We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“budget accommodation with great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse Las Piedras

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Las Piedras
Ranked #3 of 27 Punta Cana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“budget accommodation with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Guesthouse Las Piedras will surprise you with its look, but most of all with the friendliness of the family hosting the place. Very helpful before deciding to go one place or the other, Las Piedras let us have a great weekend near the beautiful beaches of Punta Cana. 15 mins from the airport, and easy to move around from there (with a car), I recommend it for budget or alternative travellers.

Room Tip: Ask them in advance for the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tulio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
49
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was trying to find a place to live and the staff was so helpful pulling out there personal contacts, absolutely amazing, The breakfast was awesome and the room was very clean also the beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunlop d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Guesthouse Las Piedras
Location : It is about 15 min. from Punta Cana airport. Transfer is available upon request at 30$ each way. The hotel is located 10-15 min. driving from the Bavaro beach and 30 min. from Macao Beach.
It is in a very hidden part of town and many locals don’t even know where it is. It is a very safe area, surrounded by metal fence doors. In front of the hotel you will see an abandoned water park.
You will be able to find a market (food and clothes)on the left hand side of the main road when leaving the hotel. About 10 min. walk on the right side of the main road you will find a taxi stand and an exchange bureau ($). $1.00 US = 38.5 pesos
Across from that you will see a Texaco gas station, on the other side of Texaco you will find a bus station (guagua) local buses, that could bring you to the Bavaro beach for 30 pesos. It will drop you off at 2 min. walking distance to the beach. The bus passes every 20-30 min.
You could also rent a motoconcho for 50-100 pesos or a taxi but much more expensive.
Hotel:
It is very originally built by owners (Lila, from Dominican Republic and her husband from Germany), the hotel is made out of stones. Feels like the Flinstones house…
They are a very nice family with 3 kids all living there, living like a big family. They are all very friendly and helpful. If you speak a little bit of Spanish it will definitely be helpful. Lila can prepare dinner for you at night if you ask in advance for a small fee.
Price of the room: 35$ per night or 50$ per night per couple.
Breakfast is included in the price of the room.
Breakfast: 1 slice of ham, 1 slice of cheese, eggs, coffee, juice and bread.
We complimented our breakfast by buying pancake mix and syrup before arrival and bought yogurt and cereals and milk at the corner store. Every room has a refrigerator.
For those wishing to meet a local and bringing them to your room… It won’t happen. No one can enter your room if they were not previously signed in and paid for. It is controlled and better that way for security reasons.
Don’t forget: No AC in the room and NO HOT water.
There are ceiling fans and it was sufficient at night for us but I wouldn’t suggest being inside your room in the middle of the day. Ouf! Too hot! There is very little light coming in from outside and very little breeze. Out of everything we experience in that hotel, was the lack of air circulating in the room. Make me feel claustrofobic.
Women with long hair… Beware, not easy to wash your hair in a cold shower but for a simple little 2 min. shower it’s ok. There is no hairdryer in the room.
Rooms are simple with original built and very clean. No bugs! But… yes mosquitos… there are many trees and flowers growing in the middle garden… so in the morning and night there are some! It’s called repellent!
Enjoy your Flinstone hotel , we sure LOVED it!
Remember they only rent 2-3 rooms so make sure you reserve in advance.

Room Tip: No pool no fitness center! :) All the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thelittletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the guest house for 10 nights. The family was very nice. The room is clean. There is a kitchen by the garden that I can make food. It's closed to the beach and bus stations. There is also cute cafes and local markets near by. I had a great time. I feel like it was my home in Punta Cana.

It happened to be my birthday when I went. The host came say happy birthday to me at midnight. She also took me out to shop and drink, where both locals and tourist go dancing and drinking. The family was so sweet and I had an incredible experience!

Room Tip: Everything was great. Just be prepared that there is no hot water for shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bingbingju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Princesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I were in Punta Cana for a wedding, and we spent 5 nights at the Guesthouse Las Piedras. We found the family of Lila and Florian to be welcoming and friendly hosts who created a warm atmosphere that was just right for relaxing, reading, and chatting about life in the DR. The garden area was beautifully lush and clean, and the breakfasts served there were top-notch, featuring fresh juices and Dominican coffee. It was worthwhile to have Florian pick us up at the airport, as we might not have found the guesthouse on our own. After that, it was easy to get around and fun to explore the area on foot and on motoconcho. Many thanks to our kind hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.0 km away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#78 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
0.0 km away
NH Punta Cana
NH Punta Cana
#59 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tako Beach Rooms
Tako Beach Rooms
#2 of 11 in Bavaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 km away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#11 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
0.0 km away
Chateau Del Mar Ocean Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Las Piedras

Property: Guesthouse Las Piedras
Address: Avenida Estados Unidos Calle Guarionex 3, Punta Cana 0207, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,273 - ₹ 4,432
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach access in Bavaro is limited by the Resorts, the 2 public entrances are Cortecito and Los Corales to 10 mins distance from Guesthouse Las Piedras, depending transportation:Public Bus 1 US$, Motoconcho (public Motorbike Taxis) 2 US$ per person and Taxi 10 US$.The further Beach areas are:Cabeza de Toro (20 mins.)Macao Beach (Wave Surfer facilities, renting and school) and Locals selling fried fish (15 mins.)Uvero Alto (20mins.)Punta Cana, Beach Club Playa Blanca (40 mins.) with Car or Taxi and ID accessingCap Cana, Beach Club Juanillo (50 mins.) Car or Taxi and ID accessing Guesthouse Las Piedras is a private home, built in natural sense with using of stones, coral and Terrakotta reproducing natural ambience and living closely with nature.All 4 rooms equipped with Beds 75 x 55 inch (190 x 140 cm.) for 2 persons and own Bathroom with sink, toilet and shower and small fridge and fan. No Pets allowed!We have Breakfast and possibility for Lunch and Dinner (Reservation for Romantic Dinner), Drinks, Shakes, Coffee.The owners living in the same place and you sharing with family life. The staff is limited by one family member, taking care about guests needs and for that reason, check in is by appointment. The location of Guesthouse Las Piedras is in 3 mins. walk from Center of Bavaro, Friusa (Av. Espana with Av. Estados Unidos).We have all public facilities on walking distance within 5 mins.:Bank, Taxi, Supermarkets, Drugstore, Souvenirs, Disco, Restaurants, Bars, Cafeterias...Bavaro is an unique place in Dominican Republic, on one side the huge Resorts with over 35.000 accomodations, then the best Beaches and a varity of local Nightlife, 24/7/365, all days, all nights. Make your vacation experience special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Las Piedras Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing