We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,676)
Filter reviews
2,676 results
Traveller rating
1,665
663
224
73
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,665
663
224
73
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun clubcoco cafepizza shopwindows buffetda mariogaucho grillcastaways restaurantno reservations requiredmain poolasian restaurantfoam partygreat resorta la carte restaurantsrecommend this resortkids clubfamily vacationentertainment team
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 2,676 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I travelled with my best friend and 2 other girls to this great resort from Mar 28 to Apr 4 over the Easter holiday. The first part of our trip was during Holy Week and we didn’t notice any difference in the service or amenities offered other than water sports not being available. It was a great trip from start to finish and I really tried to come up with some constructive criticism but I can’t. It was simply great.

Room

We were assigned room 3205 in building 3. Our room was in the Sun Club adults only section and our balcony faced the lobby. It was pretty loud at night with lots of people having a good time but being so close to the lobby provided an amazing wifi connection. The room was very clean and the cleaning staff were so friendly.

Sun Club

Worth every penny of the upgrade. The private check in was fast and efficient. They were very apologetic when we had to wait 15 min for our room to be ready. Not a big deal at all when they kept the cold beer coming from the bar around the corner from the check in desk. The bar area and staff were great. They have all the high end liquors, Presidente and Budweiser bottled beer, champagne and an espresso machine which makes a dozen different coffee beverages. Snacks are plentiful. In our room we had much better amenities with full sized shampoo, conditioner and body wash. We asked for the pillow menu and they brought a selection of pillows for us to choose from. Another bonus of being in the Sun Club is that you don’t have to check out towels like the rest of the resort. The reception area always has plenty on hand that you can just take and replace your used towels.

Food

As a vegan, I was elated with the selection of food that I could eat. The ala cartes have 1 or 2 options which was nice but we gravitated towards the buffet most of the time as they offered so many great options. They use olive oil, not butter on their vegetables and there were 2-4 vegetable dishes offered with lunch and dinner. My favourite was the mashed plantain with red onion. They always had a plain rice and stewed bean or lentil dish that provided ample protein. The pasta bar provided another great option and was available for both lunch and dinner every day.

Beach/Pool

The water was super rough the first day we got there but by the second day it calmed down and by the third day it was perfect for swimming. The staff were diligent cleaning the beach every morning. Lots of chairs to choose from with varying degrees of sun/shade. Miles of beach to walk in both directions. There were a lot of locals selling their wares on the beach but a quick “No Gracias” and they were on their way. I found they usually just walked by if we were immersed in our books.

Pools were clean and refreshing. Need to get out early if you want a chair by the main pool…they go fast.

Great trip and would not hesitate to go back or recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2018
3  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for trusting us your holidays in Sunscape Puerto Plata

All the member of our Sunscape Puerto Plata, that served you during your stay, will be thrilled to receive your wonderful comments.

Your kind feedback and suggestions are much appreciated; we will add these remarks in our plan of continuous enhancement, as they help us to achieve perfection in every aspect.

We know we’ve said it before, but thank you again, for the affections expressed in your thanks to our staff; rest assured that we will go out of our way to surpass your expectations in future visits.

We look forward to your return!

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Not bad for the price but sunclub is a must,gets you upgrade drinks,room, dinner reservations(a big plus some people wait over two hour and we walked right in) and all the staff in the sunclub was top notch.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank bigj1045g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This was an amazing resort, very clean, rooms were spacious, comfy and equipped with fully working aircon, hairdryer, iron/board, safe, mini bar that was always topped up, toiletries that was replenished, and it even had an umbrella incase it rained.
This was a family holiday and my 9 year old and 16 year old loved it, there was so much for them to do. The facilities, activities and the entertainment was fantastic, they really work hard to make the shows great. Specially Julio aka the rock, misael, Hilary and maicol, they totally Made our holiday not to mention the other staff starling and Stylin they are so friendly and don’t expect anything in return unlike a few places I’ve been.
The staff in the restaurants couldn’t have been more helpful and greeted us with such a warm welcome, made us feel part of the family and anything u wanted or needed wasn’t a problem. The food was great, there was always something even for the fussiest eaters, great choice of restaurants and even had there own little coffee shop, which was amazing. You could eat 24 hours as there is always something opened for food, even at 2/3am after the disco at the beach.
The pools and grounds were cleaned constantly and are lovely to relax in.
And the beach was literally on the door step, great for a long stroll after food. We have stayed at a few different resorts in Dominican Republic but this one has been the best yet, We will definitely be returning to sunscape in puerto plata.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank wee_debs_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear wee_debs_m,

We are so pleased you allowed our wonderful resort to be your holiday destination and we are very thankful for the time you have taken to share your experience.

It is wonderful to learn that your time with us met with your expectations and it has been a pleasure to read all of your great feedback.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I went to Sunscape resort in Puerto Plata. We had an amazing time, all of the
staff is amazing helpful with every little thing that was asked. This was our first time in Dominican Republic and we can’t wait to go back. We loved to eat at Windows and by the Beach. We also tried out the other restaurants, but Windows and the beach was our favorite.
My family wants to go back next winter without a doubt!!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Carolina G,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Sunscape Puerto Plata. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you enjoyed all facilities. It was a pleasure to have welcomed you home. We certainly hope that we have the honor of being able to vacation with you in the future.

Kind regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I switched to this from another hotel, Sunscape was nice, food was average, service was great. Beware of people soliciting on the beach, they are VERY expensive and do not take no for an answer. The beach was not as clean and clear as expected.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Selvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Selvia M,

Thanks for your comments. As a service oriented company, we understand there is always room for improvements and our guests’ experiences play a key role in this continuous process. We have been working in order to improve each one of the areas you mentioned, as it is our main priority to provide excellent service in all areas.

We are very grateful for your honest feedback and we hope to see you in a future so you can witness all our improvements.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews