We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at this resort from Feb. 16 to Feb. 24. We were 14 family members and all had a great time. Beach is clean, lots of tropical to fish to look at. Food was great. Pools are nice. Great staff, made sure that everybody was involved and they knew our names by the time we left. I wish I would have booked for 2 weeks :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaniellaSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,867 - 2,871 of 5,581 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

First time at this hotel, extremely friendly staff, stayed a week and they knew my name...water aerobics was a lot of fun. Always something going on at night, dancing, a show, etc. Good food at buffet, sit down restaurants were great. Can walk to the plaza, a strip of local stores and shops.

Room Tip: Had first floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

the GV remains a good place to stay! excellent food, great ala-carts and clean rooms that serve us well. The views and grounds are beautiful, the golf at Playa Dorada is great. I believe the service is better this year than last as are the shows, the GV is working at being the best resort in POP. There s dancing every night for all and a beach party on saturday the week we re there.......fireworks and all!! We did not play the towel game and got a seat everyday sometimes not going to the beach till noon. I do wish the GV would stick to the no towel gaame rule and clean it out for good! You'll have a great ime here . There s planty to do, plaza, buggy , rim factory and many excursions! The snorkling right in front of the beach bar is great.....I m not a good swimmer and I got into a school of 50 or 60 beautiful colored fish with no food for them at all in 5 feet of water the coral starts and it s loaded with fish..........perfect for a beginner like me :) I don t think we'll go back to POP next year just because it's time to try something new, but if we do it will be at the Gran Ventana . Thanks for another great vbacation!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Catalina building 2 years top floor and it's a great view and close to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank halifax69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel between 25th January to the 9th Feb.
We had 3 days of rain which sometimes lasted for about 3-4 hours ! There isnt a lot to really do whilst it is raining apart from stay in your hotel room, go to the bar or go in the pool in the rain!!
We received a free fruit basket and bottle of rum upon arival which was lovely. I was hoping for a swan on my bed by the maids but this was never done ( disapointed!!)
The food was very nice, although very bland. There wasnt as much flavour as anticipated.
The excursions are very pricey, be prepared to pay for them!

The only really bad critisism I can make is that at the weekend the hotel allows locals from the area in. They are very loud and noisy and tend to take over the resort. If there are games in the pool, they are extremely competitive and agressive. That was the only let down! Once the working week starts again things are a lot more relaxed.

Overall the holiday was lovely. The hotel was clean and tidy. The pool was spotless and very nice as well as the beach ( couldnt fault it).
The entertainment was amusing look out for Donkey!! haha
I would say that if we were to go here again we would look to book first two weeks in feb because as soon as we moved out of January the temperature started to rise.

I would recomend this hotel just watch out for the weekends!!!

Room Tip: Go for a room with an en suite if possible there is loads more room! Do not go for a pool view. Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The beach and the food were great. The rooms need updating but I do not spend much time in the room anyway. The beach is amazing. The food is great and there was a good variety. Next year I am planning for two weeks. We were a group of 14 and everyone in our group would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ennazus1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,151 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,002 reviews
2 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,447 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 7,520 - ₹ 27,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing