We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,063)
Filter reviews
6,063 results
Traveller rating
2,724
2,110
802
267
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,724
2,110
802
267
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean grill octopus quiet pool catalina building vintage club beata building royal package a la carte restaurants carlos santana main pool swim up bar ocean world dominican republic paradise island sea urchins entertainment team buffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 6,063 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Arrived Sat 22/7 from U.K. Checkin was terrible due to large amount of locals pushing in front, .. then only to find we were put in a room facing the pool which I no was some noise, had requested prior to travel a beach facing room via Thompson and Emails to Hotel, Was told nothing could be done that night... after 13hrs of travel from home. To tried to do anything.. Got to Room, and all I can say the Noise was terrible

Then on next day found floor and walls soaking wet, told hotel and Thompson, it was found to be problem with the Air Con.

On 3rd day was offered another room, But this was to late, and did not want to spen 1/2day repacking and moving.

Hotel Monday to Thursday was ok, but Fri, Sat and part Sunday, it was like being in a 18/20 hotel

Room Tip: Due to Noise go for a Beach View Room
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Your continued patronage means the world to us, and we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your most recent visit as much as in past years. We do our utmost to accommodate every guest room request, but unfortunately that is not always possible. We hope we will be able to get you the room of your choice on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Our room was lovely. The hotel staff was very accommodating. The food was so so, you have to pick and choose carefully. We had the Royal package so we were able to have dinner at the speciality restaurants. We really like Octopus. The seafood casserole was excellent.
But it was nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Used to absolutely love this hotel.. how times have changed can't fault the staff or the food in the restaurant but the carrying on in the pool area was ridiculous supposed to b a family hotel.. not no more! Sadly won't b goin back and will not be the only ones after speaking to a lot of regulars, real shame.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We visited Gran Ventana as a group of 10 friends (with a baby!) and had a wonderful time.
The beach wasn't too bad - not like what you would get in Punta Cana but it was still nice. There are goggles and snorkles for rent if you'd like to snorkel. It's a nice beach overall.
There are some people that walk along the beach to sell you things which many find annoying. Usually they don't bother you too much unless you engage with them.
The room was quite good, big enough for the three of us staying in the room. The food was good and we always found a spot to sit.
The resort is quite small overall so you really get to know the other guests as you see them throughout the time you are visiting.
The drinks were great and tasty. The staff is amazing and lively. The entertainment crew were quite energetic and kind.

I can't wait to go back to the resort - I just don't know when yet!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank deltalove1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I had read so many positive reviews of this hotel that we booked for one week August 1-8. Firstly, the hotel is smaller than it looks in the pictures. There are two main buildings where the rooms are and a main section around the pool where the buffet, entertainment area and reception are. The place is very clean and the staff are terrific. The BIG,BIG problem is the noise. We stayed in the Catelina building and could hear everything that was going on in the pool and entertainment area all day. This in itself is not a problem during the day but it becomes critical at night. First you have to endure the amplified noise of the "show" of the day until 10:45 PM and sometimes until past 11 PM. I am an early to bed guy, so 11 PM is really my limit. The music continued well after 11PM sometimes past midnight. If this sounds like a problem to you, avoid this hotel or stay at the new "quiet" section which is separate and requires an upgrade ( I believe it is US $40 per person per night EXTRA). Now the good the bad and the ugly.

The Good: Food is very, very good with an ample variety at the buffet for all meals.
Staff are very friendly and efficient. Our maid had our room cleaned and ready pretty much every day before 10 AM !! Plenty of staff constantly cleaning the grounds. Waiters are on the ball and you never wait for anything. The "quiet" pool is just that and very clean.

The bad: The beach has a lot of seaweed so limited in the sections you can swim. There are vendors walking up and down the beach all day trying to sell you everything from cheap jewellery to massages. This gets annoying quickly. There are also very few little shaded huts on the beach (but plenty of places under the large trees). The main pool fills up quickly so there is very little chance to get seats with a parasol after 8AM. This is beyond ridiculous. The hotel asks people not to "reserve" pool chairs but they do it anyway. One morning we went to breakfast at 7AM and half the pool chairs were already taken! You also have to pay to use your room safe: US$16 for the week.

The ugly: The constant noise is deafening and very frustrating if you want to get to sleep early. On the weekends, the Dominicans "invade" the hotel by the dozens. They are very boisterous and messy. A bunch went to the quiet pool and took their children (The quiet pool is for adults only). What is worse is that they let their kids swim with their diapers on. No staff ever interfered with any of this.

Conclusion: AVOID at all costs if you want a quiet vacation. If you love to party and stay up late, this is for you. I will not go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the buildings to avaoid the loud music.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertOhayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews