We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible place!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A very nice hotel place two hours drive from Punta Cana airport.The facilities of Casa de Campo are worth seeing mainly if you are a golf fun.la Marina is beautiful and Altos del Chavon is like a fairy tale village.
Do not expect to have a gourmet experience as the food is nothing especial maybe because the place is full of American tourist and they like what they like.
Very expensive.

Room Tip: Any room over viewing the lake next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NataliaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    255
    70
    49
    44
See reviews for
289
336
15
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Five days at Casa De Campo was a great experience. Outstanding service, great food, challenging golf and memorable visit. Will certainly do it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place was fabulous! I just returned last week from a 6-nt stay. Everyone we were with loved it! I was not familiar with this property but this was my 4th time to the DR and we will definitely be back! The beach is gorgeous and I love that it's never packed...always a place to find a shady seat. The food was undeniably amazing! There are so many choices and that was so nice! We never had a bad meal. It was all gourmet and delicious! Thanks to the entire staff for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: The rooms here are great. Ours didn't have an ocean view but we looked over a beautiful pond and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubai_shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewlett, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just got back from a week in Casa de Campo. We were 2 families (10 people in all) and we rented a 6 bedroom villa for the week. We made a terrible mistake and rented through a broker called Gricelle Lahoz instead of renting directly through Casa de Campo. We arrived at our villa, Golf Villa 176 and it was very disappointing. The tv room had a terrible mold problem, the staircase was missing the middle railings and an electrical box was hanging out of the wall. The staff didn't speak a word of English and we waited 3 hours for our golf carts to arrive.

After two nights we moved villas to Costa Verde 1 which was absolutely spectacular. Gricelle told us we would get our money back for the nights we paid for but didn't stay and based on that information we selected a much more expensive villa. She told us we would have our money in 2 days but we kept answering and finally on our last day she told us that the owner refused to return our money even though we were promised it.

That being said, the resort is beautiful, plenty of chairs at the beach. The restaurants are very good although the wines by the glass are pretty bad. They tend to have the same foods and we enjoyed staying in our Villa for meals as well. Lemoncello, the Beach Restaurant, and La Cana were the best. We played donkey polo, went horseback riding, played golf and went on the banana boats. The staff at Costa Verdi 1 was amazing, very friendly and helpful and our chef was so talented.

The location to the airport is great and we would come again although we would rent directly through the hotel and not through a broker because she was dishonest and we were misled.

Room Tip: Get a villa on the ocean, it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ANM912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. You are correct, Casa de Campo features over 1500 private villa homes and approx..50 are manage through the hotel. The villas within our inventory must pass strict high quality and safety standards customary of the Casa de Campo brand. Guests staying in our villas are welcomed by a staff that speaks perfect English; have full access to all Casa de Campo resort facilities at no additional charges; receive preferred rates on our three Pete Dye resort golf courses; have their own Concierge for use upon booking their stay for all advance reservations and throughout their vacation. When you book directly with Casa de Campo you can fully relax and enjoy your stay with the confidence that the Casa de Campo brand is behind your experience.

Sounds like you had a wonderful time with our unique experiences such as Donkey Polo, golf, riding the banana boat off the beach and more!! If you are considering another vacation, be sure to book with our Advance Rewards.. for further out you book your stay, the more you save. We look forward to welcoming your family back to your Casa de Campo… your home in the country!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This resort is truly world class: the service the facilities, the beach, even the shooting center are perfect. The resort style pools and outdoor dining is just the icing on the cake. Our condo on the second floor overlooking the golf course was clean, the maid exceptional, the bedding crisp and it even came with its own golf cart. The resort is huge and the golf carts are a necessity plus taking your own self guided tour of the beautiful private homes on the compound is a great way to spend a hour or two. The architecture and landscaping are worth a look.

As someone that grew up in south Florida I know how difficult it is to keep anything clean near the ocean, but somehow I never saw even a smudge salt spray on any of the mirrors at the beach or pool. And, the only sand that was in the bathroom at the beach was what I brought in on my own feet. The manpower to keep everything pristine I cannot even fathom.

The only thing I could say was not perfect was the fine dining at night. The Beach Club restaurant for dinner is a lovely view but the food had the feel of a large hotel catering kitchen. The lobster and steak were either overcooked to start with or held and reheated arriving at the table gray and dry. A sad thing to do to such nice proteins coming out if a kitchen branded as a Le Cirque. The other dishes I tasted at my table were, boring at best. Lunch at the The Beach Club was actually better food and service than at night.

The other Le Cirque restaurant, La Cana, in the main lodge had better food, but the service was bad enough that my husband actually said something the the head waiter who brushed off his comment as nothing. They were beyond slow, not only to take orders but to do things like refill drinks, clear dishes, or even reset other tables in the dining room...pet peeve of mine leaving a stack of dirty dishes on a table after guests have left for the rest of us to stare at, its just gross. The roasted pig I had at this restaurant was wonderfully crispy but strangely had maraschino cherries as part of the side dish, odd and not good. My husband's steak and potatoes were quite good and well prepared, but the red wine he ordered with it was not delivered until he was almost done with the dish.

The restaurant at the marina La Casita was by far the best! Food was good if typical, staff was friendly, attentive, and on top of every detail. The view over the water was so nice and the breeze off the ocean made dinning outside perfection. I wish I could remember the name of the waiter we had he was excellent, even remembering us a few days later when we stopped in for a coffee at La Casitia's bar.

Over all the trip was great, and I would trade a week at home for one more day on my lounge chair with a bloody marry at the Casa de Campo beach.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great because you get private balconies to lounge on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llavone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
12.0 km away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
58.0 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
63.1 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.9 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
63.0 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
62.0 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Property: Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,890 - ₹ 39,237
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing