We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #76 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Honeymoon .....”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We got married on the 12th May 2012 and booked this 13th May 2012 and flew on 14th May 2012. Which was amazing !!! When we arrived at hotel was beautiful the entrance to the hotel is superb. I found the First Choice/Thomson reps some what helpful not all the time but they were friendly. The room they put us on was the ground floor and not to far from the hotel which was good but I would of preferred the next level up. Also even though we had said we were on Honeymoon and I emailed the hotel all we received was a bottle of Brugal !! I spoke to a couple who got married over there and they didn't even get an upgrade which was a bit crappy !! The first 2 days rained but was still hot so we sat under a umbrella by the pool and read a book which was funny as it was heavy rain. The restaurants were lovely we had steak house, Italian and Chinese, the Chinese was literally like a British Chinese buffet was superb !!! With the drinks at the hotel the staff weren't the pleasantest and one night didn't serve me totally ignored me which i though we would give then benefit of the doubt but no they also did it to other guest when they couldn't be bovered to make drinks which many people complained to the management they are very much based on tips and sometime would say no to the drinks ordered and make you others which is really BAD !! We joined in one or two activities but not many as we didn't find the Riu entertainment staff that good neither the evening shows were poor and we only watched one because of it. Also I booked us into the Italian for a romantic meal as It was special to us we had been married a week to the date I spoke to the Rep who said they would do something special for us ... well the table was decorated with flowers which was nice then they sat us down showed us the menu we choose our food and then never seen them for over half an hour by then they were serving everyone else's desserts . My Husband went up to say we were leaving and going to see management and they had totally forgotten us !!! . The beach was out of this world!! Most spectacular beach and we walked the one length of the beach to the other. Thomson and First choice advertise Caribbean street, Its not much of a street at all it connected to the hotel and it literally is shops all the same. the casino has one slot machine and a table and the night club no-one goes to!. I sound as though I'am putting it off I defiantly aren't but we would go back to the Dominican but stay at the palace next time or the north side of the Dominican .

Room Tip: Ask for the floor above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missbell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,617
    1,935
    1,129
    556
    382
See reviews for
1,727
2,121
83
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The food in this hotel is very good always plenty of vatiety .The entertainment started 10 00 am in the morning with yoga then areobics in the pool .After that you had salsa classes that took you up until lunch after lunch it was volly ball and a few other ball games . The entertainment staff really earned their money .The bars and food areas are all keept very clean . This is a great hotel for young familys lots to do .The beach was good but the water is very weedy which i didn,t like.The rooms are nice but too far away from the beach . Value for money this was a good holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bertim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Overall a good holiday, they try so much for you to enjoy. Rooms clean, nice resort aroud other riu hotels. Building work close to the pool, some kids didnt like noise. But not too disruptive. Food ok but the same; not much for vegetatrians. The safari trip good for information on area . Stingray/ shark encounter was disappointing. A tank of fish trying swim away but reef was great. The big BUT my 18 yr old got alot of unwanted male attention from alot of staff. Constant flirting, complments it got too much... Staff also go the disco, it mixes personal/professional. We had an incident that rep dealt with fantastic but it tainted my holiday. Not for teen girls. Great for families/ couples.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jewelsgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We held my daughters wedding here it was absolutely first class. The main benefit was we had a holiday for two weeks all inclusive as well as a wedding at a fraction of the cost in UK.
The hotel is set in Paradise with a tree lined beach and shoreline. The hotel is spotless, comfortable and offers exemplary service. The cuisine is top quality and caters for many varied tastes and diets.
Given the opportunity I will definately visit this hotel again the only question is When ?

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JURAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

just returned from what was supposed to a 5 star hotel but was actually more of a 3 star hotel! Very disappointed. Holidayed at Cape Verde, the Riu Garopa last year, a real 5 star hotel and this place did not have a patch on verde. From friday to sunday dominican republicans have a weekend at bambu. This is fine if your prepared for the large family crowds, the favouritism from the hotel staff, the total spanish language all weekend and the shortage of certain foods!
The beach was the best part, a complete paradise setting. Coconut and palm trees, white sand and the warm atlantic ocean. Always a secluded spot to sunbathe. Our holiday in that sense was perfect. We were delayed on the way home, a part of the airplane wasnt working and needed to be replaced so we were put up for the night at the riu bavaro palace, now that was a 5 star and showed us that for the past 2 weeks we were definately in a 3 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
29.2 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
957 reviews
61.5 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#78 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,329 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#69 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,956 - ₹ 22,421
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int€™l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing