We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,108)
Filter reviews
6,108 results
Traveller rating
2,752
2,122
805
268
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,752
2,122
805
268
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean grill octopus quiet pool catalina building vintage club beata building a la carte restaurants carlos santana premium package main pool swim up bar ocean world dominican republic italian restaurant paradise island entertainment team evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 6,108 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Our stay at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort was just fabulous! The staff were unbelievably nice! From the front desk where Edward Capellan in warm and professional manner welcomed us at the resort to the servers ( Jose was amazing, serving fast and with a big smile on his face)). We have never been treated so good. Buffet was so delicious !! (Both dinner and breakfast) The facility’s were very clean.Clean sheets and towels morning and evening. This place far exceeded our expectations, would definitely stay here again. There wasn't a thing we didn't like. Everyone smiled and appeared to enjoy working at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort The beach is beautiful ! Highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a get away and get the most yummy food and relax!!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
7  Thank Connector643744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback.

We all love what we do. So your feedback gives us all tremendous happiness and encouragement to continue working hard because it tells us that we are doing something right.

Please do visit again, we would love to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

This is a five star resort all around. Everyone was friendly from housekeeping, resort staff, servers, and especially the bartenders! Service with a smile every day! One particular bartender stood out. Laura Burgos. Always smiling and engaging us in conversation. She makes the best drinks too!!! Laura truly made us feel at home in her home country! We can’t wait to come back! We miss our new family!! Food at this resort was excellent! The buffet was amazing! Something different and delicious every day! Hotel was spotless. Loved our room and our view! Thank you to all at Gran Ventana for a fabulous vacation!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank mongee112670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

I think the title says it all.

Always the first question... Would I come back? Very doubtful. there are many other better resorts in the nearby area.

1) Location - The roadway that leads into the area was confusing and couldn't find the hotel easily. It is located next to Dorada Mall but the entrance of the other resorts were easy, except for this one and had to use the back entrance. As I said there are other resorts in that alcove area , Gran Paradise, Casa Marina, Emotions, Sunscape and Blue Bay, there are a couple more but can't remember...
2) Checkin - The lobby is quite nice and clean. It was airy and enough seating areas. The people are friendly and eager to help ($$) and was greeted with smiles. I arrived early around 10:30AM which is way before the normal check in time, and they said I needed to wait. Ummm..... I understand, but this is low season not even 1/3 capacity, so what is the big deal? regardless they let me check in at 11AM and they said it was an exception and a service. I know, I know...
3) Rooms - Compared to the other resorts it is dated and thre was rust on the lighting fixtures. The AC was on but the room was very humid and damp. I thought it was becasue I just got to the room, but it was like that throughout the trip. The bed is comfortable, but it was just generic. nothing poor, nothing great, just a basic generic room.
4) Buildings - Centrally located pool with outlying building with rooms. There were no visible elevators? didn't see it and wasn't searching, but look slike only stairs.
5) Food - Wow... bland, generic, basic. Let's compare this with a very basic cafeteria food... edible? yes. delicious? no. Let's just eat to survive... Even the restaurants were the same, as in same food but better sauces... that's all I can say
6) Internet - What internet? you have to pay for internet and the only free internet at the resort is at their theater. or you can $3/hour $10/day or $35/week
7) Bugs - Not mosquitos, but small bugs that give you mosquito like welts. bring some repellent...
8) Beach - It is not them but the whole beach area is not like Aruba or the caribbeans at all. It's just not the pristine that you would like and expect. again it's ok. But since it was off season the chairs are very dirty.

Overall
Generic. it is what it is. If you want oppulence then go somewhere else. This is the generic all inclusive resort for a fair price.

one unusual thing are the food times.

7:30 - 10:30 or 11 breakfast
12:30 - 3 lunch
6:30 dinner

so from 3 - 6:30 you can only get food at the beach bar...??? weird and not convenient.

overall find a different resort if it is the same price..

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you very much for providing us with your honest review.

We are sincerely glad to know you decided to visit us for your vacations. While we are glad to know you did enjoy the time while with us, we are saddened to learn we were not able to fully exceed your expectations. Please be assured we will address all of your comments with the Gran Ventana team.

We hope to have the chance of hosting you once more in our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We just got back from 8 days at the Gran Ventana. We upgraded to the VIP package, and am glad we did. The staff is great and friendly. Food awesome! rooms with views everywhere!! I have to say in the VIP lounge, we met Laura Burgos. what an outstanding personality, friendly, helpful!! we will DEFINITELY be back. Staff is second to none.

Room tip: There is no elevator, so if you have physical constraints, book 1st floor.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shaunsmom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you for your review and kinds words, we appreciate the time taken to share your experiences at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort.

It is a pleasure to know that during your stay you could meet part of our friendly staff and create bonds of friendship to remember, part of our mission is to create unforgettable memories and with your words, we can confirm that we comply with this.

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to host you, we look forward to repeating this success in a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We had a lovely room with balcony over looking the path to the beach and pool.Clean sheets and towels morning and evening.The food was good very good choice and the restaurant's even better.The staff are the most important more like friends always happy to talk from the bell boys all 5, cleaning staff Richard with his brush waiter's and bar staff specially Jose Andres Silverio looked after us so we'll.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valeriefowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at VH Gran Ventana Beach & Resort.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews