We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel decor a little tired in places”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel decor a little tired in places”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We have just returned from spending a week at the Avila where we had a very relaxing break. Our room was in the Blues wing which is in a great location away from the main hotel buildings. However like the previous reviewer said we felt the room was fine but rather tired and could do with a bit of refurbishment. Bedlinen rather shabby and not changed for the whole week, although towels were changed daily. Some of the external wood work showeed signs of rot and needed repairing,our room had a wood jam to secure the patio door.
The beach area near the blues rooms has some of the best shade but that part of the beach wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there.

We ate in both restaurants and had good experiences . Plenty of choice for buffet breakfast.

The majority of the staff are friendly but there are a number who give the impression of being rather unhelpful and would greatly benefit from a bit of customer care training. In particular checking process and room allocation. Saying that we had a nice time and enjoyed the quietness of the location.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosiedives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    371
    104
    53
    23
See reviews for
166
639
46
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eilbek, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Avila Beach Hotel is located close to Willemstad, Curacao. It has three private beaches, a wonderful pool and beautiful bar and dining place. The whole resort is very well-tended, beautiful plants in the whole resort. The Belle Alliance building has the charm of an old colonial palace, the Octagon building is very new and mordern.
The service is great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlympeDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I spent one week in Avila Hotel and everything was perfect. As we informed the hotel before the reason of our trip, in our first day in Curacao, the hotel prepared a special night for us, including an amazing room decoration, wine and some fruits!! we loved! but our best night was Thursday in Blues bar (inside Avila hotel)...perfect night, place and of course, perfect company!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were in a room in the Blues wing with a wooden balcony overlooking the beach. I love that part of the hotel.

Despite it being described as a boutique hotel this is certainly not my idea of one as it's rather large and somewhat corporate. There are other types of accommodation but I don't know what they're like.

For an idea of the clientele, a lot of the men wore polo shirts and shorts with belts. Their partners/wives wore make up and jewellery for breakfast. Hey, whatever floats your boat...despite this I doubt if anyone would feel uncomfortable there.

The room was large with enough storage and a huge (in comparison to the UK) bed which was very comfortable with a zillion pillows and cusions. The a/c was thankfully quiet. The bathroom was plenty big enough with a double sink and good powerful shower and the place was very clean with a hairdryer and plenty of good towels. There was even a drying line over the bath if needed. The balcony doors were a bit of a bind to open and close but I think that's as a result of the humid air.

The lighting was good, with a lot of ambient lighting - lamps, uplighters etc. There's a phone and a tv which we never used so I can't tell you what the reception was like. There was a USB point for the laptop but more often than not I couldn't get a connection so it meant I had to go out to one of the public areas to use it.

Breakfast was 7 - 10 which I feel is a bit early when on holiday. The breakfast area was clean and airy but some of the tables were very close together. They were laid with white linen table cloths which were changed through the morning shift if they looked less than pristine. There was a lot of choice and really decent bread. The coffee although plentiful left a lot to be desired. To make it worse there was only condensed milk (in little plastic cartons) which is not at all to our British tastes. ....and what are those gaudily coloured 'fruit loops'??? I bet they've never been near fruit ! Sorry that'll be a cultural thing :)

Once morning about six of us asked different members of staff to replenish the butter. Two of these staff disappeared into the kitchen never to be seen again and it took the guy from the food station to go and get some for us about 15 minutes after we'd first asked someone!

The juices came in large self service containers with a tap. Some guests filled their glasses and walked away leaving the tap running. Three mornings the floor and table cloth were soaked in juice because of this. The staff were always on hand to clear up after these lazy folk and more so did it with a smile which is more than I could have done.

The beach area had plenty of loungers and the house reef was surprisingly very good so I was in and out of the water several times a day.

The Belle whatever it was called restaurant had no veggie choice at all.

After checking the previous day at the Blues bar to see if there would be any veggie choice for the jazz night it was confirmed yes indeed several dishes. However on the night there was nothing but the salads and baked potatoes which were the accompaniments to the meat dishes. That was very disappointing but hey ho that's life. The band were good and the wine flowed nicely.

It was good to watch the cocktails being made at the schooner bar and we had a few drinks there but it was expensive and little decent beer apart from the ubiquitous dutch fizz.

There was a little undercover area with tables and wooden chairs with cushions. I'm sure this is part of the bar but no-one came along to ask if those there wanted a drink.

It's a little out of town and therefore around 25 mins to walk to the hub of things. As some have said the area is run down but is obviously in the midst of being regenerated and gentrified. However we had no real qualms about walking around the neighbourhood any more so than we would at home. In fact the area we used most was half way into 'town' as it had a couple of really good bars where you could relax for the evening if you so wished.

Room Tip: 291 Blues wing which is first floor (second floor in US I think) at the end has a larger balcony wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suelees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Location: almost in the centre of Willemstadt (cca 20 minutes by walking). Hotel provides free shuttle bus 2 times a day (except weekend) - from the hotel to the center at 9:00 and 14:00, from the center to the hotel at 11:30 and 16:30. You can take also a taxi (cca 10 USD).

Parking: free

Accomodation: hotel has 3 buildings - new Octagon Wing, Belle Aliance, Blue Wing. We had room in Octagon Wing (number 115). Room was very nice, clean and large with bath and shower.

Staff: friendly

Services: not very good. For example, cleaning lady took towels from our room and didn´t bring them back. She also forgot to refill minibar. We called the reception 2 times but nobody came. At the beach, there weren´t clean towels, beacuse staff didn ´t change them for a few hours.

Breakfast: buffet, very good

Food: hotel has 3 restaurants - Avila Cafes, Belle Terace and Blues Restaurant. We had dinner in Blues Restaurant and it was expensive but not good. There´s American/Caribean food. We had fish of the day with rice and spare ribs. Fish was not flavored, rice was dried and spare ribs were ready in 10 minutes, so they probably weren´t freshly cooked.

Pool and beach: hotel has one beautiful, large and clean pool with seaview. There are also two private sandy beaches separated by the boardwalk. One of them has a bit more wave action. Both beaches are beautiful and clean.

Surrounding: there are some restaurants outside the hotel. One of them is Fishelicious (5 minutes by walking), which is really fantastic!

Advantage of the hotel:
- beautiful garden and beaches
- seaview
- nice room
- hotel in the centre of town with beach and sea
- private beaches
- interesting evening program
- cleanness

Disadvantage of the hotel:
- bad and expensive food in the restaurant
- bad service

Room Tip: If you can, book superior room in the new Octagon Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humenikova_Beata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.7 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.0 km away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.7 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.0 km away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,529 - ₹ 19,637
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing