We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 574
US$ 385
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 395
US$ 288
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 200
US$ 180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 327
US$ 216
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 474
US$ 336
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 397
US$ 284
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 2,050
US$ 276
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 440
US$ 281
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$ 506
US$ 378
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 816
US$ 763
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11,470)
Filter reviews
11,470 results
Traveller rating
7,256
2,608
1,023
348
235
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,256
2,608
1,023
348
235
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillpreferred clubworld cafecoco cafeentertainment teamcandy manvisited dreamspreferred poolpreferred areaexplorers clubel patiopreferred roomfrench restauranthoneymoon suitewedding coordinatorlobby barsteak
Filter
Updating list...
10,008 - 10,013 of 11,470 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This was our first trip to the Carribean and to an all-inclusive resort. It was amazing. We went as a group of three couples. Everyone had a great time.

SERVICE: The staff was amazing and the service was stellar. Everyone seemed genuinely concerned that you were pleased with the service, food, drinks, etc. I didn't notice any difference in service whether you tipped or not because the service was already great to begin with. The staff were all friendly and fun and spoke english very well.

FOOD: The food was amazing. The first night they had a banquet which was delicious. We tried the Seaside Grill, Portofino (Italian), Himitsu (Asian), and El Patio (Mexican). The Italian was everyone's favorite...It was delicious! The Seaside Grill and Himitsu were both fantastic as well. I would avoid the mexican restaurant, as I don't think the mexican food agreed with anyone in our group. We didn't try the french restaurant. We also highly enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets available from the World Cafe. Room service was also great.

DRINKS: The drinks were great and of course free, which you can't beat. They don't make the drinks very strong from the pool bars, but that's good if you're drinking them all day in the sun like we were. The drinks are stronger from the dance club and the lobby bar and get stronger at night. The mamajuana shots taste like cough syrup but you should still try it.

ROOMS: The rooms were confortable and clean. They look just like the pictures. Our maid didnt seem to make it to our room until 4 or 5, but it really didnt matter because we were swimming until dinnertime usually. The bed was soft and comfortable. The A/C worked well except for the last night it was a bit warm. The minibar could have been a bit cooler. One couple in our group didnt have hot water at first, but ours worked fine. My only complaint about the rooms is the bathrooms need an update. The strange half partition of glass for the shower does very little to keep the water in, so our bathroom floor was usually wet. Also, the glass door between the sink area and shower/toilet area doesnt provide much privacy.

POOLS: There are three pools. We spent all our time in the one with the swim-up bar. The kids and families seem to stay in the one with the kiddie pool attached. I didnt see much need for the private preferred club pool unless maybe you would rather swim without many people around and didnt want to be near the pool bar. We could generally find plenty of pool chairs.

BEACH: The beach was fantastic. The water was warm, the beach was clean. There were plenty of beach chairs. There was just a tiny bit of seaweed, but it's not like what you usually think of as seaweed, its more like little straws. It's not bad and it doesn't really disrupt your experience. Someone was cleaning the beach every night to keep them clean. The ocean trampoline and inflatable mountain say "kid's only" but no one enforced this and I don't understand how kids would be able to use these anyways. The drink service on the beach was great. Some vendors came by but most of them weren't too pushy and they can't actually come past the palm trees onto the beach area where you sit so you can avoid them.

MISC: The snorkeling/booze cruise excursion from the Dive Shop is well worth the $35. It was a blast. There doesn't seem to be much difference in the "preferred club" and regular rooms or service. Also no real difference between tropical or ocean view. Men do have to were pants for dinner, but can wear sandals. Not all of the restaurants are open every night for dinner so you have to plan accordingly. You felt safe everywhere on the resort and could leave your belongings unattended while swimming and no one bothered them. The vendors that come and set up in the resort on certain nights are pushy, so find ways to walk around and avoid them if you don't want to be harassed. The place was clean and beautiful. I would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My husband and i were at dreams palm beach in april 2009 we loved it that much we went back on september 2nd for another 2 weeks the beach was clean the local guys were up and down the beach cleaning up the little bit of seaweed that was there. The sea was like walking into a warm bath and so blue and clear. Theservice was excellent food excellent cleanliness supurb. The entertainment guys worked very hard and never missed a day without saying a good morning to everyone personally.
venders on beach are not pushy you only have to say no,they can be very entertaining especialley the one known as the king he wears a crown.
There is a lot of beach & pool games.
Staff at all levels service excellent & you do not have to tip them to get the same service as anyone else,They treat everyone the same.
Have booked again for april 2010.
We have travelled worldwide & would find Dreams Palm Beach hard to beat.
We returne home on the 17september 2009.
DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY NIT PICKERS.
TWO HAPPY & SATISFIED TRAVELLERS.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

My wife and I vacationed in many places and normally don't write a review. However, we felt we need to do one after our last vacation Sept 5-12 because we had a wonderful time primarily because of the many wonderful people at this resort and most especially the Happy Chef named "WILBERT". We met him on our first day and had been part of our entertainment almost everyday not mention the tasty meal he cooks at the Japanese restaurant (Teppanyaki). We had 2 occasions to celebrate that week. A wedding anniversary (Ace and El) and 10th birthday of our grandson Theodore. When we asked Theodore where he want to celebrate his birthday, he immediately chose Wilbert. Get ready to be paret of the entertainment.
Everybody in the resort are very friendly except some of them does not speak english. For the ones that does we get to know them better like Octavio, Alejandro, Obispo, Rudh, Elizabeth, and Emily just to name a few.
The rooms are nice just like the brochure and the entire resort is a nice as advertised. The beach is really nice because of just gentle waves and we were feeding the fish with bread right from our hands. The pools are nice and one pool look different from the rest but only because of the paint color of the floor.
The only minor issue is the design of the shower stall. Although estethically nice to look at (glass covering less than half of the tub) but it made taking a shower difficult because the water flows onto the bathroom floor. We did managed to get around this problem by pointing the shower head towards the inside wall and avoid having a mess. Other than that, we had a wonderful time at his resort.

Rey, Rica and family (11 people altogether)

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank T_WoodsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

This was a great place to take a vacation. We were there for 7 days and couldn't have been happier with the hotel, location, accomodations. Service was terrific and a few dollars for tips to the maid, bartender, etc. at the beginning of the week went a long way in getting even better service! Gorgeous beach, really good food in the 6 specility restaurants, extremely clean resort, twice a day maid service, fun entertainment. First time at an all-inclusive and was very impressed. Staff went out of their way to be of service and the room was really beautiful. Would recommend hightly! Spa a bit pricy but worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

If your looking for clear blue water than this isn’t the place to go. Its a light green color with seaweed and trash floating around. The sand was full of sticks and could use a good clean up. The number one thing I have to stress is that this is a PUBLIC beach. The miles of sand to stroll come with a price- a constant stream of vendors also walk by and harass you. I'm talking every 15 minutes there is a guy standing in front of your lounger waving beads at you or trying to sell you an excursion. On the positive side, the hotel itself was beautiful. The three pools were kept immaculate. The entertainment staff was full of energy. These guys (and ladies!) worked all day in the heat and worked hard to make you feel like family. That was the one consistent thing we observed- great staffing. Everyone spoke english more or less and all requests were answered with "it's my pleasure". The preferred area beach and pool were nice. We have stayed elsewhere in the Caribbean and this place by far had the best food. The hibachi restaurant was a blast! The buffet is open all night for "midnight snacks". One note- the air conditioning in the sit-down restaurants was pretty bad and men are required to wear long pants.Be prepared to sweat. Another thing I wish I knew ahead of time was that none of the rooms sit close enough to the water to warrant paying extra for a "Oceanfront" room. Our oceanfront room was ground level and in between the palm tress we could just barely see the water, and we were in the closest building to the beach! The rooms really do look like the pictures on the website- nice. The four rooms on our reservations were full of problems though. One couple had to switch rooms 3 times. Our room had a warm minifridge and a broken Jacuzzi tub. We were the lucky ones- other rooms had no hot water, mold in the shower, and poor AC. The whole punta cana experience off the resort seems to be one giant attempt to nickel and dime you to death- after our excursion (booked through the resorts dive shop) our ride back to the resort “vanished” and we were stranded in an aggressive flea market for an hour before he magically reappeared. Never again. Also-- just so u know, the pools close at 7pm. All in all, we had an Ok time but would not go back. The resort staff was great and we had many go above and beyond to take care of us but the beach situation and maintenance problems were just too much. I have tried to honestly list both the good and the bad- if you have any questions feel free to email me at [--] Oh- the best part- I can't post any pictures because our digital camera was stolen by a staff member at the Italian restarurant the first night. We forgot it on the table when we left, when we remembered and went back 15 minutes later, no one claimed to have seen it. Right.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonicTheBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews