We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Wedding and Honeymoon in One” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding and Honeymoon in One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We chose to have our wedding at this resort, and brought 44 other guest with us. It was the most perfect and stress free event I could ask for. They took care of everything after we meet with coordinator for 1 1/2 hours. The food was great as well. We tried all but one of the resturants and were very pleased with them. The night entertainment was what we expected and not too different from what you can experience at any resort.

I highly reccomend this place for a wedding. Danilsa was our coordinator. She was new to the job and also served as the translator. She was simply amazing. We weren't picky about anything. Just chose the colors and how we wanted things set up on the beach. Besides that we just showed up.

We did bring in an off resort photographer, as well as have the resort photographer. At first the resort photographer could not offer us what we wanted ( a cd with all the pictures, nothing printed or anything like that), and so we found one off the resort that could give us that. A couple days after the wedding she came to us and offered to sell us just a cd with all the pictures.

It was a perfect day they made for us, and I would choose this place again and again if I had do it over.

Feel free to contact us if your interested in knowing more about the wedding experience or how to go about the paper work for having one down there - tdayer@mta.ca

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite, it was huge and fantastic. It was in the Betta wing which has its own quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,246
    1,715
    642
    234
    140
See reviews for
1,354
1,868
72
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,002)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were transfered here due to a bad experience at the BE LIVE GRAND MARIEN. Definately a step up... The hotel was nice & friendly, although the rooms were small compared to others we have been to & storage was less than previous hotels, albeit the tv was better (flat screen) and beds were comfy...The hotel had a coffee/tea station by the pool which was really nice, we would get up early and bring it back to the room. The swim up bar was nice with great cocktails on offer. The food was good & plentiful with lots of choices. The maids left fancy towels everyday + flowers & petals in your room. I really liked the beach, yes there are alot of vendors, but personally I dont mind them they leave you alone if you dont want to be disturbed. I bought some lovely wood carvings for a fraction of the original price so please HAGGLE. I used American $ Dollars and English £ Notes. Remember the ocean is the Atlantic so not as clear as Punta Cana (carribean side). Entertainment was ok, nothing to write home about, but overall I was satisfied. I would go back if I got a good deal, but I do prefer to try other resorts & hotels if availiable. To be honest 10 days would be enough for me in Dom Rep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leighwoodward62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Really lovely, well maintained/modern hotel- pool is very large with swim up bar- lovely palm tree filled pathway leads directly to beach. Reception area all open walled, fruit punch on arrival- great staff! Rooms very spacious, very clean and decorated excellently- very tasteful and modern, yet simple (very large and comfy beds, mini bar stocked daily). All inclusive buffet was huge with excellent selection everyday- just soo much food and choice it was amazing. At breakfast you could even watch a chef prepare your made to order fresh fruit smoothies/pancakes/ waffles. Waiters all very friendly and very keen to see to your every need. A la carte restaurants- italian was excellent, although we didnt enjoy the others- seafood not to our taste but lovely restaurants and very high standard of service etc.- ocean grill had a lovely atmosphere afterdark (candle lit, sea breeze etc- opens up onto beach!! )

Pool = amazing.. swim up bar with cocktails from 11 am everyday!! Waterpolo competitions daily-great fun! However, locals come sat and sun- very crazy and loud and they are just everywhere. Entertainment pool side was great for kids- also kids club which seemed very secure and safe (i don't have kids-but ppl we met did and they loved it!).

Nighttime entertainment- good for kids/families- local dancers bands etc. weekdays is nice (table service etc.) however, again at the weekends it was really busy again with locals (can't get a seat/served at bar so busy)- However, fantastic to watch all the locals together and see them dance bachata (local dance).

Local nightlife- slightly intimitating to non-locals- clubs start about 1pm when local hotel staff influx. However, one nice little pub with mix of locals and tourists of all ages dancing to traditional music 100m from the hotel. To be honest, I didn't feel too safe outside the hotel even though the club was still within the resort walls/gates- shady taxi drivers/men lurked the corners.

Local shopping is poor within resort- mall has small souvenir shope- again alot of shady men hanging aroung- didn't feel right with just a group of young 20-24yr old females.

Things to do- catamaran, snorkelling, paradise island/speed boat tour of mangroves (amazing-really is the proper paradise beach you imagine!!), tour to local villages with horse riding, fiesta night are all worth doing BUT, very expensive. We bought tickets at hotel through thomas cook- spent total per person approx. £200-300- eek!!. But, nothing else to do??- plus, you need to keep safe in Dom rep and go on these well planned, organised trips!!

To sum up, the hotel is really lovely and I would 100% recommend dominican republic and this resort to first timers to the country. If you go with this hotel- I promise it will not dissappoint you.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony facing onto pool- our friends got the other side (no view- just palm trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candystevo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

What can I say about the VH Gran Ventana, Fantastic, Great, Super. This is our second visit to this hotel, I am a very fussy eater and found great food every meal, every day. As this was our second visit the hotel upgraded our room and gave us 2 adjoining rooms which was great, we had the biggest bed ever and my children had a double bed each, happy days. Please don’t be put off this hotel because of the typical English people making comments on trip advisor, this place is great if you open your eyes and just look round you can see things you just don’t see in England, Woodpeckers all over, Humming Birds, Lizard, Land Crabs, Snails, Caterpillars and fish in the very shallow water. There are some great people that work and have visited this hotel have to say Hi to Luke and his beautiful girlfriend. The staff work so hard for such little money this includes all cleaning, waiting and entertainment staff. SCOOBY what a man. Any other information you want please just email me.

Room Tip: If you have problem with your room just ask at reception and they will help you were ever the can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank theparkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Where do I start.... The food was great, the staff were great, the pools and activities were great.
The rooms were the only thing that wasnt great, but tbh you only sleep in them and stuff so it didnt matter. We stayed from 20th May 2012 for 2 weeks, I do wonder if we would have stayed 2 weeks later then it may not have been so good. We met loads of amazing people.
The last couple of days alot of the locals came, and they were really loud, dont get me wrong we were loud but they were waking people up at night and early hours of the morning.
The Thomson Rep was lovley, Sylvia, she helped with anything and everything. There were lots of exursions to do if you wanted and the prices were reasonable too.
You could go out of the hotel to shops and there was a bit of night life and it was all safe, on the beach you could walk either way and again it was safe. The only annoying thing on the beach was the sales people!! They were friendly but you would see the same one 10 times a day and they would ask you 10 times a day!! They were not shy about sharing your bed either, but I didnt mind them too much.
In general the hotel its self was smaller than all the other ones I have been to in the Carribean, but it was one of the best holidays we have had :)
We didnt realise that it was advisable to take malria tablets, but we were ok, so I wouldnt bother next time either, as the locals and the rep didnt take them.
The buffet and restuarants were all brilliant, when our drinks were half way down they would just fill them back up. Service was fantastic, we really couldnt fault it, would probably go back in a few years when we have visited everywhere else :)

Room Tip: Just ask and maybe tip them and they might move you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.5 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,623 - ₹ 22,529
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing