We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were transferred to this hotel from Majestic Colonial as there was a fire at the Majestic.There were lots of things we preffered ,it is smaller and therefore feels more homely the beds were much more comfortable the food was better the staff were much better. However this is definitely a family orientated resort too much so for us 60 ish.The constant music playing everywhere except on the beach although you could still hear this when they had dance lessons etc. I would recommend this hotel for familys and young people but we will be going to adults only next time!

Room Tip: I dont think ther would be a problem anywhere on this resort we were happy with block 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mayMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,918 - 7,922 of 11,558 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

I just got back on Monday from The Dreams Palm Beach with a wedding group that I had booked (Travel agent). I can honestly say this hotel is a solid 4 star. Below I will outline the "Good" and than some of the things that need to be addressed to keep people coming back.

GOOD:

- Great size resort, can get around the whole resort on foot in 5-10 minutes.

- Fantastic customer service (I spilled a drink on my sheets, and called for new sheets at midnight and they arrived within 15 minutes!)

- Amazing a la carte restaurants - our group consensus was French was the best. Would say probably best a la carte restaurants I have been to at an All-Inclusive. (Though I will say, I wasn't I huge fan of the buffet - and have had better at other resorts)

- Wedding set up was beautiful, a great hotel for weddings - all the locations were nice (beach gazebo, regular gazebo, and set up on the beach)

- Clean resort

- Fruit Bar - Had a fruit bar set up near the pool (Watermelon, oranges on sticks...great to stay hydrated!)

- Beach was very nice, not over crowded at any point, can always get a chair and a sunshade!

- Nice area of Punta Cana - not on the main hotel strip with many jam packed resorts, situated on a strip with only a couple of hotels.

- Close to airport (30 minutes at max!)

- Spacious rooms, and nice decor.

- Large pools

- Pool and Beach drink service was good

- Great shampoo, body wash and lotion. ( I love not having to bring my own, and especially loved the quality of the spampoo, lotion, body wash.)

- Great entertainment, the trapeze show was the best show.

- Didn't have to make reservations in advance for a la cartes

- Loved the coffee shop - great treats and really good coffee

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT:

- Rooms need improvement to keep this resort at the price point they want to stay at.

Truthfully, I have traveled extensively to other chains and comparing rooms - this resort falls short in the room maintenance, and is missing a couple of needed things.

Yes the decor is beautiful, and when brand new was probably amazing, and rooms are spacious - but it is starting to fall apart. Examples of this are; Sloppy re-painting (paint on tile in shower), a lot of moldy grout on floor tiles, and on bottom of shower tiles, soap scum left behind on glass shower closure, many chips in tiles, scratched up mirror. Beds are starting to sag, a couple of people in the group including myself had back pain while trying to sleep.

Also, one of my group members actually fell in the shower - she grabbed the bar in the shower and it came right out of the wall and she fell and hit her head. Luckily she was fine, but they need to be checking the fixtures to make sure they are sturdy. Many people in my group had cold showers at dinner time and commented on re-occuring wet floors after having showers.

Room is lacking some obvious things like extra drawer space - room has only 2 drawers to put clothing, my entire group commented on that, and stated they were living out of their suitcase.

Room does not have a towel rack, so we hung our hand towel on a mirror, sounds petty to note - but again a lot of people in my group commented on that.

Room only has one hook to hang anything (our clothing line in shower was broken), and they do not have a rack outside on the balcony, as they do not want you to hang things on your balcony. Recommend the preferred club room - was basically the same but in much better condition.

- Beach grill - I don't eat a lot of meat, and the beach grill had hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, french fries, and natchos - that's it. They need to have some vegetarian options, and fresh healthy dishes. So for lunch a couple of days I ate just french fries with mayo, or just natchos...it was either that or dry off and put closes on to walk to the buffet...when you are swimming, the last thing you want to do is dry off and get covered to go eat something. If I had Preferred Club, I could of used the beach restaurant and ate like a queen for lunch.

Basically to sum it up, my trip was enjoyable. Though I shouldn't have to feel as if I should pay for preferred club to get a nice room or to be able to eat good at lunch. Yes preferred club should have extras for sure like better room location and free wi-fi, etc like they offer - but I shouldn't have to feel like Preferred club got a better vacation in regards to eating at lunch and room maintenance because they purchased the preferred club. If these couple of negatives are corrected, the resort stands to be a 5 star!

Room Tip: I had building #2, and would say it was great location, close to everything. Recommend Preferred Clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Littletravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My daughter and new son-in-law had a picture perfect wedding here at the beginning of April. There were 40 of us, and except for a few minor things, everyone had an excellent experience. Johanna is a great and gracious wedding planner. She helped in many ways above and beyond. Our photographer was phenomenal. Expensive but worth it! Gasolina, Beauty, Usher, Jeff, and many others kept us laughing and feeling welcome. The party boat was worth it 10 times over and they kept us out longer than they had to. A little choppy that day for snorkeling, but still good. All in all a wonderful experience. We miss Gasolina and Beauty, my boyfriend. Security!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Best place I have been to. The staff have made it worth every penny. I have never been so catered or taken cared of in my life. Also this place is beautiful. Ocean is clear and the sand is clean and white. Definitely coming back again within the year. Gotta have the mamajuana!!

Room Tip: Either beach front or anywhere else. You aren't going to stay in the room since there is so much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Dreams Palm Beach is an excellent resort with excellente entertainment and many things to do. They have a list of events for you to take part of everyday. The hotel staff is very friendly and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. The food is excellent and with no reservations you just wait for the table with a beeper and head to the bar. Try all restaurants and also the grill in the preferred section. No wristbands to wear and the wait staff gets to know you well and even comes out to the beach to wait on you. The rooms are very comfortable with many great views. The casino is small, but hey, you can play a lot of $5.00 blackjack! They treat the spring break young adults excellente as well! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.....relax and be pampered by the Dreams staff!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MommaCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
6.0 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.1 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.3 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
15.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
5.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 13,623 - ₹ 41,648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing