We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, disappointing beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Be Live Collection Marien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Nice resort, disappointing beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The resort is honestly very nice. It's small, but not cramped in any way, just small enough to make it very convenient to get from any one place to another. The pool is clean and big, the rooms and very nice and clean (even in the "old parts"). Everything was in working order, and they made sure that everything was very clean at all times. The beach however really disappointed me. They clean a generous portion of it for the people staying that the resort but walk a bit further in any direction and there is just garbage everywhere. The beach is also very very windy at all times, which is okay by me but others had a problem with it. The sand isn't that perfectly white soft stuff you see in Varadero, its mixed in with a lot of small shell pieces. And the water isn't that beautiful Caribbean turquoise.. its quite dark/greenish.. very mediocre. The food was actually pretty decent, but I don't eat pasta or anything fried really so it was hard for me to find things to eat, but I think if you aren't a picky eater you will find things you like every night. They had lots of different drinks you could try which was fun, the booze was good overall. The only thing i would have liked to see more of was ... music! I felt like they never really played music by the pool or at the bars and I don't understand why not.. it would liven things up a lot. Overall, the resort is nice and they do what they can to maintain the beach and keep it clean, it just isnt that idyllic image of the caribbean that i'm used to. Oh yeah, and theres a really breathtaking mountain in the backdrop of the pool area.. i was mesmerized by it every day. It's truly gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    1,251
    601
    261
    205
See reviews for
1,107
1,212
122
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our third time here...... first two under different ownership, This last trip April23-20-2012 was very disappointing...never again ! very little choice in food in the buffet , bacon two mornings , never to be seen again., food quality was down from our last stay,

Rooms were the same , could use a few fix ups here an there, we had a leak in the bathroom from the fan ( that didn't work) were home almost a week we saw no one to come see about it !

The weekend we had 7 bus loads of locals check in for $40 a night all inclusive! it was like the wildlife of the island was let loose on us...never in my life had i seen such uncaring rude ignorant people...the poor grounds workers were run off their feet picking up after these animals..we were shocked at what was taking place...never again!

Its really too bad because it was a very nice place to spend a week or 2 not a 4 star in my eyes at all !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Be Live Grand Marien from Apr.16-30. Our group was three couples and we all stayed in Building 3.The building was one of the older buildings but we found it to be very clean and the beds very comfortable. We did have some minor issues that were caused by heavy rain but were promptly taken care of by staff.We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and they wanted your experience at the Be Live to be a happy one.Special thanks to Juan.The beach was kept very clean as was everything else .We went to all three of the ala cartes and we especially enjoyed The Gourmet ,the Chateaubriand for two was excellent. The buffet always had an ample selection and the homemade breads and desserts were an added bonus. The beach snack bar served the same menu everyday so that could do with a change.I have to agree with the comments regarding the locals coming to the resort. We did meet and talk to some very nice locals who came on the week-end but it really is too much when the rooms are allowed to be overcrowded and the locals push ahead at the bar although we did not notice it at the buffet.We also found the noise level at the pool and beach extremely bothersome.We were glad to be leaving early Monday since the holiday continued for another day.I am not against the locals coming to the resort but I do believe the amount of people per room should be controlled.Overall we were extremely happy and would recommend this resort.T

Room Tip: The rooms we occupied were 3018,3320 3303 3018,3320 beach view,could be noisy at night,close to bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharronL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had recently stayed at this resort from April 16th till April 30th and I must say we were very disapointed in this resort. We have been travelling to the DR for the past 15 years and had never had a real complaint. And yes I have always been one of those people who read reviews and always look at the good and kinda make light of the bad ones. Over all this resort needs to take a step back. Yes the rooms were clean and the grounds were very nice and even the beach was acceptable. BUT when a resort choses to sell off the remaining rooms for $40 dollars a night to the locals from the near by villages its just like they had invided cave men to say. Wow this was one of the most unrealistic stays i had ever had in the DR. Locals cramming an average of 6people per room, and even having some of the workers in the restaurant sneak them in the back of the restaurant and give them a table after alot of us stood in line days before to make a reservation. saturday and sunday yes you could get a chair at the pool but who would want to there were insane and pushing and even my daughter tried to get a burger at the beach grill and a local DR woman pushed her out of the way and grabbed 4 burgers for her kids. Like really uncivilized and just plane rude. At one point we were having supper at the Brizilian restaurant and they stopped serving us and we were not even finished it was like they wanted to save food for the locals. We had also visited the couple small shops in the resort and after one of the employees ran next door to purchase a couple of beer for us he then decided to lie and kept the rest of the dollars for himself, we were told this by another one of the workers that he ripped us off, and this was right in the resort yes i would expect this if we went out of the resort but while purchasing beer at the resort. From what the other worker told us this one guy in particular does drugs and will scam every dollar he can to support his addiction, a few minutes after this happened this guy left cause he had now some extra dollars and needed a fix from what we were told. When the weekend comes they only then open up the extra spots at the buffett and provide more variety food but good luck even getting close to put some on your plate. You will not get a nights sleep on the weekens due to the locals let there kids run wild up and down the halls we even had a small boy trying to open our room door as we were sleeping. The next morning we had set our alarm so we could be to the buffett for breakfast before the locals so that our daughter could have chance to get some breakfast and fill her belly from being so hungry from the night before. You know all the clean rooms and pretty flower will not make up for the actions of the people in the resort be it locals or the workers. On the way that morning to the buffett for breakfast the pool was grose and even had several cups floating in it from the party all the night before like really its not a garbage can! For the past 15 years the DR has been our only place for travel and as of the last two weeks it will now be never again! On our way home we had rand into some others that have been to this resort at least 3 times over the past 10 years and they had even commented on since this resort had changed hands and names 3 times this place had gotten worse each time and they too said never again. We eveb one night stayed up cause our daughter wanted to see the show and that was an absolute joke/aweful. We had gone to the BeLive with great expectations and left very disappointed, we were always the type of people to promote the DR to many many Canadians. What a waste of money for 4people and two weeks, please go some where else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tammie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICAMOUS
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Be Live Grand Marien from April 6-20, 2012. Our all inclusive package was through Air Transat out of Vancouver at a great price.

Overall the resort was good. Check in quick and we were given a room in Building 6 (Room 6318). After reading the reviews we went with the intention of upgrading to bulding 9. Our room was good and after walking by building 9 with a room that had the patio door open we discovered the rooms were the same as in our building so decided to stay put. The bed was a bit hard but we asked and were given a pad to put on the mattress which helped a bit. Our bathroom had a cracked tub which leaked every time we showered but we mopped the water up with the bath mat or a towel. A few nights when we had rain, the vent in the toilet area leaked but we just put the garbage can under to collect the water. I doubt it could have been fixed without replacing the roof.

The pool is very large and nice and the beach area great for long walks. The Orange Market has typical vendor wares and were more aggressive than what we have encountered most places. The ocean was clear and Caribbean blue some days but the stormy nights made the ocean dark and dirty and lots of garbage washed onto the beach. Workers were busy constantly raking up the debris that washed ashore. The pool area was busy most days and you had to rise early in order to get a palapa for shade.

The first couple of meals at the buffet we didn't think were that great but improved alot and we always managed to find something to eat that was tasty. I thought the fruit selection could have been a bit better as I found it either overripe and musty tasting or not ripe on some days but not always. Great blended juices in the morning at breakfast. We ate most of our lunches at the snack bar which had great pizza, fries and chicken wings amongst other things although a bit limited. We also did the buffet for lunch and it was good. Dinner time buffets had a theme.

We tried all the restaurants and the Rodizio was our favourite. The Gourmet did not have the best quality of beef on the nights we went but others we talked to thought it was wonderful. The Mexican was fine but not very Mexican.

The entertainment was average but we didn't go every night. The animation crew during the day did a great job but the pool could have had more activities (and limited the elevator music in the morning). Coochie and the rest of the animation group did a spectacular job.

We did one excursion away from the resort - the city tour of Puerto Plata and the cable car ride up the mountain. It was okay. Had the area been 'safer' it is a tour we could have done on our own. The best part was meeting the people on the same tour.

We took our IPhones and paid 25.00 dollars for Wi-Fi for 6 days which you can use all over the resort, even in your room. We did our messaging on Facebook with our family in Canada. Although the internet shop said only one person could use the ID and password at a time, my husband and I were able to sign on together.

We had a great vacation and met some nice people. We have travelled to a lot of different all inclusive resorts so have a lot to compare this one to. Sometimes a resort is great depending on whether you go for one week or two weeks. If it happens that the food or your room isn't great two weeks might be too long but you can tolerate one week. A great vacation is what you make it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SICCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
2.1 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.1 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,226 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,203 reviews
57.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
2.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,275 - ₹ 17,255
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing