We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 488
US$ 188
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 555
US$ 355
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 225
US$ 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 365
US$ 310
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 387/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 342
US$ 333
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 252
US$ 227
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 370
US$ 341
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 351
US$ 302
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 384
US$ 354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 170
US$ 140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,605)
Filter reviews
7,605 results
Traveller rating
4,879
1,630
680
232
184
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,879
1,630
680
232
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablojazmin buffetgarden grilla la carte restaurantsprivilege clubscented pillowsbutler servicelobby bargala nightother resortsguest servicesel pescadorthomas cookle gourmetemailed the hoteldominican republicbubble bath
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 7,605 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Just back from 7 beautiful days at Esmerelda. Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there and had a wonderful time. Beautiful beach (except for some jelly fish)and pools, good food (many choices, even if you're vegetarian), great animators who do a wonderful job keeping you busy during the day with water polo, volleyball, aerobics, etc., and entertained with the nightly shows (minor complaint - didn't realize there was a sports area until we were on the bus, being driven to the airport to return home, need to advertise that a little better). Rooms were clean, large with comfy beds and your choice of a plethora of pillows, can even have your room scented :)
Made our restaurant and room requests two weeks prior to arrival and all were honoured.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sandie,

It is an honor and a great compliment to forward such positive comments to our staff, who will be enchanted to hear that they made you anniversary so special. Thank you for mentioning our excellent food and facilities.

Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, where you live the most unforgettable experiences.

Looking forward to welcome you once again!

Kind regards,

Carlos Rondon
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Immaculate resort, very clean room, excellent food in expansive restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffet was okay but we are not fans of buffet as we like our hot food hot. The beach was nice, the hurricane brought in some seaweed but they did an excellent job of cleaning it up. There are no ocean view rooms and no food at the pool. The resort is very large but we enjoyed walking about the resort for those that don’t there are loads of golf carts. The staff did not speak as much English as we are accustomed to in Cancun. There are excursions available we did not go on any it appeared the destinations were all 2-3 hours away.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach or pool definitely request as the resort is very large.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kuearling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection for you first trip to Punta Cana. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor, and for praising our friendly staff, big rooms, great pools, and very good food. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed a chill out holiday in this lovely place called Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you once again!

Kind regards,

Carlos Rondon
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from holiday.
The Bahia Principe Esmeralda was brilliant, the room was big the maids were very friendly, we had clean towels every day, the fridge was filled everyday with either soft drinks or miniature alcohol drinks. we were in block 94 on the ground floor. It was less than 5 minuets from the beach, there was a lot of seaweed to start with but the beach was cleaned every day.
The rep Miguel was fab you could have a laugh with him.
The buggy cars took you to different restaurants at the other hotels on the site. (The site is huge)
We didn’t think much of the Takara and Belle a vista at the hotel the portafino was the gourmet restaurant was fantastic at the other hotels. We only had breakfast in the buffet restaurant. Ate at different places every night.
There was a part sectioned off for members, and had a mini bar (junior the barman was very nice) if you see him say “all right mate or see you later” he will laugh. We leant him to say that.
We met a couple from Ireland they were very nice and had a good laugh with them they told us about the butler they had, we didn’t know we had a butler, well we never saw him or her.
There were 2 large pools one for the entertainment (near the beach) the other one by block 93 & 94 was fairly quite. There was a mini bar at both pools most days I drank soft drinks as I’m much much of a drinker.
The Fantasia hotel is out of bounds unless you stayed there we were naught as we got into the hotel with out being stopped we watched a bit of the entertainment.
We would definitely go there again if we had block 94 on the ground floor near to the reception area.
Fantastic place to go to a part from the 9 hour flight.
Sam

Thank sammerryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda and continue providing the nicest relaxing vacation.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Carlos Rondon
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Just home from the Esmeralda, room was lovely, could not fault it. Brilliant sized bed, coffee and tea facilities, a shower and a bath whirlpool. Very spacious. Three pools at the Esmeralda, two with swim up pools, the other was a whirlpool type pool. Staff at the pool bar at 93 block were very nice, Yenny worked very hard. We had a butler Ruth in our block 93 who was very good, we didn't really use her services but she did introduce herself straight away, and always came and asked how we were. Our friends didn't even know they had a butler or were entitled to one, as no one introduced themselves to them in their block. Room was nicely cleaned everyday with fresh towels, but mini bar was a hit and miss, one day filled, other days just left, and never the drink it specified on the list. Beach towels could be changed everyday with no problem. People do reserve the chairs by the pool at 6am in the morning. The beach was beautiful, the workers are cleaning the seaweed away all the time but there isn't much seaweed anyway. The resort is so big, which is great, like a little town and easy to get around on buggies everywhere or even a nice walk. NOW for the small things that I feel need to be addressed as all the small things add up. Like you don't know what's on in each hotel as there isn't that much information anywhere, as to what shows are on each night or what activities are on during the day. The entertainment staff are very good but they don't really interact with the guests only the ones they want too, like there was a man who was there who was picked for all activities, dancing at night etc, MR VIP, they called him. Went and got him dry chairs every night, and high fived him every night. Couldn't tell you any of the entertainment people's names. Which I find unusual, any other holiday we know the entertainment staff, but as I said they don't really make themselves known. The buffet restaurant is the most disorganised buffet restaurant I've been in, you wait 30 minutes to be served a drink, no self service for drinks, also the staff are definitely not the friendliest, very rude and abrupt. I hated asking for an omelette, felt as if I was asking some of the cooks to go out their way, very very rude. The al la carte restaurants are excellent, better staff, and lots of choice to suit everyone's taste. We done two excursions, swimming with dolphins, well worth it but photos were extortionate. Also done Santa Dominica, brilliant tour of the capital city. Maybe this resort suits some people but I've been to better. As I said, the hotel really needs to train the staff on manners to holiday makers, a genuine smile. My husband left his phone one night on a sunbed beside the pool and it was handed in to reception, fantastic except the 86 dollars in the phone case was missing. A cleaner handed the phone in, as he was seen, the hotel customer service man told me to fill a form in. Not so much as a sorry for the inconvenience, sorry this happened or a fruit basket in the room, something would have been nice, some kind of recognition that this shouldn't happen in a holiday resort. ESMERALDA, you really need to address staffing issues, all staff I have mentioned, please train them in customer services, you have a lovely resort which I can't fault. It's a pity really as I wouldn't come back to your resort for that reason. I want to feel as if the staff are genuinely happy to see you and happy in their job. Also a wee hint to everyone, there is a group on Facebook, grand Bahia principe, if you write anything negative at all, you will be deleted off the page, and your comment. So that's why it list all the good points.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank nelsonsrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Nelson,

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to. We regret not being able to fulfill your expectations.

Please allow us to inform you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. Besides, it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness. Once again, we regret for the impression you could perceive from our staff members.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention, especially our beautiful beach and facilities, brilliant and comfortable rooms, and the a la cart restaurants.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,

Victoria Balbuena
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My family has been coming to this location for years. We love it. The staff is amazing. Great restaurants. Extremely clean. So many activities. Great for families, singles, couples. The beach is BEAUTIFUL.
I just love it!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu43210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Lulu,

We are so happy to know you love and have enjoyed your stays at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Thank you for praising our wonderful staff, great restaurants, beautiful beach and well kept grounds and facilities and recommending us.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Victoria Balbuena
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews