We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planed for 10 nights but spent only 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Planed for 10 nights but spent only 1”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were supposed to spend 10 nights in Gran Ventana but only ended up spending 1 moving to Riu Bachata for the rest of our stay. I am sure at some point it was a very nice 3 o 3 1/2 star hotel but it needs updating and staff efforts cannot cover for it. Nothing bad happened it was simply a lot of small things we didn’t like but more on that later.
By far the best feature of the hotel is the beach, clean sand, barely any corral or rocks. Unfortunately even that is somewhat tarnished by constant barrage of vendors trying to sell you everything from jewelry to trips. All are polite and most will move on as soon as you say ‘no’ others are more insistent. And they are relentless you get approached regardless of whether you just sun bathing talking or even sleeping. My wife counted in a span of 30 minutes in the morning we were approached 18 times.
Besides the beach other positive things are: friendly staff, bar right near the beach, lunch being cooked at the beach.
Now back to the issues with the hotel:
Main buffet is not air-conditioned and it is hot in there in June.
Torn blankets/covers on the beds
Rusty shower head and light switch so dirty we didn’t want to touch
They charge you for Wi-Fi - $6 an hour and for safe $20 a week. (Riu Bachata has it for free)
Refrigerator in the room barely cooled just below room temperature
Very limited food selection.
I could go on but you get the picture.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,382
    1,890
    713
    249
    144
See reviews for
1,475
2,050
77
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

me and my mum just got back from two weeks staying here for my 21st birthday present, after reading some reviews and never having being outside europe before, we were slightly nervous, but soon found out we had no need to be.

transfer buses were easy to find once outside the airport & transfer time is only about 20 mins on an a/c bus which was fab! the airport is going through some renovations & was very hot so when the que for reception was large we were very tired & irritable, however after waiting 30 mins (not that long but after a 10 hour flight at 5am...) the staff were so friendly and apologetic we soon forgot all that. bellboys carry your luggage to your room, they did loose one of our bags but this was soon rectified and again apologises.

the pool - fantastic, loads of beds, no waking up at 7am to get beds can still get them at 12pm!! great if you have a hangover. loads of parasols, defiantly needed in midday heat.

the weekends - the locals do come on the weekends. we were advised to book trips or go to the quiet pool sat & sundays as they were busy. this only occurred on the last saturday we were there other than that, was so peaceful and quiet.

staff - everyone very friendly & helpful, anything you want just ask they really will do their best. if you give them a smile & treat them nice they will remember you, also a little spanish goes a long way, (asta luego - see you later) always creates for conversations.

activities - animation team, amazing!! scooby, shakalaka, alex, donkey, junior, manny, involve everyone in games which were so simple yet they made them entertaining, teach you how to play vollyball as opposed to just those who know getting to play.
also free activities such as bikes, snorkling, sailing lessons definatly worthwhile!

trips - would defiantly go on a few - have written reviews for ocean world, zip & line and the city tour for more info!!

food - after speaking to a lot of people in different hotels there is no exotic food if thats what your looking for, theres so much selection, always a roast of the day, fresh pizza, bbq grill & a special, as an all inclusive it looks repetitive but they have everything you could want for even the fussiest eaters!

shopping - hold out on buying things, they will try & get you into every shop, have a polite look around & then say not today thank you but fairly forcefully, if you show the slightest interest they jump on you haa. also the orange market is not cheaper than the plaza, you have to haggle & as you have no idea how much things are we ended up getting ripped off after seeing the prices in the plaza!

i could write forever about how amazing this place is and all the things i learnt, if you want anymore specific info or questions you can email me custardpieee@hotmail.co.uk

booking a trip back next year, lovely!

Room Tip: all rooms are pretty much the same, the air con is on a timer in some of the newer rooms so goes off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

If you are thinking of traveling with the whole family I recommend Gran Ventana. Not only is it affordable but it is beautiful and the beaches are excellent. There was always something to do at night, for my husband and I and ofcourse the kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My friend and I just spent a week at the Gran Ventana (June 16-22) and had the most amazing time. We had absolutely nothing to complain about. The food was great! And I absolutely love the coffee. The beach was excellent and we always found an empty hut in the morning. The pool was quite and we always found available chairs. The thing that made our trip memorable were the staff. Everyone was so nice and always came over to talk to us and get to know us. The entertainment guys were great and we enjoyed playing games throughout the day and loved the nightly shows. Thank you to Junior, Alex, Donkey, Shakalaka and everyone else for keeping us always entertained and laughing! We are definitely going back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLoura15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Gran Ventana for 2 weeks in May and had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the informality and easy pace, and the friendliness of the staff (without exception) made it all the more special. In fact, we enjoyed it so much that we're going back next year for 3 weeks. To all your wonderful staff, thank you for our brilliant holiday and see you next year.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the entertainment at night, then stress your request for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,975 - ₹ 20,991
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing