We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,723)
Filter reviews
11,723 results
Traveller rating
7,386
2,672
1,058
359
248
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,386
2,672
1,058
359
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillpreferred clubworld cafecoco cafeentertainment teampreferred poolpreferred areaexplorers clubel patiopreferred roomfrench restauranthoneymoon suitewedding coordinatorlobby barsteakdominican republicthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
9,754 - 9,759 of 11,723 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Visited from March 21st til March 28th, we flew from Hfx. Nova Scotia, great flight, quick turnaround at the Punta Cana airport, arrived at 9:30am was sitting poolside, beer in hand at 10:50am. The resort was beautifull, staff were exceptional, food was great, liked the no reservations at the resturants & we tried them all & enjoyed them all. We've travelled to many resorts over the years & most recently Cuba but Dreams by far has been one of the best.
Would like to mention our favorite bartender, Rameirez at the wedding gazebo bar, he was a hoot !!
We will surely be booking here again in the very near future.
Terry & Jackie Burke
Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We just returned from our wonderful trip. I was very concerned after the reviews about illness but of the 8 of us, noone got sick. Preferred club-Orlando, miladys, Jesse-very helpful despite some problems at check in they tried very hard to make it work out. Ocean front room is totally worth the extra money for the balcony and view. Agree with reviews about bathroom being small but not a huge problem since not too much time is spent there.

Staff everywhere was amazing. Genuinely cheerful and helpful-excelente! The kids loved the explorers club and we felt safe about leaving them there.

Food was average in taste but plentiful. Drinks were also great-thanks élana for keeping them coming!

Overall a great trip and good value for the price. Entertainment was also fun and again it was the staff that really made dreams a great place to be!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed at this property for two nights beginning Saturday 3/27 through an Apple 6 Apple promotion - Apple Vacations just guarantees that you'll be staying at one of only eight 6 apple rated resorts in Punta Cana. This was our fifth Spring Break vacation in the DR. While the hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly, the property is old by Punta Cana standards and the grounds are relatively unimpressive. We spent the last two years at the Iberostar Bavarro and this Dreams was substantially inferior. The rooms were old, the bathrooms have not been renovated (moldy grout, cracked tile), the rooms are small and the property is relatively unimpressive. Given we know "better", we paid for a switch to the Majestic Elegance. It was literally like comparing a 20 year old Holiday Inn to a brand new Marriott plus resort (not quite Ritz Carlton). The grounds were beautiful with lush landscaping and flowers, the rooms were about 50% larger literally with brand new, high end baths and showers (the shower has a combination of either a very high pressure movable wand or a cascading show head with three body jets. Each room has a large jacuzzi which my daughter really enjoyed. Normally a bath gives me the "heebie jeebies" in a hotel but this one was brand new.

In other words, there is no way the Dreams Palm Beach is a "six apple" property. Yes, it is nice and the service is great and ignorance could be bliss if you haven't been to other properties. When we complained to the Apple rep, she told us the six apple rating was based upon the premium liquors served and the fact that no reservations are required for the specialty restaurants. She point blankly stated that the lower end rooms, non renovated bathrooms, etc were not as important to the ratings - OMG! Clearly there is some sort of "deal" between Apple and Dreams as we've stayed at the other Dreams Punta Cana in the past and it also was significantly inferior to the Majestic and Iberostar Bavarro.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattPotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We planned this vacation at 4 PM on 03/16/10 and were on the plane at 9:15 AM 03/17/10 for St. Patrick's Day in Punta Cana D.R. (last minute deals through Travelocity, booked through American Express for double points).
The Resort - Make sure that you book Dreams PALM BEACH Punta Cana, there are two Dreams Resorts in Punta Cana and it does make a difference. This Resort is meticulously clean. The lobby and public areas are modern and reminds e of the W Hotel.
Rooms: Our room was identical to the pictures on the website, very clean, comfortable bed and bedding, attractive furniture, flat screen TV, robes, slippers, stocked minibar - perfect.
Service: Absolutely incredible, maid service twice daily, room service 24 hours a day, cocktail waitresses - very pleasant and timely, restaurants - efficient and friendly. I have to say that the service here FAR exceeded our expectations. All employees seemed to enjoy their jobs and were very accommodating. When they said "My pleasure" it seemed genuine. We have been to other All-inclusives in Cancun and Puerto Plata where it seemed the only way to get basic service was by tipping excessively. This was definitely not the case at Dreams.
A la Carte Restaurants - Loved that NO reservations were needed. We were always seated within 10 minutes of our arrival. Also, not quite as dressy as stated, making it easier to dine anywhere during our 8 day stay. Ranked in order of our preference:
Himitsu - Actually a teppanyaki grill type restaurant like Benihana's. The food was prepared by chefs while playfully interacting with the diners; complete with food tossing, and having others try their hand at cooking. Not Benihana's quality or the same flavor, but good. Fresh beef, chicken and shrimp. The sushi was passable, but nothing to go out of your way for. They do have saki bombers and we are pleased to say that is how we met some new, fun friends!
Bordeaux - French with fringe flair. The Chateaubriand was cooked to perfection and most enjoyable, The grouper was also tasty.
Portofino - Loved it the first time, had the pasta with shrimp dish both times. The second time it was so salty that it was inedible. The salads were good.
The Buffet - World Cafe - Breakfast: Great omelets made to order, fresh fruit, pancakes and good coffee (specialty lattes, expressos, and cappuccinos available next door at the Coco Cafe); Lunch & Dinner: Delicious Fajitas (beef or chicken) made to order; fish, shrimp, beef and chicken skewers - yummy.
Drinks- Top shelf liquors are available and plentiful, be prepared to start drinking like they did in the 1950's and 1960's. The mixers are so sugary sweet that it is difficult to drink more than one tropical drink, so welcome back martinis, vodka or gin & tonic, scotch on the rocks, etc. The Presidente and Bohemia beer was good and they also had MGD for those are fearful to venture out. The house red wine was passable and good with meals. For those who like Rum & Coke or Jack & Coke find the bars that use bottled sodas.
Activities - Free use of the Hobie cats for 1/2 hour per day and snorkeling equipment, nice beach area, plentiful pools, volleyball, dance lessons, tennis lessons, yoga classes...the list is endless, and they have entertainers walking around encouraging participation (not annoying). There appears to be plentiful activities for children, but since we did not bring any, we cannot attest to their quality. They would seem to be good, since we did not see many children and were able to enjoy ourselves without feeling like we were at Disneyland. They have a casino (small not much action) and dance club - not very full, but fun - pool table etc. Also, nightly show, none of which we attended.
Additional Cost Activities: They also have a dive shop at Dreams, with Dive Masters Phil and Alex, who will take you to Isla Catalina for a double tank dive - our cost was $360 for two, and included everything - transportation to/from La Romana in an ac bus, boat, equipment, BBQ lunch on the Island (food was only ok), and drinks on the bus on the way home. Lots of fish -- lionfish, spotted moray eel, seahorse, baby stonefish, etc. fun, fun, fun. Also great way to meet new friends.
Tropical Boggies (kiosk by the pool)- Dune buggy trip to Macau Beach, a coffee/cocoa grower, underground cave with fresh water to swim. Can't say that we thought that this was worth the $130 (for both to ride in one Buggy). The buggies were old, needed constant repair during trip, poorly organized (hurry up and wait situation), and stopped constantly. There was also a self proclaimed "professional paparazzi" who was constantly trying to sell you something. We went to look at scenic DR, not be photographed. The kids on the trip seem to enjoy this more than we did. Also, maybe a different type of vehicle like an ATV or fiberglass larger dune buggy would have been more fun. Not sure, but we would have preferred to stay at the Resort.
HINTS: Bring American Money - most of the side excursions, except Scuba, take only cash, not credit cards. They do not seem to like DR money, so do not bother converting your money. The Money Exchange in the lobby costs 30% and there are no ATMs anywhere. The US dollar is king here.
Bring sunscreen and bug spray, the gift shop has a very small selection and it is very expensive. It cost us nearly $50 US for $15 worth of sunscreen if purchased in NYC (that would be only $10 elsewhere).
Also, we heard that rooms in Bldgs 8 & 9 look nothing like ours did. They stated that the linens were threadbare and the rooms had not been renovated. Their rooms were changed upon request.
The "Preferred" package appears to be a waste a money; there are no bracelets and everyone is treated the same. Our friends had the same room. The only additional items they received was access to a private concierge, a separate pool, and free internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

This was a great resort.. Just got back a week ago after a week-long stay.
It was very relaxing, the weather was excellent (or EXCELLENTE as they all say!).

The first thing i would say is that i was entertained from start to finish. I have no idea when the entertainment team sleeps. Those guys (and girls) honestly work from 9:30 am till god knows what hour of night..and they have more energy than anyone i have ever met. Kudos to JC, Gasolina, Sugar Rey, Kelvin, Lucky, and the rest of the entertainment staff, including the ladies whose names have escaped me...
I'm still confused as to when these guys got any sleep. They were always friendly and energetic the whole day. My family, especially my teenagers, loved them.

The food was good. My favorite was the fresh fruits in the world cafe. Other than that the french restaurant, then the mexican, italian, chinese, and then japanese. (My kids couldn't go to the french restaurant- you have to be 18 years old).

The shows were entertaining, especially the night of the stars and another where the entertainment team dances.. i again can't remember the name.

The spa treatments were great, I got a wrap.

The pool service was excellent.

It was a refreshing and relaxing stay. My kids still miss the entertainment team... love you guys!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacamom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews