We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Rainforest, Fall and Pool - all in the same place plus UNESCO site

What I understood is it used to be a loop to get to this place. In mid August, he complete loop was... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2018
JLC-mtl2015
,
Montreal, Canada
Out of the way but worth it!

Emerald Falls although a nice walk, 20-30 minutes if you are fit, is certainly worth the visit. The... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2018
gm2bWorldtraveler
,
worldtraveler
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Dominica
from US$ 62.99
More Info
from US$ 125.00
More Info
from US$ 62.99
More Info
from US$ 89.00
More Info
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
11
8
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
8
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small fall cold water cruise ship pool path rainforest hike driver island
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

What I understood is it used to be a loop to get to this place. In mid August, he complete loop was not open yet when we went in August. You go down and return from the same path. A viewing platform was under construction. The fall, the pool are still there to enjoy. It is a small pool and luckily we were there with another couple. that's it.

One of the rare short walk to reach the destination. But we were not tempted by the cold water so we admired the beautiful green water, small fall and calmness of the surroundings.

Small fee to get access.

If you are traveling with a family on your own and can't hike 3 hours to reach other falls, it is a good option.

Some kiosks for souvenirs are on site and a snack /lunch bar. We had a nice salad. You can order on your way in for faster service when you return.

If you are driving yourself and you do not know the region, use a GPS.

Thank JLC-mtl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Emerald Falls although a nice walk, 20-30 minutes if you are fit, is certainly worth the visit. The falls are beautiful although small. Dominica is a fairly large island and has a variety of things to do. Just off the cruise ship your best bet will be to have prearranged your visit as there will be dozens of screaming cab drivers beyond the fence, trying to get your attention. We had visited w some of the cruise people ( who were from there) about renting a cab for all day. After getting the skinny on who, what, and how much we were ready. A lovely visit and most enjoyable day. Our driver also introduced us to a islander who had arranged for our lunch. Although a very poor country it was on our list of possible places to live. Well worth the trip!

1  Thank gm2bWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Gorgeous waterfall... once it is raining heavily, you won't be able to swim in the pool. Great for photos though.

Thank Lirich91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We came on a tour with our Cruise Ship, and most of the people who came with us were older, so they came down the path to the pool, snapped a photo or 2 and then made their way back to the vans. The Emerald Pool was my number 1 item on my list of things to do in Dominica, so we decided to stay and enjoy it a bit longer. Within a few minutes, we had the entire place to ourselves. The pool and falls are gorgeous, especially when there's no one else there. Truly an awesome experience, and while our tour group seemed a bit annoyed with us, because we took much longer to come back to the transports than they did, it was totally worth it.

Thank jrobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Really quite amazing. This site looks like something straight out of a fantasy movie. A short hike along a well graded trail beside a rushing stream leads to a hidden pool fed by a picturesque waterfall. Steps lead to the edge and you can wade or swim in the cool pool, stand under or walk behind the waterfall. The grotto the pool is in is overhung with jungle vegetation and cuts back into the hillside so you can stand almost in a cave with water cascading down. Take the long way back and there are some great overlooks of the mountains and valleys leading to the sea.

Thank vulforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Really not worth the trip except as part of Island tour. Small fall and pool. Nice 15 minute walk to and from falls.

Thank stefanl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

A perfect first hike for any visitor to the island since not only is it easy, but the waterfall is relaxing to swim in or even just look at. The forest canopy reflection off the water makes the entire pool look mystic and mysterious.

1  Thank aneil4lom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Water a little cold, the hike a little steep, but well worth it to stand underneath the waterfalls!!

Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

This hidden grotto is in the rain forest. The walk to the falls is an easy, short hike on cleared pathways and wooden steps.You can go at your own pace and there are a few breathtaking outlooks along the way. You can take a plunge in the pool although it is VERY cold (at least in January it was). I waded in ankle deep and that was enough to know I wasn't going in any further! It costs about $20 dollars (US) per person from Roseau where the cruise lines dock.

Thank FloridaNativeforLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Beautiful falls and pool. I’d recommend water shoes because stepping over those rocks to swim in the cold (yes, very cold) water is rough. Photo stops last a few mins, so you can get a good photo if you wait a couple of minutes.

Thank MeraKi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews