We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
st. louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I were recently married in the DR. We did not get married at the Sanctuary but we switched to the resort from the Majestic Elegance after the wedding for the honeymoon. When we booked the trip the Sanctuary was a Secrets property but i wasn't very concerned about the change at the time, I was more concerned with the other resort since we had 24 of our friends and family staying there. After a perfect wedding we arived at the Sanctuary Cap Cana and it was so beautiful. It could not have been more perfect. After a few days of constant activity with friends and family it was just what we needed. We stayed in the suite with the private plunge pool. The room was beautiful. The food and drinks were excellent. The staff was very friendly. The beach and pool were very peaceful and beautiful. The resort was for the most part very quiet when we were there. There were a couple bars on the property that served great drinks and had a better selection of alcohol than what I'm used to outside of the US. I'm not sure if there is nightlife. We were not looking for it on this trip, but I think there was a bar next door at a marina. I think! This was my third trip to the DR and I the fourth resort that I have stayed at and I have loved every single trip. The DR is a very beautiful island with amazing beaches. I would recommend this resort to anyone but even if you don't choose this resort, you must visit the DR.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for sharing with us your kind email on your recent experience at Sanctuary Cap Cana. It is a great pleasure to learn that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to compliment us on our services, the grounds and our overall facilities.

We are delighted to read that your Sanctuary Honeymoon stay was so nice and memorable.
We hope to have you back at our resort on your fourth visit to the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,038
    828
    289
    126
    89
See reviews for
611
2,858
64
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Welcome Home!". It's the first words you'll hear from the courteous staff as you arrive at the beautifully landscaped resort area at Sanctuary, Cap Cana. And "Home" it is! We were treated like family during the entire stay. Everyone on the resort staff greets you with a smile and "Hola!" One and all seemed genuinely pleased to assist in any way to make our vacation pleasant. They were delightful to interact with. We took pictures with them and shared goodbye hugs the day we left.

Music is part of the daily life style of the Dominican Republic and can be frequently heard during the day and evening hours. The music is upbeat and just makes you feel good. It was a common sight to see the staff break out into a Merengue routine while displaying that infectious, friendly smile. It’s almost impossible to stand still while they are dancing and having so much fun, especially when they invite you to join them.

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. Clean, well manicured and well designed. A walk around the area provided a breathtaking adventure. (Bring your camera).

The restaurants ranged from very good to excellent. We were treated exceptionally well at each of the four restaurants we visited. Expect to gain a little weight as they offer dishes for all tastes. In the morning a breakfast buffet is served a short distance from the large pool. To say it was good doesn’t do it justice. The choices and quality of the different foods offered were exceptional. In the afternoon a grill was set up near the large pool and hamburgers and grouper sandwiches were offered. If you wanted something different from the restaurant menu you need only tell the one of the staff and they would promptly bring it to you, again, with that ever present smile.

The large pool has a walk up/swim up bar staffed by the friendliest bartenders I’ve ever experienced. They all remember your name and greet you enthusiastically each day. Any type of drink you can think of is available. (Try the refreshing Miami Vice).

Concierge service provided by Jarlin was exceptional. Room service was fast, courteous and accompanied by that always present smile.

Our stay at Sanctuary was indeed a pleasant experience. We have visited other vacation spots in the past but I can say that we have found a place that we do consider “Home”. We are already planning our next visit to Sanctuary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hola, thank you for such a detailed and inspiring review. Your feedback is very important to help us continue improving and providing our guests with exemplary service. It has been our pleasure to have you stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana and a complete honor to read that you have had such a wonderful time with us.

Thank you for complementing our staff's effort to contribute to a memorable vacation. Jarlin is delighted to see that she has been part of your wonderful experience.

We hope to welcome you home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We went on a week vacation with three other couples, one of the couples was celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary. I have to admitt that my husband & I have traveled many places & this resort,Sanctuary, is one of the BEST! We were treated like we were royalty, the staff was excellent, the front desk, the pool staff, the waiters, the maids, even the ground keepers, everyone of them was pleasant and very friendly! The Monarch Villas where we stayed were wonderful, we each had our own Villa and we were next to each other. The restaurants were very good, with lots of variety of foods to choose from, everything I chose was delicious! I must say that the Spa was one of the best, greatest massage I have ever had! The weather was perfect everyday, we relaxed at the one of many pools, this was the first resort that I have been to that allowed rafts in the pools, they even provide them! We will have many wonderful memories from this beautiful resort, and we will return with our friends and family again.
Sharon T.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana and for having chosen our property to celebrate with us your 25th anniversary.

We appreciate enormously that you have felt that we have been one of the “Best Resorts” where you have been.

We want to express our most sincere gratitude for having included such an important highlight of your stay...Our Staff. I will personally make sure that we share this comment with our staff along with all of the other good comments that have been posted regarding our staff and the great service that they deliver to our guests. At Sanctuary Cap Cana, we all strive not only meet but exceed our guests expectations.

We are pleased to see that the Monarch Villa was you all stayed at were so wonderful to you all. Thank you for including your nice remarks on the Food, the Spa and most of all the weather.

We look forward to having you back and to continue creating many more wonderful memories to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

From the moment I arrived at the Sanctuary @ Cap Cana with a "Welcome Home" greeting until the moment I departed (sadly) for PUJ, I was overwhelmed with not only the spectular beauty of the resort, but the staff at the Sanctuary. The resort sits on a spectular cove in the Punta Cana area of the DR and is surrounded by the most incredible shades of blue/turqiouse you could ever imagine. The resort takes advantage of this natural setting with the Blue Marlin (restaurant), Fortress (lodging and Ocean Club restaurant), pool and the incredible Villas located on the beach!

My review certainly has to include the staff at the Sanctuary, who went above and beyond my expectations. I was fortunate enough to deal with several of the directors at the resort in helping to coordinate our visit and their efforts in facilitating our group were outstanding. To name a few...Andrea (our main contact) who has a beautiful and infectitous personality did a superb job for us, Uro (director of food service via Athens, GA and a boilermaker) was very personable and accomodating for our menu selections (anything is possible!), Ethel who was our unbelievable chef for all dinners (and a cooking class that was well received) is a beautiful person both inside and out and well-loved by our guests and David (associate director of food services) who has a great personality and a very hard worker was always around to offer his services.

As you can tell, I fell in love with this place and can't wait to return in the near future! The resort is newly owned by the Salamander Group and please don't change a thing!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your detailed review regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are all very happy to learn by your comments that this has been such a wonderful stay and that we have been able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for describing our property in such a unique and special way. The details that you have put together describe us perfectly, especially when it comes to our staff. Andrea, Uro, Ethel and David are delighted to read your comments. We are all very proud of our team and comments like these encourage us to continue our efforts to strive for more.

We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Beautiful Paradise... We stayed at Sanctuary Cap Cana with our friend Mark, despite the change ofcompany, have a spectacular service, always with a beautiful smile on your face everyemployed, asking that I can serve, some days were beautiful and very funny.!!!!!!

The Blue Marlin Restaurant in ocean full of water with the waves and the smell of the sea, I love the place and food...................I always remember when I was lost looking for a bathroom, my beautiful Marlenis concierge took me into the bathroom and then walked me to find my husband and my friend, was a night super happy, always remember you, I loved your eyes and your smile so sweet, I hope find when I return at Christmas, thanks for being so nice and friendly,everyone is very attentive.

This place is great, keep working and maintaining the service they have.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with Mark at Sanctuary Cap Cana.
We appreciate that you have recognized our efforts to provide quality service and that we have been able not only to meet but to exceed your expectations.

We are happy to learn that the enchantment of the Blue Marlin restaurant and its surroundings has highlighted your comments. We are glad that your culinary experience was so good and that you have enjoyed it so much.

Marlenis is delighted to have read your comment and to have found out that she has accomplished her service goals.

We look forward to seeing you again in Christmas and that we are able to contribute to another unforgettable stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
23.1 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
46.3 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
27.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
22.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
25.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,843 - ₹ 44,324
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing