We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel so welcome on our second trip here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2008

My fiance and I booked our second trip here after staying for two fantastic weeks in 2005. We booked the holiday as a "pre-nymoon" as we got married as soon as we got home. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel really welcome.

Check in was really efficient, then straight to our room. We stayed in the Beata block as requested as we wanted to be by the quiet pool. We found a fruit basket and bottle of rum awaited us as we had emailed the hotel to say we were returning and it would be a special holiday for us. We were given white bands which either meant you were in a suite or part of the hotel "fidelity club" (aww!) we were invited to two cocktail parties for return guests during our two week stay, in the Octopus resturant. We also found that as the hotel was having a block renovated it wasnt very busy (there was no real disturbance to guests as it was all going on behind the scenes) and we were welcomed to eat at the al a catre restuants pretty much as often as we liked.

We really enjoyed our nights at the Italian (excellent friendly service and way too much excellent food! The Waiter would say "I tell you what, you try some of my special pasta as well, es excellente!" and we'd end up with a 5 course meal!

We also enjoyed the Mexican, which was part of another hotel next to the Blue Bay villas. This was to replace the Ocean Grill at GV as it was being modernised. However, I enjoyed the Mexican much more! the staff see you coming (or hear you, if you are stumbling along the dark beach) and they all start waving and jumping up and down! They were hugging us on our last night and we both felt so sad to be leaving!!
Dining out at the Victoria hotel was also a really nice evening, you catch a golf buggy at reception to take you right up to the bridge at the Victoria. The resturant is very chic, the two times we ate there it was less than half full,but we experienced excellent food and service . Both my (now) husband and I speak conversational spanish and really enjoyed chatting away with the staff, they really light up and you can get a good banter going in half english, half spanish!
During our stay we made some really nice friends, I have to say the family we spent most of our time with did not have as great a holiday as us. One couple had to change rooms 3 times due to leaks through the ceiling, coming through the bathroom light. By the 3rd move they were upgraded into a suite.
The room we had was spotless, the fridge was restocked daily (sometimes we left a tip, sometimes we did'nt...on the days we did'nt we didn't get beer haha)

If you are coming to gran Ventana and staying near the quiet pool beware! There is nothing quiet about Jackie! She runs the Tikki bar in the day and will have you in stitches. If you are a regular at her bar and she notices you are in your room she will phone you up and ask you why you are not downstairs drinking with her.

The nightlife in playa Dorada is varied, we went to hemingways a few tmes but it was practically empty. In 2005 it was a really lively place! many of the staff and animation team go to Coco Bongo (the resort club) after hours and it goes on there till 3, 4 and 5am! We got used to the disco noise and it didn't disturb us much, most nights we were having late ones ourselves, but if you are btravelling with children I would not recommend the Beata block as it is not quiet at night!

We went on the Bravissimo night out at Ocean World which was very entertaining and well worth the money, can also recommend paradise Island but it is such a long coachtrip and the snorkelling in Sosua from the catamaran is just as good. However, if you are prone to seasickness DO NOT do the catamaran, you will feel the after effects for days! Oh well lol it was an experience...

One thing I would suggest is to tip your maid, a little goes along way. our maid was called melinde and she was a real sweetie, constantly leaving posies of flowers everywhere and turning towels into swans and crocodiles! On the last day i wrapped her up a package of toiletries, a top and a little handbag. She had to get me to sign to say they were for her or she wouldn ot have been allowed to take them from the premises. She was really overjoyed, she never asked for anything and was always so pleasant.
Likewise if you go to visit the schools while in Dominican take practical things likes pencils and paper. Give them to the teachers thoough, as they children are likely to sell them or trade for sweets..
Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Slinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,783 - 3,787 of 5,525 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2008

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Gran Ventana!, this is our second stay at the hotel. 3 families came along this time to the Gran Ventana and we had an excellent time!!.
Don't believe everything that you read about the hotel on other reviews, at the end of the day everyone has different opinions you have to experience it for yourself.
I would recommend it to anyone, the rooms are clean and the maids do a great job working long hours every day. The food is brilliant lots of choice and the staff in all restaurants are very helpful and friendly.
The animation team mosquito, jellopino, pepe, johnny bravo, david, ricardo, danny devito etc..are a good laugh and they work really hard to entertain everybody they are always happy!!!! A great bunch(hope they will still be there when we return again)!!
The hotel overall has everything you need, you can walk out of the grounds and there is a shopping plaza with different shops, pizza hut, bank exchange, bars, night clubs.
There is a english bar called PHIL'S BAR, he is a Yorkshire lad, living over in the Dom Rep. Excellent bar if you want to watch any footie, drink prices are very good bottle of beer just £1. He's a great guy if you are going to be going over take him some curry powder(he asked me to mention it) because he makes currys for customers when football games are on, these are free!! also great with the kids, he has a load of board games and free ice lollys to keep them entertained i would recommend you give Phil's Bar a visit!!!!
One more thing you get more value for money using dollars instead of english pounds.
I would recommend a trip on the helicopter that is near by, and also ocean world, we did the dolphin encounter and it was a great day out for all the families.
Can't wait to go back, enjoyed it that much thinking of returning in September!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mazNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

My wife and i just got back from our holiday and this is how it went:-

We flew out of Gatwick (on time ) with Thomas Cook,great flight ,nice Cabin Crew and good food.Got to the Hotel and check-in was very fast (the cold drink we got was very welcoming).Our room was clean and the fridge well stocked,the hotel was very clean as the staff clean ALL DAY.The food was superb with plenty of choice.Overall the staff are great and do everything they can to make sure you have a great time.The pool was great they were always cleaning it as bits of the roof over the swim-up bar was falling in the water but no harm done.Can i give a mention to WILLIAM and ALFONSE at the pool terrace bar they were both FANTASIC and good fun.Went on the Discover Domomican Mega truck tour ....it is a must.The only downside to the Holiday was when we had to leave to come home....we will be back soon i hope.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jjh1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

just came back from staying in the gran ventana,the hotel was 1st class the rooms were cleaned daily, the staff were very helpful which made a great holiday.booked 2 trips from JOHN on the beach pafadise island & jeep safari, the best trips i have been on in the carribian.the octopus restaurant was world class but the italian was even better,the waiters couldnt do enough for you ,the food was fantastic,service even better.a great holiday had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank trevpace69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Stayed at the Gran Ventana a couple of years back. This would be a graet place for familys. When we went there were hundreds of kids. At the time it was not for me, but since then I now have a son and will probably go back. The food was good, shows good, day time activities good. So if you have a family this is a great place. But if your looking for somewhere quite for you and the wife, try somwhere different.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,104 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
535 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,880 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 6,907 - ₹ 21,828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing