We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The beach and the food were great. The rooms need updating but I do not spend much time in the room anyway. The beach is amazing. The food is great and there was a good variety. Next year I am planning for two weeks. We were a group of 14 and everyone in our group would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ennazus1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,903 - 2,907 of 5,621 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

The food was really good compared to Cuba. My biggest complaint is the entertainment is just awful at this hotel, there is really nothing to do at night except drink at the resort, hopefully you brought a lot of friends with you. There is zero nightlife outside the resort. Further, the beaches are lousy as there are rocks, coral and weeds about 10 feet into the ocean. I would suggest going to punta cana instead if you can afford it.

Room Tip: No idea, they are pains in the butt to change a room once you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The resort is small. The pool is right outside the small lobby and few steps down from the pool is the beach. From the moment you arrived it becomes clear it's not a 5-star resort. So if you happy with little or no service and there to relax and enjoy the beach or the pool you will have a good time. Little things surprised me right away. There is no room service. They key is the actual key (not a key-card) and you get if you choose to purchase for $16 a key to your safe. WiFi is not free ever. Waiters only walk around to pick up your empty glasses and cups. You have to get your own drink at the bar. As in many such resort drink choices are limited. Food at the buffet was average at best, but I noticed that is the case in many all-inclusive resorts. The restaurants need to booked in advance, and be ready to stand in a long line. Not much of entertainment. Our room was dusty but after we left a small tip it was pretty clean. The bathroom was clean and so were the sheets. The beach is beautiful. And there are two pools. Overall very relaxing vacation, but lack of service very visible since we used to much better. Don't see myself returning to this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the room by the beach. They are close to everything. Quieter rooms however are by the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lidiya_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

my stay at this hotel was not as great as I had hoped. Although the people and customer service was amazing, the room was just awful. Hard beds and staying up all night because of the very loud club next door that doesn't close till 5am!!! ....I can't say it was the relaxing vacation I had planned on. The rooms need major updating including the bathrooms. Food at the buffet is not so great but the restaurants are much better. They book fast so you have to make a reservation by 8am.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here over President's day weekend. While the management might be a bit disorganized at times (and very disorganized at others), this is a really nice resort! The beach views are incredible, which would explain why all the good spots are taken so early when the place is packed on a holiday weekend.

Food is typical all-inclusive stuff, recommend the "Ocean Grill" restaurant. Rooms simple and clean.

Also highly recommend splurging and taking a trip over to their sister hotel, Casa Colonial, for a spa treatment .... fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,194 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
2 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,516 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 7,717 - ₹ 22,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing