We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and CLEAN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acuarium Resort Hotel
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and CLEAN!”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

At first sight you might have second thoughts about staying here, judging from the outside ruckus that you will see on the weekends. Once inside, you're in another dimension. This hotel is a nice, quaint, comfortable and clean place to sleep overnight or have an extended stay. If you are looking for expensive sheets, towels and luxury soaps, skip it. It is a no-frills place but very comfortable and most important, very clean.
Front desk and security guard in front are very pleasant and welcoming. Check in will be very smooth. The rooms itself are big - it has a living/dining area, kitchen, bedroom and bath. Only thing though - I wish they had a TV in the bedroom and not only in the living room.
Breakfast is not included but for around $6 you can enjoy a variety of "continental" fare. They do provide morning coffee and tea on the house.
Overall, I give it a 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bx10459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    32
    10
    11
See reviews for
31
23
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanham, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I have use the hotel so many times since 2005 when my friend Henry decided to buy there. He purchase a two bedroom two bath, the apt/room is great especially when you have guest. I love Chris, she makes me and my friends feel right at home. I was sorry to hear that Chris no longer works there. My trip this time was not up to par, the room I usually use everytime I visit was molding smelling and the televison get not work. I ask to move to another room which was four stories up and the air only work in the bedrooms which was not pleasant.and my friend had a fit because our two bedroom two bath is in the newer building very modern. The service was ok but I understand it was taken over by new management so hopefully when I return this July everything will be working and the service top rate again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redronnie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My family and I recently stay for approximately five days at this hotel. I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the accomodations; spacious and tropically decorated room. The room did have a small mold problem in the bathroom and no AC in the livingroom/diningroom/additional room aread, but okay. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The restaurant on site mainly serves italian fare, but I must say that the food was quite good and affordable. Now..having said all of that...I was really taken aback by the amount of single man staying at the hotel and shocked by the amount of them that were accompanied by what were very apparently local prostitutes. Furthermore there is what appears to be a bordello just accross the street (my husband got propositioned when we passed the place in our car with our kid in the back). This really took away from the hotel, which is generally lovely and nicer than the pictures posted on line. I would not recommend this place for a family nor would I recommend it for someone who wants to be near city attractions unless you are renting a car or feel very comfortable traveling around Santo Domingo. The hotel is about a block away from the sea, however, it is not waterfront nor can you or should you safely walk this area at night. Acuarium is fine for the price, but I don't recommended for families looking for a tropical getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Morena75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWjERSEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2008

People giving reviews are ridiculous.Vicente,Wesito,Maurico all went to this faboulous hotel.W e had a wonderful time Cris the manager we love ,love her dearly. Anna the cook is fabolous and Vicente is truly in love with her cookin making her a very hot addition to the staff .We say this because we are frequent guests of the establishment since our arrival on 2005.AND WE WILL BE BACK IN FEB. OF 2009.

  • Liked — STAFF
  • Disliked — PAY FOR A GREAT TRIP
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WESITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

This place was right off the freeway, that was a plus for such a big country... but the service wasn't that great. The room was okay, but when we asked for towels, they were stingy and we had to ask 3 times! My boyfriend and I were disgusted by the sorry food, you'd think you couldn't really mess up a ham sandwich! The energy was not there, the staff definitely needs to step up the smiles and management needs to make sure they are clearly there for customer service! I know that those essential things would have made a great deal of a change of how I experienced hotel acuarium. Every hotel should get rated on that.

  • Liked — convenient location to Santo Domingo
  • Disliked — SERVICE/food/hospitality
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dj_imi_aimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Casa Naemie
#20 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Hotel Napolitano
#29 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Plaza De La Cultura
Hostal Riazor
Hostal Riazor
#31 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maison Gautreaux
#67 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Hotel Plaza Del Sol
#30 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#36 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acuarium Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acuarium Resort Hotel

Property: Acuarium Resort Hotel
Address: Calle 11 No. 5 Ensanche Isabelita | Avenida España, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,229 - ₹ 5,554
Hotel Class:3 star — Acuarium Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acuarium Suite Resort is a resort that is located on the Malecon del Este, the seafront of Santo Domingo, a city rich in history, music and entertainment. Free transportation via the Hotel's shuttles bus to the famous Boca Chica beach is available daily at established times. The Acuarium is composed of suites consist of one or two bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom. They are equipped with every comfort: air conditioning, cable TV, WI-FI. The property offers inside a magnificent tropical gardens, a swimming pool, jacuzzi, massage center, restaurant and pizzeria. The restaurant offers a wide selection of international dishes, Dominican and Italian. The Acuarium organizes for its guests guided tours to discover the wonders of the island: a visit to the colonial part of town where you can visit the house of Christopher Columbus in the excursion to Saona Island launches, a tropical wonder covered palm trees and inhabited only by a few fishermen, the nights out to have fun in the many cafes where you can dance the merengue and salsa. During the day you can relax on the white sand beach of Boca Chica, the beach of Santo Domingo where the Hotels offers complimentary bus Transportation at established times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Acuarium Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuarium Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing