We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,036)
Filter reviews
6,036 results
Traveller rating
2,714
2,099
797
266
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,714
2,099
797
266
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean grilloctopusquiet poolcatalina buildingvintage clubbeata buildingroyal packagea la carte restaurantscarlos santanamain poolswim up barocean worlddominican republicparadise islandsea urchinsentertainment teambuffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
4,181 - 4,186 of 6,036 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Gran Ventana!, this is our second stay at the hotel. 3 families came along this time to the Gran Ventana and we had an excellent time!!.
Don't believe everything that you read about the hotel on other reviews, at the end of the day everyone has different opinions you have to experience it for yourself.
I would recommend it to anyone, the rooms are clean and the maids do a great job working long hours every day. The food is brilliant lots of choice and the staff in all restaurants are very helpful and friendly.
The animation team mosquito, jellopino, pepe, johnny bravo, david, ricardo, danny devito etc..are a good laugh and they work really hard to entertain everybody they are always happy!!!! A great bunch(hope they will still be there when we return again)!!
The hotel overall has everything you need, you can walk out of the grounds and there is a shopping plaza with different shops, pizza hut, bank exchange, bars, night clubs.
There is a english bar called PHIL'S BAR, he is a Yorkshire lad, living over in the Dom Rep. Excellent bar if you want to watch any footie, drink prices are very good bottle of beer just £1. He's a great guy if you are going to be going over take him some curry powder(he asked me to mention it) because he makes currys for customers when football games are on, these are free!! also great with the kids, he has a load of board games and free ice lollys to keep them entertained i would recommend you give Phil's Bar a visit!!!!
One more thing you get more value for money using dollars instead of english pounds.
I would recommend a trip on the helicopter that is near by, and also ocean world, we did the dolphin encounter and it was a great day out for all the families.
Can't wait to go back, enjoyed it that much thinking of returning in September!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mazNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

My wife and i just got back from our holiday and this is how it went:-

We flew out of Gatwick (on time ) with Thomas Cook,great flight ,nice Cabin Crew and good food.Got to the Hotel and check-in was very fast (the cold drink we got was very welcoming).Our room was clean and the fridge well stocked,the hotel was very clean as the staff clean ALL DAY.The food was superb with plenty of choice.Overall the staff are great and do everything they can to make sure you have a great time.The pool was great they were always cleaning it as bits of the roof over the swim-up bar was falling in the water but no harm done.Can i give a mention to WILLIAM and ALFONSE at the pool terrace bar they were both FANTASIC and good fun.Went on the Discover Domomican Mega truck tour ....it is a must.The only downside to the Holiday was when we had to leave to come home....we will be back soon i hope.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jjh1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

just came back from staying in the gran ventana,the hotel was 1st class the rooms were cleaned daily, the staff were very helpful which made a great holiday.booked 2 trips from JOHN on the beach pafadise island & jeep safari, the best trips i have been on in the carribian.the octopus restaurant was world class but the italian was even better,the waiters couldnt do enough for you ,the food was fantastic,service even better.a great holiday had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank trevpace69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Stayed at the Gran Ventana a couple of years back. This would be a graet place for familys. When we went there were hundreds of kids. At the time it was not for me, but since then I now have a son and will probably go back. The food was good, shows good, day time activities good. So if you have a family this is a great place. But if your looking for somewhere quite for you and the wife, try somwhere different.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Me and my now husband travelled to this hotel with 19 of our friends and family as we was getting married here.
What an experience not to be missed we booked the holiday and wedding package wih thomas cook and had no problem what so ever.when we arrived we was greeted by the bell boys who took care of our luggage and left us to check in with a refreshing drink.
our room was spotless nutural decor and plenty big enough we was in the saona building with sea view (what more coud you want)
The resturant was the best we ever been to and we travelled all over you will never go hungry and im a fussy eater.they cook most of it their infront of you and if you take them your choice of fruit they even make you smoothys.
The pools and beach are immaculate the entertainment team are great work really hard (the shows could be a bit better but def worth watching)
we went on dominican discovery ocean world trips these both greally good days out .
NOW FOR THE WEDDING!!!!!
for anybody thinking of getting married here stop thinking and book you will be over the moon by the choice
ketty our wedding co-ordinator is a diamond she does everything for you she defenatly exceeds herself
we got married in the gazebo then went for photos on the beach
followed by a amazing horse&carriage trip with our 2 kids round the resort they even decorated the carriage to match our colour scheme
me & my new husband went on a excellant helicopter ride in our bridal clothes round the island breath taking
then to top the day off ketty had set us an evening meal on a
private terrace with two waitresses serving on us all evening
i could go on all day about this hotel as it is def one never to be forgotten.as i mention before they was a big group of us age raging youngest 18mth to eldest 73 and not one of us could critise this hotel in anyway
money well worth spent were saving up to go again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mossytricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews