We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Presidential Suites by Lifestyle(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$ 213
US$ 204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
US$ 133
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$ 152
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$ 202
US$ 160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 163
US$ 156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
ApartHotel Costambar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
US$ 48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 38
Travelocity
View Deal
Aparta-Hotel Lomar(Puerto Plata)
US$ 37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playabachata Resort(Puerto Plata)
US$ 96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (6,002)
Filter reviews
6,002 results
Traveller rating
2,691
2,091
794
266
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,691
2,091
794
266
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean grilloctopusquiet poolcatalina buildingvintage clubbeata buildingroyal packagea la carte restaurantscarlos santanamain poolswim up barocean worlddominican republicparadise islandsea urchinsentertainment teambuffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
3,205 - 3,210 of 6,002 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here over President's day weekend. While the management might be a bit disorganized at times (and very disorganized at others), this is a really nice resort! The beach views are incredible, which would explain why all the good spots are taken so early when the place is packed on a holiday weekend.

Food is typical all-inclusive stuff, recommend the "Ocean Grill" restaurant. Rooms simple and clean.

Also highly recommend splurging and taking a trip over to their sister hotel, Casa Colonial, for a spa treatment .... fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The background story: My family and I (consisting of my bro and parents) were looking for a last minute get away. My bro and I wanted some what of a party scene where as my parents needed a place to relax. We read from many reviews and forums that Puerto Plata had a better party scene than Punta Cana. So that narrowed it down to a few hotels, which Gran Ventana took the cake in reviews. So we booked it for a week.

During our stay, this is what we noticed: the hotel was mostly for older couples (aged 40 and higher), and the rare young couple here and there. A few families such as ours. No singles at all which was a bad thing. Nevertheless, no less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel are a few bars/discos which are open every night for those who want to party (me and my brother). Unfortunately, those discos are only lively on the week. During the day, there were a total of 10 people in each bar haha, prostitutes making up most of them. Unfortunately, for those who want to party hard during the beginning of the week, one must go into the city, or Sosua, or Caberte which is quite a distance to travel. Only those who are extra adventurous I found were doing that. It rained during the first few days nonestop for the first few days there making our experience quite boring as there were a lack of indoor activities to indulge in. Around the hotel are several others, where people can meet eachother, and there is a nice mall again, only 5 minutes from the hotel.

The service of the hotel: The hotel was very good. Staff was amazing, very friendly people. Food was good, not extra-ordinary but good. When the sun came out towards the end of the week, the beach was lively with a lot to see. Many beach activities were available to engage in, beach volleyball, parasailing, jetskiiing etc etc. The rooms were good. They showed visible signs of age, ie marks on the walls, washroom was very dated. There was absolutely no pressure in the shower unfortunately but all of us could live without that for a week. We were told we were getting a double room, but that actually meant, one large bed. Therefore, me and my brother had to share a bed, as opposed to two smaller, seperate beds. That was annoying. There was always something to watch on tv, from multiple sports channels to a few movie channels always playing. Wifi was available in the lobby for 3 dollars per half an hour which was fair. The cleaning maids for each room were exceptional and honest (as we heard horror stories from other hotels and their cleaning staff). I cannot stress how friendly the staff was here, and very helpful. It was very impressive. There were several bars to endulge in as well, and it didn't take very long at all to get a drink.

In the end, we had a good week especially when the Sun came out. Played tennis, rode the bikes around, there were a few pool tables and a ping pong pong table to kill the time.

All these reviews are really dependent on the week you choose. One week the weather can be terrible, the other week it could be great.

I would definitely recommend this hotel over others though. Would I stay here again? Probably not, as I would like to try something different.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PistolPete12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here from Feb 3 to Feb 10. My husband and I had a fantastic time.
The hotel was great, the food was very good. The al-a-cartes were excellent. We enjoyed every one of them.
The pool was very refreshing and very clean.
The entertainers, especially Mani and Donkey, Sarah says Hi!!! were excellent. All of them worked very hard every single day. Every night, the show was different and we enjoyed them throughly. Lots of laughing for sure.
We meet some very nice people especially, Wayne and Noreen, we enjoyed your company very much.
We feel everything was very good, drinks, beach, room, and food. Enjoy, we did.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HollybellOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from this resort Feb 9 to 16 2012.
Rooms....We stayed in room 1328 Sona building. Generally speaking the rooms were dated but clean,the bar frig was looking pretty run down. The safe was a key method as well as the room doors, which was a little bit of a pain having to carry keys. Our patio door wouldn't lock and was very stiff. Called about it but was never fixed
Food....Excellent, large variety every day different meat at the carving station. Visited all 3 a la carte and each was wonderful. Even the beef was good especially the beef at the Italian.
One negative about the food was there is about 1 hour went you can't get food anywhere [between 5:00 and 6:00 pm].
Beach....nice sand, several fairly large reefs for snorkling
neg ...too many peddles on the beach.....guests that occupy chairs with beach towels but are not actually there for more than 2 hours...WHAT"S WITH THAT!!!! JUST POOR MANNERS IN MY OPINION.
Tours... Booked 3 tours with James at Caribbean Tours. Had a great time with a smaller group and at reasonable cost.
Had to reschedule one trip due to illness [stay away from the clams]. One trip partially rained out and couldn't rebook therefore we were reimbursed for that portion of the excursion. Very accommodating guy!!!
Bar service....great service, very strong drinks, terrible Margarita's
Maid service.....a little lacking in our case although other guest said it was great.
3 people in our room ...always had to ask for extra towels, water, drinks
asked for an extra blanket almost daily and never did receive one, on one occasion there was no top sheets or blankets at all on our daughter's bed...called the front desk at 9:00 pm and never received them until after 11:00 pm.
Front desk / maid service.......locked ourselves out of our room on the last full day at the resort ...went to the front desk and explained the situation, assured that house keeping would be right up to open it for us....to make a long story short, three trips to the front desk, one phone call from another guest on our behalf and still no result.....this all started at 6:15 pm....so at 8:05 pm and back at the front desk and a little displeased....It was only after slamming my hand on the front desk and saying that I will break the door down if someone wasn't there within 5 mins that someone actually opened our door. I was furious!!!!! THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Pools....Two to choose from ...main pool lots of activity, very lively.....Quiet pool, just that very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you are not pleased with your service even though you might think it is trivial mention it to your tour rep so things can be corrected...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Country_folkBalmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraResort, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We do apologize that the service to your room was not up to par. We take all comments very seriously and will do our best to make sure all of guests receive the exemplary service they deserve. One note on the key situation, we have in fact started the process of changing all rooms to electronic keys. The Saona and Catalina buildings are scheduled to complete to change over this week, and the Beata building conversion will begin next week. We hope you will be pleased with our upgrades on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We've traveled to several destinations and we're very happy with the VH. So here is an honest appraisal of our 7 days there. Had to be moved after the first night as our air conditioner was so loud it sounded like a jet taking off and it was a room beside the busy pool that we knew would be too loud for us. We were moved the next morning to a quiet 3rd floor room a few steps from the beach. The rooms are large and clean but a little outdated. The mattress are hard but after a long day in the sun we were so tired it didn't matter. Ended up with an old TV in the second room that had terrible reception (the first room had a new flat screen) But we decided it wasn't worth moving again. And we certainly didn't spend alot of time in our rooms. The beach was beautiful, you could walk for miles. There are scores of beach vendors and they do ask all the time if you want to buy something but just say NO thank you and they will not ask you again. You do have to plant yourself very early on the beach to get a chair. The main pool is very loud so in the afternoon we often went to the quiet pool with a book to read....which was great. The food was very good, didn't have one problem with it at all............lots of variety. Had a wonderful omelet to start the day. We did one trip, Paradise Island for snorkeling, which was pretty amazing (bought the tickets from James at the plaza for 50 rather than the 89 that the hotel was charging) but be aware this is a very long bus ride to the Island. At least 21/2 hours one way and while it was fine for us it would be a very, very long ride for children. We were very happy to finally arrive back at the hotel, but had no regrets at spending the money. Every one was very nice to deal with at the hotel. We just routinely left a tip every meal.......they worked hard for it and were very grateful. The hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport and that was one of the deciding factors for picking this hotel. We had 6 amazing days of sun and 1 full day of rain. It was a great vacation and we would head back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryKtichener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews