We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
92
38
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
38
16
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2016

surrounded by natural beauty, the Papillote highlights for us included hot and cold stream_fed, mineral outdoor pools, great home-cooked meals (the provisions were tasty), and beautiful gardens featuring a wide variety of indigineous plants (we enjoyed the garden tour). the quiet seclusion was rejuvenating.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mary lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a suite shortly before Christmas. This seems to be a slack period so the dinner menu was limited to a choice of 2 main dishes. The food was fine; not gourmet, but perfectly edible.
The room itself was clean and simply decorated although the bathroom was a bit 'weary'. The hot water in the shower is straight from a thermal spring and needs to be run for 15 mins to draw warmish water through. Don't worry about wasting water - there's no shortage of in Dominica - it came down in buckets during our stay. There's a slight hum from the nearby hydro electric generator, but nothing too bothersome - this was largely drowned-out by the noise of torrential rain in any case!
The suite has a terrace with a fine view down the valley and very friendly finches!
There are thermal fed pools in the garden - very relaxing after a hard days walk to boiling lake. It's a fairly short walk from the hotel to Trafalgar falls which is well well worth the limited effort.
The 'must do' thing is the garden tour with Marcel (it's free if you're staying) . He's self-taught, but is both knowledgeable and articulate. He quite clearly has a passionate for the plants that grow on the island and the manifold uses that each has. I just wish I could remember more of the things he described.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank noeyedeeratol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

This is a very nice hotel in an absolutely unforgettable location. It's about ~20 mins from Roseau towards Trafalgar Falls across from the power station.

If you like mountains and jungles, then don't even think about staying in Roseau. Stay here at least 1 night and you can bathe in their hot springs and enjoy the sunset/sunrise.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrosenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

My two weeks vacation in Dominica was unforgettable. Dominica is like a fantasy island; surrounded by mountains, rainforests, rivers, waterfalls and sulfur pools, but mainly has friendly people. I stayed few days at Papillote Wilderness Retreat in Trafalgar Roseau, Dominica (www.papillotegardens.org). My gratitude to Anne Jno Baptiste, Director, the cooks, and courteous taxi drivers for their friendliness and hospitality. The rooms at Papillote are big and clean and the food at the restaurant delicious. I will never forget the tropical smell of the gardens, the soothing baths in the hot mineral pools and colorful birds. "A truly relaxation"

Raquel, Miami, Fl.
Stayed one week in June
Reviewed 7/05/2015

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Papillote is built on a mountainside in the rainforest with waterfalls, hot springs with 5 pools with an amazing garden. This was a luxurious (if you love nature, birds, and mountainside vistas) 2 night pause on our explorations in Dominica. The staff was considerate, the food was lovely and the little birds joined us for our meals in the restaurant.
We enjoyed meeting Ann who has run this Retreat for over 50 years. She said "it's a trap!" I can understand staying forever.

Room Tip: number 12 is honeymoon suite with semi private hot pool outside the door that we had to ourselves.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews