We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to be if you understand French”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The place is very nice and the pool is big and warm. The beach has lots of chairs and trees but the water is full of weeds. Many accouterments and notes are in French only. some of the GOs doesn't speak English.

Room Tip: ask for lower level room so it will be easy to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nala0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Nala0501,
We’re so happy you enjoyed your recent stay at our Punta Cana resort! It sounds like you had a great time relaxing by our beautiful pool. We apologize if there was any language barrier between you and our staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope you come back to visit us again!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,910 - 1,914 of 9,042 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

I was in Club Med Punta Cana from may 19 th till june 2 nd.I was very tired and my expectations
was to relax and enjoy the beach and the sun.But from my first day till my departure it was a great vacation with a very attentive staff and a luxury villa.The General Manager Mr Barq was present all the time with a nice word for everybody and a real attention to his guests. Our chief Concierge Mr Vincent was very professional and run the place with discretion and professionalism.This humain side make the Club Med difference! For the food even if I am not a fan of all inclusive concept the high quality of the restaurant buffets and the bar coktails provide me a feeling of luxury and high class resort!
I will come back anytime !
Nadia G

Room Tip: Choose the 5 stars area with private concierge and beach villas ....in front of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear nadia g,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent trip to Club Med Punta Cana. We’re so happy you were able to relax and soak up the sun on our beautiful beach. It sounds like you enjoyed interacting with our friendly staff and dining at our various restaurants. We appreciate all of your comments, and we can’t wait for your next trip!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Superb Club Med. Beautiful scenery with bounty beaches and nice gardens. Friendly staff and delicious food. Sports facilities are professionally supported, as always in Club Med. Special shout out to Kerven from the sailing team.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrankyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear FrankyK,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent trip to our Punta Cana resort! It sounds like you had a great time participating in our sports, as well as relaxing on our beaches. We love hearing from all of our guests, and we hope you visit again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was my family's (two kids; 8 and 3) first trip to Club Med. We've travelled throughout the Caribbean (Aruba, Bahamas, Costa Rica) and enjoyed our stays at Beaches Negril and at several Iberostars in Jamaica and Mexico the most. We were curious to find out what all the hype was about so we chose to go to CM this time.

We stayed in the Colon wing, which is right beside reception, and loved the close proximity to everything. The room needed some sprucing up but we loved being so close to the pool, beach and restaurants.

This was the first time we travelled with other families. The kids were old enough to entertain themselves while the adults socialized. We were comfortable allowing the kids to go off and either watch an early show or play ping pong or soccer while the adults lingered over dinner and drinks. The kids played at the beach or pool all day, and although they participated in the trapeze, archery and soccer they didn't want to go back to the kids club.

This resort is great for babies and toddlers who would not necessarily enroll in the kids club. The main pool has a very large shallow area and the water park and playground is open to all kids. The restaurants have baby stations complete with several varieties of milk (soy, partly skimmed, whole), very tasty yogurt and puddings. The milk comes in tetra packs so you could take a carton for your room fridge if necessary.

I cannot comment on the organized activities or GOs but I can say they were not in your face; no pressure to participate if you didn't want to. Language wasn't an issue for us since everyone we spoke to understood english.

The beach is beautiful but lacks necessary shade; the palm trees don't protect you from the sun. That is a real issue for me. We would normally stake out beach chairs for the day but here we stayed poolside due to the lack of umbrellas on the beach. When the kids wanted beach time, we took our toys to the sand and they played until the sun became unbearable.

The food reviews are partly what sold us on this resort. The kids always found something they wanted to eat. My older son loved ordering his own paninis at lunch and was also able to collect his own drinks from the juice fountain. Both kids enjoyed the pastas, pizzas and real ice cream they serve at the beachside buffet (as opposed to the soft serve they have in the indoor buffet).

My husband and I are a little bit more discerning. We didn't like that the salad station was not self service (long lines) and we didn't like having to hunt for fresh juice. We did enjoy most of the small appetizer-size dishes, the white chocolate bread, the grouper and the white wine (red wine is horrid). The desserts were sometimes underwhelming for a French establishment but we loved assembling a cheese plate after dinner each night. The chocolate fountain was a hit with everyone but the lobster was terribly overcooked. If you head to the buffet near closing time there will be slim pickings.

We found it difficult to find something to eat between meals because there are periods when neither buffet is open. After breakfast I had to take out a few muffins/fruit or boxes of cereal for the kids to snack on mid-morning. And after lunch I had to make cheese sandwiches and a fruit plate for the kids to eat before the dinner buffet opened at 6:45. The beach bar is open for fast food in the afternoon but the wait was pretty long and they didn't serve anything my kids would eat except French fries. I didn't find out about the bar snacks (served around 11 a.m. and 4 p.m.) until half-way through our trip but they were slim pickings too.

All in all we had a great time and would recommend this resort, but because we like visiting new places, we'd probably not return. Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the main pool and reception are the most centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helenfromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear helenfromtoronto,
We’re so happy you had a great first Club Med experience at our Punta Cana resort. It sounds like you had a great time relaxing by our pool and on our beach! We’re excited to hear your kids enjoyed their vacation, too! We’re sorry if our dining options did not meet your expectations. Thank you for sharing your comments with us, and we hope you come back to see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is my 3rd visit to this particular club med that i can remember and i never thought this year's vacation could top lasts. upon our arrival Wilkins and Josefat were two of the mot friendly people i have met and our first impressions sky rocketed. These two individually set up what was to be one of the greatest vacations ever. Firstly, if you are worried about food, do not worry. It is simply the best of the best. We have traveled all over and the food here is excellent. No worries about being sick or having upset stomachs, there are food for all types of eaters and the nightly rotation keeps things very interesting. The beach is beautiful, private of course and there are no distractions while enjoying the sun and the waves. Club Med also prides itself on the best beaches and low rise buildings so the sun is still bright at 6-7pm rather than shaded out as most other resorts with high structures contend with. The biggest draw to club med is the formula, they have mastered it. The G.O team and staff are wonderful. In particular, Jessi Weeks, Antonio Farruggia and Yannick Mercier of the land sports section were the cream of the crop. They were all very welcoming and had lots of motivation, pep, and never without a smile on their faces. I truly felt those three are one of the most important assets to Club Med and they made our vacation that much better. The energy they brought to the club was remarkable. Moreover, the way in which they approach the professional aspect of work and integration with vacationers was amazing, i tip my hat to all three. The Fitness classes run by Nathalie Durand were so much fun, she really knows how to work off all the great food and adult beverages consumed during the stay (I don't know her secret but she has so much energy and will leave you feeling amazing with a smile on you're face). As for water sports, the sailing and windsurfing instructors were great. In particular Britt Minkus was able to divulge 2 hours of personal training to help me improve and master the skills required to enjoy the sport. I know for many who have traveled to all inclusive resorts, the long waits at the bars can be excruciating, not here. Raphael, Valerie Bilodeau, Noemie Tremblay, Kenny Bourgon and Julia will ensure that anything you want is promptly served with a smile and they all are always happy to have a nice conversation. Furthermore, i recommend you let the bartenders create their own personal drinks, they far exceed anything served on the menu. They were exceptional and extremely gracious, well done. I know for many travelling with children and leaving them in the care of others can be a very nerve racking experience, especially in a foreign country. I had the pleasure of meeting Natalie Ava Wasserman and Kaylin Wry both of whom are overly qualified and excellent caretakers. For the parents who are nervous do not be, if the rest of the Mini Club Staff is half as good as these two, there is no need to fret one ounce, drop the kids off let them have a great time and enjoy you're stay and the club. These two will ensure that the kids memories are as good or better then you're own. The facilities were impeccable (personal note try tipping the maids a few american dollars a day, trust me it makes a difference). Everything is clean, the bar and the disco are fantastic. In all this was one of the best vacations to date, i highly recommend this club. The formula of activities and G.O will make it a highlight and you will become Club Meders for life. Everyone i have named stood out far beyond any of my already high expectations and the rest of the G.O's also did a fantastic job. Thank you for the great memories and i hope that you decide to go because it is well worth it!

Room Tip: Every Room is great, if you can try and book a deluxe room, it makes a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liam-T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Liam-T H,
Wow! It sounds like you had an unforgettable experience on your recent trip to our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy you keep coming back to stay with us! We love hearing that our GO team made you trip as fantastic as can be! We’re excited to learn that you had a great time participating in all of our great amenities from our kid’s club to our water sports! We value all of your feedback, and we are already looking forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1 km away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
3.7 km away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
9.7 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#6 of 112 in Punta Cana
439 reviews
19.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
15.9 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 19,034 - ₹ 84,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing