We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,108)
Filter reviews
6,108 results
Traveller rating
2,752
2,122
805
268
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,752
2,122
805
268
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean grill octopus quiet pool catalina building vintage club beata building a la carte restaurants carlos santana premium package main pool swim up bar ocean world dominican republic italian restaurant paradise island entertainment team evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 6,108 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

What a shame that there are now no longer any direct flights to Puerto Plata from the UK. This was our first visit to the area and to this hotel. Nearly everyone we spoke too had been before on several occasions and it was easy to understand why. The hotel though obviously not brand new was spotlessly clean,the food in the buffet restaurant was excellent and the beach was lovely.Above all that though was the attitude of the staff. I have never been to a resort with such great service and such friendly people. If I was being picky the one thing that could be improved may be the nighttime entertainment but even that wasn't bad.
I would definitely return if one of the holiday company's started flights again. Shame on you TUI for ceasing flights to a destination many UK people love.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank roland e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review on your most recent stay at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities. Our staff strives to provide you with the absolute best service every day.

Thank you, once again for the kind words and we hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

My girlfriends and I decided to do a girls trip here before the school year and it was just what we wanted! We went in the resorts slow season for Canadians, which was fantastic since we got the package for a great rate. The room was nice and cool, although the safes in the rooms are quite dated and look easy enough to break into if desired. The beds were comfortable and the balcony was a nice feature to have especially if you are travelling with a smoker. This resort is smoker friendly but you do not have to worry about smelling smoke while trying to relax poolside or at the bar.

The beach was amazing! There was plenty of lively coral and fauna near by to be enjoyed by snorkelers, a ton of beach chairs and plenty of huts. The water was warm, and not too strong of an undertow which is nice. Most importantly, it was located extremely close to the snack bar and bar. Also a gentleman named Evlein, we call him Elvis, works there and he is amazing! Super good guy, and makes a really good drink. One downside to the beach is that people are constantly walking around trying to sell a service or product, so be prepared to say no a lot. However, it is nice they are approved by the Playa Dorada hotel complex and they all have a sales number so if there is an issue you can report them.

The pool was clean and always had some sort of activity going on. The activity staff is also amazing, very energetic group that gets guests excited to participate. I often spent my afternoons in the pool playing volleyball, or participating in their afternoon "pool party".

The food always had a good selection, with some local foods available. My friend who is a vegetarian was even able to have quite the selection. The staff in the eating area were always nice, and accommodating! Be aware though the seating for the main buffet area is located outside.The a la carte restaurant were also a fantastic treat to have throughout the week.

The entertainment was okay. Some of the dancers were amazing but the majority were mediocre. If you are looking for a resort with a "Vegas level" of entertainment you will not find it here. It is nice to have to have the entertainment at night but this isn't the stand out point of the resort.

The staff was stellar and so accommodating. One night we were concerned about a gentleman on the resort since he was talking and gesturing inappropriate actions to our small group of young women. We went the front desk and asked them to provide us a security officer to walk us back to our room. They took our concerns very seriously and graciously provided us security staff to escort us to our room. Also Jose-Andres is a fantastic bartender at the lobby bar! We ended up spending most nights chatting at the bar with him.

Over all fantastic resort! I would recommend this to any traveler, and especially people who are looking for a nice resort that provides a laid back, at-home feel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trip15381387937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Guest Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

On behalf of the entire team at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort thank you very much!

We are very glad to learn that your overall experience with us was pleasant and your holidays were enjoyable. It would be a great pleasure for us to serve you again and welcome you for another great holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Our stay at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort was just fabulous! The staff were unbelievably nice! From the front desk where Edward Capellan in warm and professional manner welcomed us at the resort to the servers ( Jose was amazing, serving fast and with a big smile on his face)). We have never been treated so good. Buffet was so delicious !! (Both dinner and breakfast) The facility’s were very clean.Clean sheets and towels morning and evening. This place far exceeded our expectations, would definitely stay here again. There wasn't a thing we didn't like. Everyone smiled and appeared to enjoy working at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort The beach is beautiful ! Highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a get away and get the most yummy food and relax!!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
7  Thank Connector643744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback.

We all love what we do. So your feedback gives us all tremendous happiness and encouragement to continue working hard because it tells us that we are doing something right.

Please do visit again, we would love to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

This is a five star resort all around. Everyone was friendly from housekeeping, resort staff, servers, and especially the bartenders! Service with a smile every day! One particular bartender stood out. Laura Burgos. Always smiling and engaging us in conversation. She makes the best drinks too!!! Laura truly made us feel at home in her home country! We can’t wait to come back! We miss our new family!! Food at this resort was excellent! The buffet was amazing! Something different and delicious every day! Hotel was spotless. Loved our room and our view! Thank you to all at Gran Ventana for a fabulous vacation!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank mongee112670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

I think the title says it all.

Always the first question... Would I come back? Very doubtful. there are many other better resorts in the nearby area.

1) Location - The roadway that leads into the area was confusing and couldn't find the hotel easily. It is located next to Dorada Mall but the entrance of the other resorts were easy, except for this one and had to use the back entrance. As I said there are other resorts in that alcove area , Gran Paradise, Casa Marina, Emotions, Sunscape and Blue Bay, there are a couple more but can't remember...
2) Checkin - The lobby is quite nice and clean. It was airy and enough seating areas. The people are friendly and eager to help ($$) and was greeted with smiles. I arrived early around 10:30AM which is way before the normal check in time, and they said I needed to wait. Ummm..... I understand, but this is low season not even 1/3 capacity, so what is the big deal? regardless they let me check in at 11AM and they said it was an exception and a service. I know, I know...
3) Rooms - Compared to the other resorts it is dated and thre was rust on the lighting fixtures. The AC was on but the room was very humid and damp. I thought it was becasue I just got to the room, but it was like that throughout the trip. The bed is comfortable, but it was just generic. nothing poor, nothing great, just a basic generic room.
4) Buildings - Centrally located pool with outlying building with rooms. There were no visible elevators? didn't see it and wasn't searching, but look slike only stairs.
5) Food - Wow... bland, generic, basic. Let's compare this with a very basic cafeteria food... edible? yes. delicious? no. Let's just eat to survive... Even the restaurants were the same, as in same food but better sauces... that's all I can say
6) Internet - What internet? you have to pay for internet and the only free internet at the resort is at their theater. or you can $3/hour $10/day or $35/week
7) Bugs - Not mosquitos, but small bugs that give you mosquito like welts. bring some repellent...
8) Beach - It is not them but the whole beach area is not like Aruba or the caribbeans at all. It's just not the pristine that you would like and expect. again it's ok. But since it was off season the chairs are very dirty.

Overall
Generic. it is what it is. If you want oppulence then go somewhere else. This is the generic all inclusive resort for a fair price.

one unusual thing are the food times.

7:30 - 10:30 or 11 breakfast
12:30 - 3 lunch
6:30 dinner

so from 3 - 6:30 you can only get food at the beach bar...??? weird and not convenient.

overall find a different resort if it is the same price..

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you very much for providing us with your honest review.

We are sincerely glad to know you decided to visit us for your vacations. While we are glad to know you did enjoy the time while with us, we are saddened to learn we were not able to fully exceed your expectations. Please be assured we will address all of your comments with the Gran Ventana team.

We hope to have the chance of hosting you once more in our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews