We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #46 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We spend spring break from March 26-April 2, 2010 at Dreams, Palm beach. We have stayed at many all-inclusives. This was the first time we tried the Apple 6 Square Deal where we didn't know which hotel we would get until we got to the airport. Luckily, the hotel turned out to be very nice. The grounds were clean and well kept, we had a huge, two-room suite with two bathrooms and two TVs on the first floor overlooking the beach and pool. Our room was part of the prefered service, so we had a free concererge service, free internet access(very slow), our own pool, and access to the beach restaurant for free.The weather was perfect all week, the beach was nice. The staff had to clean sea weed off the sand twice a day. The hotel had several large, warm pools grouped together close to the beach. The entire complex is small enough to easily walk from the room to the restaurants or beach and pools in less than a minute. There are seven resturants. The buffet was the best. The Japanese was the best specialty restaurant. We ate at all of them. Most of the food was good, sometimes it wasn't. We could always go to the buffet if we didn't like our food.
Dive Shop: I used the free catamarans on the beach everyday. They had free wind surfing lessons and kayaks to use. We also paid for the kids do the banana boat and parasail. We took the Marinarium snorkeling tour out to swim with the sting rays and sharks which was great, then they took us for a party cruise along the shore to a protected cove for a party in the water. Lots of fun. We borrowed mask and snorkel for a $25 deposit at the dive shop to snorkel off the beach. They only let you keep it for an hour and no fins. We usually bring our own. Wish we had. We also did the horseback riding from the guy selling rides by the pool, El Ranchero Differente. The horses were great. Loved to run on the beach. The guides were very attentive and constantly asked how we were doing. They took lots of pictures of us with our camera. The only problems was that the ranch was 45 minute drive away. It was actually much closer to the Dreams, Punta Cana.
Night life was alittle slow for us. Not much happened until 9:30 when the show began. Some shows were great like the Circus Show. The magician was real bad. The lip-singing and dancing shows were ok. At 11:00 pm the club woke up, but we were always too sleepy by then. The casino was outside the hotel and always empty.
The kids clubs were ok for little kids. The teen club was always empty. They had pool tables and foosball and ping pong, and TVs, but no teenagers. Our teenagers couldn't really find anyone else to interact with, but they had fun on the beach and pools.

Overall we had a great trip. We love the Dominican Repulic although we also like the Mexican Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robwoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,039 - 9,043 of 10,934 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2010

Visited from March 21st til March 28th, we flew from Hfx. Nova Scotia, great flight, quick turnaround at the Punta Cana airport, arrived at 9:30am was sitting poolside, beer in hand at 10:50am. The resort was beautifull, staff were exceptional, food was great, liked the no reservations at the resturants & we tried them all & enjoyed them all. We've travelled to many resorts over the years & most recently Cuba but Dreams by far has been one of the best.
Would like to mention our favorite bartender, Rameirez at the wedding gazebo bar, he was a hoot !!
We will surely be booking here again in the very near future.
Terry & Jackie Burke
Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We just returned from our wonderful trip. I was very concerned after the reviews about illness but of the 8 of us, noone got sick. Preferred club-Orlando, miladys, Jesse-very helpful despite some problems at check in they tried very hard to make it work out. Ocean front room is totally worth the extra money for the balcony and view. Agree with reviews about bathroom being small but not a huge problem since not too much time is spent there.

Staff everywhere was amazing. Genuinely cheerful and helpful-excelente! The kids loved the explorers club and we felt safe about leaving them there.

Food was average in taste but plentiful. Drinks were also great-thanks élana for keeping them coming!

Overall a great trip and good value for the price. Entertainment was also fun and again it was the staff that really made dreams a great place to be!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed at this property for two nights beginning Saturday 3/27 through an Apple 6 Apple promotion - Apple Vacations just guarantees that you'll be staying at one of only eight 6 apple rated resorts in Punta Cana. This was our fifth Spring Break vacation in the DR. While the hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly, the property is old by Punta Cana standards and the grounds are relatively unimpressive. We spent the last two years at the Iberostar Bavarro and this Dreams was substantially inferior. The rooms were old, the bathrooms have not been renovated (moldy grout, cracked tile), the rooms are small and the property is relatively unimpressive. Given we know "better", we paid for a switch to the Majestic Elegance. It was literally like comparing a 20 year old Holiday Inn to a brand new Marriott plus resort (not quite Ritz Carlton). The grounds were beautiful with lush landscaping and flowers, the rooms were about 50% larger literally with brand new, high end baths and showers (the shower has a combination of either a very high pressure movable wand or a cascading show head with three body jets. Each room has a large jacuzzi which my daughter really enjoyed. Normally a bath gives me the "heebie jeebies" in a hotel but this one was brand new.

In other words, there is no way the Dreams Palm Beach is a "six apple" property. Yes, it is nice and the service is great and ignorance could be bliss if you haven't been to other properties. When we complained to the Apple rep, she told us the six apple rating was based upon the premium liquors served and the fact that no reservations are required for the specialty restaurants. She point blankly stated that the lower end rooms, non renovated bathrooms, etc were not as important to the ratings - OMG! Clearly there is some sort of "deal" between Apple and Dreams as we've stayed at the other Dreams Punta Cana in the past and it also was significantly inferior to the Majestic and Iberostar Bavarro.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattPotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We planned this vacation at 4 PM on 03/16/10 and were on the plane at 9:15 AM 03/17/10 for St. Patrick's Day in Punta Cana D.R. (last minute deals through Travelocity, booked through American Express for double points).
The Resort - Make sure that you book Dreams PALM BEACH Punta Cana, there are two Dreams Resorts in Punta Cana and it does make a difference. This Resort is meticulously clean. The lobby and public areas are modern and reminds e of the W Hotel.
Rooms: Our room was identical to the pictures on the website, very clean, comfortable bed and bedding, attractive furniture, flat screen TV, robes, slippers, stocked minibar - perfect.
Service: Absolutely incredible, maid service twice daily, room service 24 hours a day, cocktail waitresses - very pleasant and timely, restaurants - efficient and friendly. I have to say that the service here FAR exceeded our expectations. All employees seemed to enjoy their jobs and were very accommodating. When they said "My pleasure" it seemed genuine. We have been to other All-inclusives in Cancun and Puerto Plata where it seemed the only way to get basic service was by tipping excessively. This was definitely not the case at Dreams.
A la Carte Restaurants - Loved that NO reservations were needed. We were always seated within 10 minutes of our arrival. Also, not quite as dressy as stated, making it easier to dine anywhere during our 8 day stay. Ranked in order of our preference:
Himitsu - Actually a teppanyaki grill type restaurant like Benihana's. The food was prepared by chefs while playfully interacting with the diners; complete with food tossing, and having others try their hand at cooking. Not Benihana's quality or the same flavor, but good. Fresh beef, chicken and shrimp. The sushi was passable, but nothing to go out of your way for. They do have saki bombers and we are pleased to say that is how we met some new, fun friends!
Bordeaux - French with fringe flair. The Chateaubriand was cooked to perfection and most enjoyable, The grouper was also tasty.
Portofino - Loved it the first time, had the pasta with shrimp dish both times. The second time it was so salty that it was inedible. The salads were good.
The Buffet - World Cafe - Breakfast: Great omelets made to order, fresh fruit, pancakes and good coffee (specialty lattes, expressos, and cappuccinos available next door at the Coco Cafe); Lunch & Dinner: Delicious Fajitas (beef or chicken) made to order; fish, shrimp, beef and chicken skewers - yummy.
Drinks- Top shelf liquors are available and plentiful, be prepared to start drinking like they did in the 1950's and 1960's. The mixers are so sugary sweet that it is difficult to drink more than one tropical drink, so welcome back martinis, vodka or gin & tonic, scotch on the rocks, etc. The Presidente and Bohemia beer was good and they also had MGD for those are fearful to venture out. The house red wine was passable and good with meals. For those who like Rum & Coke or Jack & Coke find the bars that use bottled sodas.
Activities - Free use of the Hobie cats for 1/2 hour per day and snorkeling equipment, nice beach area, plentiful pools, volleyball, dance lessons, tennis lessons, yoga classes...the list is endless, and they have entertainers walking around encouraging participation (not annoying). There appears to be plentiful activities for children, but since we did not bring any, we cannot attest to their quality. They would seem to be good, since we did not see many children and were able to enjoy ourselves without feeling like we were at Disneyland. They have a casino (small not much action) and dance club - not very full, but fun - pool table etc. Also, nightly show, none of which we attended.
Additional Cost Activities: They also have a dive shop at Dreams, with Dive Masters Phil and Alex, who will take you to Isla Catalina for a double tank dive - our cost was $360 for two, and included everything - transportation to/from La Romana in an ac bus, boat, equipment, BBQ lunch on the Island (food was only ok), and drinks on the bus on the way home. Lots of fish -- lionfish, spotted moray eel, seahorse, baby stonefish, etc. fun, fun, fun. Also great way to meet new friends.
Tropical Boggies (kiosk by the pool)- Dune buggy trip to Macau Beach, a coffee/cocoa grower, underground cave with fresh water to swim. Can't say that we thought that this was worth the $130 (for both to ride in one Buggy). The buggies were old, needed constant repair during trip, poorly organized (hurry up and wait situation), and stopped constantly. There was also a self proclaimed "professional paparazzi" who was constantly trying to sell you something. We went to look at scenic DR, not be photographed. The kids on the trip seem to enjoy this more than we did. Also, maybe a different type of vehicle like an ATV or fiberglass larger dune buggy would have been more fun. Not sure, but we would have preferred to stay at the Resort.
HINTS: Bring American Money - most of the side excursions, except Scuba, take only cash, not credit cards. They do not seem to like DR money, so do not bother converting your money. The Money Exchange in the lobby costs 30% and there are no ATMs anywhere. The US dollar is king here.
Bring sunscreen and bug spray, the gift shop has a very small selection and it is very expensive. It cost us nearly $50 US for $15 worth of sunscreen if purchased in NYC (that would be only $10 elsewhere).
Also, we heard that rooms in Bldgs 8 & 9 look nothing like ours did. They stated that the linens were threadbare and the rooms had not been renovated. Their rooms were changed upon request.
The "Preferred" package appears to be a waste a money; there are no bracelets and everyone is treated the same. Our friends had the same room. The only additional items they received was access to a private concierge, a separate pool, and free internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
6.1 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.1 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
5.8 km away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
5.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 15,296 - ₹ 30,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing