We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you're looking for small, upscale, quiet, relaxing, exceptional service, CASA is a must try. Beautiful rooms, great service, spotless grounds. Can't say enough. Visited at March break. Resorts on either side were very busy but CASA staff kept unwanted visitors away. Rooftop pool is fabulous. Never had to fight for a beach lounger. Food is excellent. Yes, no choice outside but didn't feel the need to go anywhere. Any negative about the beach is overblown. It's not Turks & Caicos sand but very walkable in either direction. Gated community and felt very safe. I have some mobility issues. There wasn't anything the staff wouldn't do for us. Very helpful. It was exactly what we were looking for.

The only negative was the beach vendors. Irritating at times but not threatening. Don't let that stop you. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, Ocean Front, Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I were visiting the DR so we could spend Easter with our daughter who is on semester in Santiago. We planned to spend the first part of our trip on the beach and the second part with her on her University mission campus. Since this was our first time visiting the DR I followed the recommendations from others very closely as we did not want to be surprised or disappointed. We were absolutely delighted with this resort. It is exquisite, low-key, quiet, and very private.

Pulling into the drive we were wowed by the gorgeous edifice of the hotel. The doorman greeted us at the door with "welcome home" and we exchanged names, which he remembered for the length of our stay. Soon we were seated in the airy reservation area, complimentary cocktails in hand, while we reviewed our reservation with the very pleasant staff. We enjoyed a tour of the property including the inviting spa facilities. I noted to myself how much it felt like the Kohler Waters spa in Wisconsin and indeed the bathrooms are fully outfitted with premium Kohler tubs, showers, and faucets. Delightful!

Our room had a tropical view, facing the pond. The room was huge with two queen sized beds so our daughter could stay with us also. With the balcony doors open it was breezy and wonderful.

We particularly loved that the resort cares so much about conserving energy which was evidenced by the room key's control of the power. Key in: power on. Key off: power off. We felt good about that aspect.

The food was wonderful. We enjoyed a delicious dinner on our first night, just the two of us. I don't remember what my husband ordered because I was enjoying my own filets on a bed of mashed yucca with blue cheese so much. The wait staff was superb and I am grateful they tolerated my many questions beginning with "come se dice..."

We returned to the main restaurant again on our last night with our daughter, Sara, and were happy to see that every table was occupied. Even with many diners to serve, the staff provided the same excellent service.

For breakfast we enjoyed the excellent buffet in the smaller restaurant (I'm sorry! I can't remember it's name). Again, the service is exemplary.

My daughter and I took advantage of the wonderful spa facilities and both had spa manicures and pedicures. I wish we had time to enjoy one of the many massages and facials offered. The price of the spa treatments is very, very reasonable.

There is so much more to say about this wonderful gem, the landscaping, the pool, the hot tubs, the mojitos~ I truly recommend this wonderful place to anyone looking for a different kind of resort where your relaxation and comfort is the number one priority of the staff.

We will definitely stay at Casa Colonial again based on its beauty and the facility, but mostly because of the hospitality of the staff. Thank you!

Room Tip: The tropical view is fine and the room was gorgeous, however if you want to sit out on your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suenguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we were 5 family member for a birthday and spend 2 days. the all experience was exceptional.
Very professional and attentive service, food was superior and original, we have 3 junior suites they are very comfortable, spacious and well equipped.
The ground and the beach are manicured and tropical looking.
The all ambiance is chic without any short fall in elegance and good taste.
I will go back every time I have the opportunity this is so relaxing and you are so pampered .
the best yet.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very nice and the quality price ratio very nice I prefer first floor than ground l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CormierPlage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My girlfriend and I spent six nights at the hotel, and we enjoyed our time. The staff was courteous and prompt, although the servers and maids spoke poor English and miscommunications were not infrequent. The maids did an exceptionally nice job with twice-daily sprucing up.

The hotel and its grounds were lovely and well maintained. The guest rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The beach was our favorite spot, with comfortable lounge chairs and staff on hand to take drink and food orders. The rooftop pool and four hot-tubs were great for to relaxing and grabbing a drink or some food.

Now for the negatives. The hotel is surrounded by cut-rate all-inclusive resorts that serve a distinctly different clientele than the Casa Colonial. There are no decent food options outside the hotel. Given the lack of options outside the hotel, it's unfortunate that guests must dine at Lucia, the on-site restaurant that the owners have attempted to fashion into an upscale dinner spot. Be warned: the chef drowns the food in an unspeakable quantity of garlic. The food is more reliable at the other restaurant, Veranda, which is unfortunately only open for breakfast and dinner. While on the beach, vendors pestered us constantly, which is common in the Caribbean but still irritating. The water quality was poor, because the hotel sits on a small inlet polluted by jetskis and fishing boats. As for other amenities, the gym was adequate for light lifting and cardio, although the machines could use an update.

The verdict: a good weekend getaway. For our next week-long vacation in the Dominican Republic, we'll go to Punta Cana or Casa de Campo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If you are looking for a get away that delivers on every level look no further. Casa Colonial is one of the best small hotels we have ever stayed at. We recently celebrate my husband's signficiant birthday at CC and had invited 12 friends to share the celebration. All twelve are world travellers and all of left promising we'd be back the first opportunity we could.

The friendly service, wonderfully comfortable rooms (the junior suites opening onto the beach are terrific if you like to drift off to sleep with the sound of the ocean through the open doors...yes, you can sleep with the doors open, there's a 24 hour beach watch) the overall ambiance and the lovely spa are all world class. I could not fault one thing about our stay or the property.

My sense is this is the type of place you arrive, unpack your bags and never leave the property...there is no reason to! We will be back at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glap2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,103 reviews
0.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,520 reviews
2.1 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,345 reviews
2.3 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 12,418 - ₹ 35,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing