We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five time visit to the Gran Ventana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is the fifth time we have stayed at this hotel. The staff are always pleased to help and no problem is too small. Since our last visit the main buffet hall has been renovated to a high standard. The choice and selection of food available is second to none, you will always be able to find something to suit your palette. Failing that there are 3 other restaurants to eat (The Italian, The Octopus (carribbean) and The Ocean Grill (which sits right on the beach). The rooms are clean and spacious and the hotel is in the process of remodeling these is stages. It has never disappointed us over the years and this time we went with our grandson who become the star attraction during our stay. The Horse riding up in the hills is a blast (Lorilar) try to book directly and cut out the middle men. They will pick you up and drop you back, no problem. Go see Joyce she is hilarious. The Catamaran to Sosua is great fun and the snorkelling is fab (food and drink included-plenty of Rum) other drinks are available...
Could certainly visit again A+++++

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank BryandKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 5,667 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

First time in Dominican Republic so having read the mixed reviews on here I was a little anxious to say the least. On arrival first look showed nothing to be worried about at all, the staff were there to meet us with chilled drinks, organised and efficient booking in despite there being a number from the airport bus. We were taken to our room which looked lovely, however we discovered the bathroom had a leak and the floor was wet. A quick trip back to reception and minutes later were installed into a new room, no hassles or problem. The room itself was spacious with 2 queen size beds just for the two of us. Lovely and clean, if a little dated. The beds were so comfortable and a great balcony to watch the world go by.
Food wise, the dining hall was well staffed and the staff were attentive with drinks etc good choice of alcohol or non alcoholic ones and plenty water. The range of food served at each meal was huge and I defy anyone not to be able to find something good to eat (even I had no problems and I'm gluten free). What did annoy me were the people who filled their plates to capacity then ate a couple of fork fulls before discarding it to have something else. There were choices from fresh cooked pasta, pizza, steaks, fish, chicken, plush all the hot plate foods, fresh fruits, ice cream, yogurt, cakes, cold meats and cheese, plus the three a la carte of which the Octopus was my favourite. Even after 2 weeks the food was never the same. Plus late night food in the main dining room should you need it until 2am. The cocktail bars both in the quiet pool and main resorts were well staffed and each member had a signature drink Jackies specials seem to feature mostly. However they were quite willing to make any combination you requested. The local beer according to my hubby was also good, Was really nice to sit on the balcony at the end of the evening with a drink in hand just relaxing.
Nighty entertainment was a little erratic to say the least it but again in the 2 weeks not one show was repeated, the dancers all worked very hard to entertain a somewhat disinterested crowd as this is the only area free wifi works so most people are there to use that rather than watch the show. The resort staff also worked like dynamos where they got there energy from was beyond me. Mamajanua maybe.
The grounds and pool areas were spotless and kept that way with staff working hard to clear away glasses etc, although some late night drinkers did leave their glasses pool side but once the staff arrived they were cleared away. The hot water boilers with tea and coffee on tap were a great thing too. Nice to have the option of the quiet pool away from the main pool area which turned out to be very restful.
Now to the beach, be aware that if you are there you will be approached by the sellers a polite no will see them go away but the next one is just around the corner. This can be a little tiresome. Also when the wind is blowing it can feel like you are getting sand blasted however the ocean is fabulous and very shallow perfect for bobbing around, There is a market further round the beach if you want to walk takes around 30 mins but its a good walk and passes other resorts so you can check them out too.
We spent most of our time pool side and there were always plenty of loungers (very comfy) and umbrellas. Be aware that at weekends the locals can use the hotel so one weekend of the 2 we were there the locals did come and it was definitely a different atmosphere, nosier and more children but it was only for a couple of days so by Sunday afternoon it was back to normal.
We hired a taxi from outside the hotel which came with a guide to take us into Puerto Plata if you're brave enough you can catch the bus. He took us into the town, showed us the sites then up the cable car to the top of the mountain, well worth the trip it is beautiful up there with the eagles and botanical gardens, plus the statue of Christ the Redeemer. We just tipped the guide as he wasn't getting paid for his services by the taxi company. I'm sure if we had purchased from some of the shops he may have got a reward from them. There were other trips organised by the reps which other people really enjoyed when they did them, however I wasn't looking to do anything other than relaxing and being lazy.
All in all this was a great resort for doing as little or as much as you wanted. I would definitely go back which is the best recommendation I can make.

Room Tip: Book the a la Cartes as soon as you can as they get booked very quickly, also ask if you can have ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We visited this Hotel month to celebrate my birthday. I completed a lot of research before I decided to choose this Hotel. I was very please when I arrived at the hotel, at first impression it was clean and staff were extremely friendly. When we got to the room it was clean but I was turn off by the rust that was on the sink. My friend and I discovered that there was a quiet pool and we asked to have out rooms changed to that side. ( it appears to be newly renovated and much nicer). They told us that only the locals use the facility on the weekend and no one is able to use it during the week. Despite being disappointed it didn't ruin my trip because the staff were amazing. The entertainment was not great but bearable, the food was pretty good. The one thing that I would of like to see at this resort is a club. it appears that everything shut down at 12am -_-. Overall, I was pleased and would visit again.

Room Tip: ask for room at the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kittah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We traveled to this resort last winter and decided to pay a little more for the Royal Service and were very happy we did. Having unlimited a'la cartes, a special bar, and a special reserved section on the beach were wonderful additions to our vacation. The best part of our entire vacaction was Amable who remembered our names after the first day and did everything he could to make our stay wonderful!
The resort is quite small so is easy to find everything,
My only complaint and the thing that will probably stop me from coming back are all of the peddlers on the beach. I originally thought that if we paid the extra money for the special beach area, that we wouldn't be bothered by peddlers...but that was not the case. People are trying to sell you items from stuffed animals, to jewelry to pedicures from morning to night....I had to say "no thank-you" more than 20 times a day....It was very frustrating. I was told that the hotel at the end of the beach restricted peddlers to a certain time of the day...which would have made our stay much more enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank amazingrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

My stay at VH Gran Ventana wasn't a pleasant stay. The resort was too small for so many people. I couldn't stand being there. Kids running all over the place like chicken without heads. The place is just too small for such a big amount of people. Everything is within the same place the pool, restaurant, night club, the rooms, the theater and bars are all next to each other. It you going to VH Gran Ventana to relax forget it. Another thing about that resort. I left my sign at the room door, red (meaning do not clean it). Guess what!! when i came back, it was all clean as if i asked for it. I don't think they respect people wishes. The beach just dont feel as if you were at the Caribbean.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank bryanmata18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,610 reviews
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,358 reviews
1.1 km away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 7,134 - ₹ 23,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing