, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear Secrets Royal Beach Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review of your stay here at our beautiful Secrets Royal Beach.

Since you have stayed with us in July 2011 we have had a big change until now in the perfection of our Service quality. We regret that you were not able to enjoy our hotel as you wished, while you were staying with us.

In the meantime, we have hired an English teacher to provide English lessons for our Staff. As well we have recruited two awarded executive chefs from Spain to provide excellent food quality. Furthermore a Training and Development Director supervises and controls the Service Standards within the Resort.

Please be aware, that the Secrets Royal Beach is an adult only Hotel. In contrast to the other Secrets Hotels we offer an additional option to use the facilities of the adjoining Now Larimar to our Secrets Royal Beach guests for free. Secrets Royal Beach have the option to use both hotels, while the Now Larimar guest can only use the facilities of the Now Larimar.

We really would like a second chance to leave a good impression of not only our hotel but of our destination as well. If you ever come back to the Dominican Republic, contact us and we will make sure you have a great stay!

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

Warm regards from your home in paradise,

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Av. Alemania S/N,
El Cortecito,
Bavaro Beach
Prov. La Altagracia, República Dominicana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Food was great and adelito the cleaning crew he kept our room clean a big thank you the dancers were great Speedy and the other team.....Elvis Presley was amazing nice show...pleasant trip and will stay again in the Secrets Resort

Room Tip: You won't regret staying at the Secrets Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cana39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
5.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
22.9 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
0.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
21.8 km away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 18,846 - ₹ 48,869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing