We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
92
38
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
38
16
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2017

A bit of a drive from the airport ,but 10 minutes fro Roseau ,Papillot was tucked into the hillside amidst giant tropical ferns and horticultural wonders. Our room(#10) was 66 steps up from the resto. It was a bit dated but felt like camping in the rainforest.no hot water in the shower ,but we had a private natural hot pool at our doorstep,which was great after a long hike or swim in the falls. The food was really good ,chosen in the a.m.,and the staff friendly .great Dominican rum punches topped off the day of hiking before a great dinner overlooking the green valley and steep cliffs . Sweet little birds joined us for breakfast ,loving the sugar and homemade jams. My daughter and I had a great time .

Room Tip: Lots of stairs. No AC.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank grinnellrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Thank you to all the great staff at Papillote! The food was amazing, the service gracious and Marcel's tour was superb! Our group all enjoyed every aspect of the tour and lunch and to top it off with a long soak in the spa pools only capped an excellent adventure!!!
Thank you for a wonderful day in your gorgeous retreat!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank AWaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The grounds here are incredible. The owner, Ann Baptiste, celebrated her 87th birthday while we visited and she'd been on the island building this place for nearly 50 years. She has planted an amazing grounds with the most magnificent plants, that attract butterflies and birds. It's well worth the drive up the hill to see this place instead of the botannical gardens in Roseau that seem to have been affected by the tropical storms and not repaired.

We stayed in the Hummingbird Suite (room 10) for 4 nights, during which time we also got married on the property. Although this room was next door to a power plant that was mentioned in some previous reviews, this was not an issue at all. There was a private outdoor sulfur-spring bath that came with the room, along with an outdoor kitchen and a refrigerator/freezer. The room itself was fairly dated (some of the furnishings were made of wood and had a musty odor but this place IS in a rainforest). The room was clean and the showers were warm from the spring-fed waters. This also means that cold water is not really available. You cannot drink the water in the rooms either since they are spring fed, but they provide large bottles of water you can drink and they refill them at the main restaurant. Wi-Fi should have been available in the room, but it was not working and the only access was going back down the hill to the main restaurant. There was some construction going on, but all in the name of improvements.

The resort is within walking distance to Trafalgar falls and a short drive to the trail head for Boiling Lake and the Middleham Falls. It's a good central location for many of the other area activities and fairly easy access to Roseau.

Overal, it wasn't brand new or trendy, but well maintained by a long-time owner who cares very much about her property. We were glad to have been able to meet her and wish her a happy 87th bday.

Room Tip: room 6 for valley views; room 10 for privacy. Other rooms more budget friendly
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

This was, in a word, splendid. Made arrangements on our own before we left home for a day trip. Just us and, of course our guide, Marcel, and no other passengers. Caught a cab at the port (take your pick, there are many), half hour later we arrived. Had a 1 1/2 tour through the forest with our incredibly knowledgeable guide (who is also the gardener), then lunch in a pretty restaurant and then some soaking time in one of many natural hot mineral baths. The cab driver picks us up for the drive back to the ship. We paid $30 each way but you may do better. Personally, I'm in favor of a living wage so I was fine with that. Great wifi throughout the resort. It's wonderfully rustic and oh so much better than a group tour.

And I learned about 66 plant - good for cleansing your system in case you have one of those nasty pee tests coming up.

Just go! You will enjoy.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannaclara, Owner at Papillote Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your "Interlude" with us. We endeavour to give an unforgettable experience of Dominica and are happy for the feedback that we have succeeded

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Overall, this was a very enjoyable package, with great photo ops, comfortable accommodations (Room #6), scrumptious meals and pleasant staff. We experienced a mix of sun, rain, drizzle and fog which contributed to some diverse photographs. By the third day, we had pretty much photographed as much as we were interested in and were happy to be on our way back home.

The two of us took advantage of Papillote's "3 Day Adventure Package", which cost $1,645 USD plus lunches which were and additional $225 USD. Their tour guide wanted to charge us and additional $340 USD for a "special tour" that we thought was included in the package, but that was only mentioned after we completed the tour. When we were checking out, they attempted to double bill us for all of our meals.

Bottom Line: Enjoy your stay, but watch for "surprises".

Room Tip: Room #6 has two bedrooms with spectacular view from the front porch.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank digitalpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews