We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Architectural Gem in Colonial Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Architectural Gem in Colonial Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We spent our last night in the DR at this hotel and loved everything about it. It was charming in a great location and beautifully appointed. The pool was lovely, we welcomed the free wi-fi and enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant, the best meal we had in the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    217
    47
    23
    9
See reviews for
108
288
60
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

In general, the experience at this hotel was very good. After looking other hotels in Santo Domingo, such as the Hilton, Intercontinental, etc, I am glad I picked this one.
Location is great. Situated right in the colonial part of the city, with a few nice restaurants within walking distance. The other hotels I looked at are located in the "malecon", which is very busy and full of cars.
Everything in the hotel is remodeled and looks new. The rooms are not too big but very comfortable. Nice beds, free wifi. The pool is very small and simple, nothing special. Very small gym as well.
The restaurant at the hotel is very good, nice buffet for breakfast and overall good food.
One downside to this hotel is that is located next to the port. When I stayed here, there was a huge ferry always parked there with the engines on.
Overall great hotel in Santo Domingo. If I have to go back to Santo Domingo I would definitely stay there instead of the other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms next to the restaurant because it can be a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you also for let us know about the port, you are right, the port near us is active and the ferry is there a few days a week.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sicerely yours,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and quiet, at least it was in May. The common areas evoke the colonial period that it is part of. Amenities are all up to date - wifi in each room and in the lobbies (free), comfortable beds, nice bathrooms/showers. The only downside was the cost of breakfast - US$25 pp - completely inappropriate. After the first day, we headed out in the morning and found a nice hole in the wall with excellent coffee and inexpensive eggs (Cafeteria).

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests. As you said we have internet free available in the all hotel for the comfort of our guests. We work to make each moment of our guests special.

I really appreciate your words about your stay with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The entire experience at the hotel was a pleasure. I was traveling to Santo Domingo for business and sick of the usual Hilton or Marriott choices. This hotel is something special - built in a century old building, the rooms feel unique and breath character. The service is impeccable - everyone went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. The true highlight for me was the restaurant. I'm someone who sticks to room service, but venture out to the restaurant instead for a change. I was so impressed by the friendly service and food I ended up eating there every night of my stay, just so I could try everything on the menu. The breakfast was also excellent, as was the location and proximity to the tourist sites and my business meetings. I also felt safe - security was tight night and day with guards constantly on duty at the front of the hotel. I also noticed many tourist police on duty. The in-room safe worked well. My only complaint was occasionally I didn't have enough drinking water, but I remedied that by taking extra bottles at breakfast to last me the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FreqBusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Thank you for give us the opportunity to show you that we have for you and the different that we are.

It's not necessary to take extra bottles of water from breakfast, in case the guest wish more can request to the front desk and somebody going to carry it to the room. It's a little advise for your next visit.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Billini Hotel
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Property: Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Address: Calle las Damas, Santo Domingo 10130, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,604 - ₹ 13,077
Hotel Class:5 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing