We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad to say.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

my stay at this hotel was not as great as I had hoped. Although the people and customer service was amazing, the room was just awful. Hard beds and staying up all night because of the very loud club next door that doesn't close till 5am!!! ....I can't say it was the relaxing vacation I had planned on. The rooms need major updating including the bathrooms. Food at the buffet is not so great but the restaurants are much better. They book fast so you have to make a reservation by 8am.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,504)
There are newer reviews for VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,820 - 2,824 of 5,504 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here over President's day weekend. While the management might be a bit disorganized at times (and very disorganized at others), this is a really nice resort! The beach views are incredible, which would explain why all the good spots are taken so early when the place is packed on a holiday weekend.

Food is typical all-inclusive stuff, recommend the "Ocean Grill" restaurant. Rooms simple and clean.

Also highly recommend splurging and taking a trip over to their sister hotel, Casa Colonial, for a spa treatment .... fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The background story: My family and I (consisting of my bro and parents) were looking for a last minute get away. My bro and I wanted some what of a party scene where as my parents needed a place to relax. We read from many reviews and forums that Puerto Plata had a better party scene than Punta Cana. So that narrowed it down to a few hotels, which Gran Ventana took the cake in reviews. So we booked it for a week.

During our stay, this is what we noticed: the hotel was mostly for older couples (aged 40 and higher), and the rare young couple here and there. A few families such as ours. No singles at all which was a bad thing. Nevertheless, no less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel are a few bars/discos which are open every night for those who want to party (me and my brother). Unfortunately, those discos are only lively on the week. During the day, there were a total of 10 people in each bar haha, prostitutes making up most of them. Unfortunately, for those who want to party hard during the beginning of the week, one must go into the city, or Sosua, or Caberte which is quite a distance to travel. Only those who are extra adventurous I found were doing that. It rained during the first few days nonestop for the first few days there making our experience quite boring as there were a lack of indoor activities to indulge in. Around the hotel are several others, where people can meet eachother, and there is a nice mall again, only 5 minutes from the hotel.

The service of the hotel: The hotel was very good. Staff was amazing, very friendly people. Food was good, not extra-ordinary but good. When the sun came out towards the end of the week, the beach was lively with a lot to see. Many beach activities were available to engage in, beach volleyball, parasailing, jetskiiing etc etc. The rooms were good. They showed visible signs of age, ie marks on the walls, washroom was very dated. There was absolutely no pressure in the shower unfortunately but all of us could live without that for a week. We were told we were getting a double room, but that actually meant, one large bed. Therefore, me and my brother had to share a bed, as opposed to two smaller, seperate beds. That was annoying. There was always something to watch on tv, from multiple sports channels to a few movie channels always playing. Wifi was available in the lobby for 3 dollars per half an hour which was fair. The cleaning maids for each room were exceptional and honest (as we heard horror stories from other hotels and their cleaning staff). I cannot stress how friendly the staff was here, and very helpful. It was very impressive. There were several bars to endulge in as well, and it didn't take very long at all to get a drink.

In the end, we had a good week especially when the Sun came out. Played tennis, rode the bikes around, there were a few pool tables and a ping pong pong table to kill the time.

All these reviews are really dependent on the week you choose. One week the weather can be terrible, the other week it could be great.

I would definitely recommend this hotel over others though. Would I stay here again? Probably not, as I would like to try something different.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PistolPete12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here from Feb 3 to Feb 10. My husband and I had a fantastic time.
The hotel was great, the food was very good. The al-a-cartes were excellent. We enjoyed every one of them.
The pool was very refreshing and very clean.
The entertainers, especially Mani and Donkey, Sarah says Hi!!! were excellent. All of them worked very hard every single day. Every night, the show was different and we enjoyed them throughly. Lots of laughing for sure.
We meet some very nice people especially, Wayne and Noreen, we enjoyed your company very much.
We feel everything was very good, drinks, beach, room, and food. Enjoy, we did.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HollybellOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from this resort Feb 9 to 16 2012.
Rooms....We stayed in room 1328 Sona building. Generally speaking the rooms were dated but clean,the bar frig was looking pretty run down. The safe was a key method as well as the room doors, which was a little bit of a pain having to carry keys. Our patio door wouldn't lock and was very stiff. Called about it but was never fixed
Food....Excellent, large variety every day different meat at the carving station. Visited all 3 a la carte and each was wonderful. Even the beef was good especially the beef at the Italian.
One negative about the food was there is about 1 hour went you can't get food anywhere [between 5:00 and 6:00 pm].
Beach....nice sand, several fairly large reefs for snorkling
neg ...too many peddles on the beach.....guests that occupy chairs with beach towels but are not actually there for more than 2 hours...WHAT"S WITH THAT!!!! JUST POOR MANNERS IN MY OPINION.
Tours... Booked 3 tours with James at Caribbean Tours. Had a great time with a smaller group and at reasonable cost.
Had to reschedule one trip due to illness [stay away from the clams]. One trip partially rained out and couldn't rebook therefore we were reimbursed for that portion of the excursion. Very accommodating guy!!!
Bar service....great service, very strong drinks, terrible Margarita's
Maid service.....a little lacking in our case although other guest said it was great.
3 people in our room ...always had to ask for extra towels, water, drinks
asked for an extra blanket almost daily and never did receive one, on one occasion there was no top sheets or blankets at all on our daughter's bed...called the front desk at 9:00 pm and never received them until after 11:00 pm.
Front desk / maid service.......locked ourselves out of our room on the last full day at the resort ...went to the front desk and explained the situation, assured that house keeping would be right up to open it for us....to make a long story short, three trips to the front desk, one phone call from another guest on our behalf and still no result.....this all started at 6:15 pm....so at 8:05 pm and back at the front desk and a little displeased....It was only after slamming my hand on the front desk and saying that I will break the door down if someone wasn't there within 5 mins that someone actually opened our door. I was furious!!!!! THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Pools....Two to choose from ...main pool lots of activity, very lively.....Quiet pool, just that very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you are not pleased with your service even though you might think it is trivial mention it to you...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Country_folkBalmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraResort, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We do apologize that the service to your room was not up to par. We take all comments very seriously and will do our best to make sure all of guests receive the exemplary service they deserve. One note on the key situation, we have in fact started the process of changing all rooms to electronic keys. The Saona and Catalina buildings are scheduled to complete to change over this week, and the Beata building conversion will begin next week. We hope you will be pleased with our upgrades on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,089 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,307 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 7,031 - ₹ 21,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing