We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Terrific time, location, food. Beautiful pool and facilities. Highly recommend! My family and I loved our time and would love to return.
But if you're wanting a lively nightlife and/or an all-inclusive, it's not for you.

Room Tip: Did not use the spa. Fitness center was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    65
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
311
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My daughter and I left the VH Ventana and checked into Casa Colonial. It was as if we ascended into Heaven. Everything and every staff member was fabulous. Paul was especially wonderful.
The food was equivalent to a high end New York City establishment. The rooms were decorated simply elegant. All of the amenities were magnificent. We hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It's hard not to lapse into cliche when talking about Casa Colonial -- it's a treasure, a gem, an idyllic hideway, all of that. But what makes this boutique bastion of luxury stand out is the doting and professional staff who see to it that every small request is handled, and handled perfectly. We wanted small in the land of mega all-inclusive resorts and Casa Colonial delivered on that, though it's nestled in a community of larger hotels (some of which have handy amenities, like the courts where my husband played tennis each day.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heymarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you're looking for small, upscale, quiet, relaxing, exceptional service, CASA is a must try. Beautiful rooms, great service, spotless grounds. Can't say enough. Visited at March break. Resorts on either side were very busy but CASA staff kept unwanted visitors away. Rooftop pool is fabulous. Never had to fight for a beach lounger. Food is excellent. Yes, no choice outside but didn't feel the need to go anywhere. Any negative about the beach is overblown. It's not Turks & Caicos sand but very walkable in either direction. Gated community and felt very safe. I have some mobility issues. There wasn't anything the staff wouldn't do for us. Very helpful. It was exactly what we were looking for.

The only negative was the beach vendors. Irritating at times but not threatening. Don't let that stop you. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, Ocean Front, Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I were visiting the DR so we could spend Easter with our daughter who is on semester in Santiago. We planned to spend the first part of our trip on the beach and the second part with her on her University mission campus. Since this was our first time visiting the DR I followed the recommendations from others very closely as we did not want to be surprised or disappointed. We were absolutely delighted with this resort. It is exquisite, low-key, quiet, and very private.

Pulling into the drive we were wowed by the gorgeous edifice of the hotel. The doorman greeted us at the door with "welcome home" and we exchanged names, which he remembered for the length of our stay. Soon we were seated in the airy reservation area, complimentary cocktails in hand, while we reviewed our reservation with the very pleasant staff. We enjoyed a tour of the property including the inviting spa facilities. I noted to myself how much it felt like the Kohler Waters spa in Wisconsin and indeed the bathrooms are fully outfitted with premium Kohler tubs, showers, and faucets. Delightful!

Our room had a tropical view, facing the pond. The room was huge with two queen sized beds so our daughter could stay with us also. With the balcony doors open it was breezy and wonderful.

We particularly loved that the resort cares so much about conserving energy which was evidenced by the room key's control of the power. Key in: power on. Key off: power off. We felt good about that aspect.

The food was wonderful. We enjoyed a delicious dinner on our first night, just the two of us. I don't remember what my husband ordered because I was enjoying my own filets on a bed of mashed yucca with blue cheese so much. The wait staff was superb and I am grateful they tolerated my many questions beginning with "come se dice..."

We returned to the main restaurant again on our last night with our daughter, Sara, and were happy to see that every table was occupied. Even with many diners to serve, the staff provided the same excellent service.

For breakfast we enjoyed the excellent buffet in the smaller restaurant (I'm sorry! I can't remember it's name). Again, the service is exemplary.

My daughter and I took advantage of the wonderful spa facilities and both had spa manicures and pedicures. I wish we had time to enjoy one of the many massages and facials offered. The price of the spa treatments is very, very reasonable.

There is so much more to say about this wonderful gem, the landscaping, the pool, the hot tubs, the mojitos~ I truly recommend this wonderful place to anyone looking for a different kind of resort where your relaxation and comfort is the number one priority of the staff.

We will definitely stay at Casa Colonial again based on its beauty and the facility, but mostly because of the hospitality of the staff. Thank you!

Room Tip: The tropical view is fine and the room was gorgeous, however if you want to sit out on your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suenguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.3 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,244 reviews
2.3 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,773 reviews
10.8 km away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,636 - ₹ 34,985
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing